We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words are not adequate to describe this place or its hosts”
Review of B&B Domus Verdiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Domus Verdiana
Ranked #1 of 5 Ragalna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I am in love with this island, its food, its wines, its culture and its people. Domus Verdiana is a big part of that. Hosts Vincenzo and Daniela Loiacono are warm and welcoming, and make a guest feel a part of their family. My Italian is limited but between my limited Italian and Vincenzo's basic English, I came to learn so much about the local history, the island's history and, of course, the secrets of Mount Etna. The service was excellent. The food at breakfast was excellent and ample. The B & B, built over the original stone house that was hundreds of years old, is a sprawling Mediterranean style mansion with a wrap-around balcony and huge patio. The view from the south balcony of the surrounding countryside, Catania below and the sea behind, is breath-taking. The B & B is tucked away from view by a dense, lush foliage of trees and bushes so provides ample shade on even the hottest of days. Also, because Ragalna is 800 metres above sea level, the evenings, though usually warm enough to sit out without a jacket, are cool enough for sleeping that there were nights where I did not need the AC. I stayed here for five nights in July and will definitely be back. Ciao, ciao Vincenzo, Daniela e Julio. Ah, si, la bella Lula anche!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianseaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 134 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

None of the positive reviews I read could have prepared me for the incredible hospitality and warmth that greeted our arrival at Domus Verdiana. Basking in the green tranquillity of Ragalna, a wonderful, rural Sicilian village on the slopes of Mount Etna, Domus Verdiana is the perfect escape to experience the natural beauty of the area and indulge in the local food and wine. Owners Vincenzo and Daniela welcome all guests to their table and certainly don’t hold back when it comes to pulling the cork on a great bottle of Grillo or Nero d’Avola. Accompanying such pleasures are the finest local meets and cheeses served with passion, pride and true Sicilian authenticity. The location is excellent and provides a great base to explore Eastern Sicily. Taormina is just a short drive away while Catania is reachable in less than an hour. Further afield is the historical city of Siracusa and further south again there is Avola, Noto, Modica and Ragusa. Whether you want to relax in the quiet natural beauty of Etna or explore Sicily, I can’t recommend Dominus Verdiana enough. I can’t wait to go back.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

First I wanted to say thank you for the warm welcome of Vizenco and Daniela.
Well we were looking for a clean and originally place close to the Etna. After arriving at Vinzenco and staying there overnight. I have to say, it is close to perfect. The rooms a nice, clean and I love the bathroom - really stylish from a my perspective. We were warmly welcome and taken care of - which I first felt wierd. Coffee and some talking and then we went to the Etna which is probably 15 Minutes away with the car. Small roads but easy after driving one week in towns of sizily. After a wonderfull and quite night we had a wonderfull breakfast. Everything what the heart was looking for. And for a German like me I was happy to identify cheese and bacon next to the selfmade marmalade.

Without lying, I can only recommend this bed and breakfast. It's only a little bit sad that my ilatlian is so bad because I would love to have talked more easy to Daniela and Vinzenco after the vine ;).

Katariina and Alex

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexstuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Thanks to Vincenzo and Daniela's incredible hospitality and warmth, my wife and I had a spectacular stay at Domus Verdiana. The rooms are clean and very stylish, the location ideal and the setting spectacular. We really enjoyed our stay here and wished we could have stayed longer. The B&B sits in a perfect location on Etna for quick excursions up the mountain, but is just minutes from Taormina and Catania. Five stars.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyRosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 503manfredz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Claudia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ragalna hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Dorata
Hotel Villa Dorata
#1 of 1 in Ragalna
117 reviews
0 mi away
Rifugio Ariel - Etna SUD
3.9 mi away
Residence Serra La Nave
Residence Serra La Nave
#2 of 5 in Ragalna
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Casina Dell'Etna
Villa Casina Dell'Etna
#2 of 5 in Ragalna
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magma Guesthouse
Magma Guesthouse
#3 of 5 in Ragalna
13 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boscoscuro
Boscoscuro
#3 of 5 in Ragalna
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Domus Verdiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Domus Verdiana

Address: Via Amedeo di Savoia 4, 95030 Ragalna, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Ragalna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ragalna
Price Range: $74 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DomusVerdiana Bed & Breakfast is in the center of the village of Ragalna (at the foot of Etna), at 800 meters above the sea level, in a quiet area surrounded by age-old trees of oak and chestnut, with a beautiful garden where you can relax yourself and with a beautiful forest where you can walk . The house has, in the main body, three guest rooms furnished with a very good taste and attention to top quality finishes, a hall and a living room with fireplace, a large terrace where breakfast is served in Summer, and outside an annex with sleeping accommodation for 5 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Domus Verdiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing