We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tuscan paradise”

Review of Al Melo

Cool off in the pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cool off in the pool.
Cottage and location - pure peace! Beautiful romantic stone cottage!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Cool off in the pool.
Cottage and location - pure peace!
Beautiful romantic stone cottage!
Room to relax and play.
Private pool and great views!
Dining al fresco at the BBQ
Well equipped pool area.
There is even shaded parking!
View from property.
Dining al fresco
Breakfasting area
Location of the house
Terrace leading from bedrooms
Lots of character!
Living area
Kitchen/diner
Well equipped kitchen
Romantic double bedroom with doors leading outside
Another view of double bedroom
Pristine shower room
Twin room with doors leading outside
Twin room can be made up as double with advance notice
Shower room
Shower room
Nearby town of Casatico
Camporgiano and its fort
Railway bridge at Poggio
The fortress of Verrucole
Lake at Pontecosi
Market town of Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
Enjoy the many local festas held during the summer season
Visit the 'Wind Caves' - La Grotta del Vento
Visit the beautiful walled city of Lucca
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Camporgiano, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sdjdbriz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuscan paradise”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed one week August
Family of 3 adult 2 young children

We had the most brilliant week at al melo. The property is totally secluded, you can't see or hear anything or anyone from the villa. The lane down to the property is very steep and narrow so wouldn't be suitable for a large vehicle. It is immaculately clean and equipped with with everything you need. The outside space is just amazing, pool is a fantastic size and the grass area is great for sunbathing but also large enough for the children to run or kick a ball around. Wifi excellent, good choice of English channels including cartoons for kids. Location wise we found the drive up and around the mountain a little daunting at first but soon got used to it, it is worth it for the breathtaking views this villa has over the Italian mountains.
The bedrooms being downstairs meant it was a lovely pleasant temp for sleeping, the sofa bed upstairs was also used but it was very warm on the upstairs level at night.
Found one tiny scorpion in the shower tray, easily caught and popped outside. Lots of lizards and bats and Eagles to see - amazing - , we hoped to see a deer but didn't. Fabio is a welcoming and friendly host, we would absolutely return to this villa and hope to do so next year. We visited Lucca, Cinque Terre, grotto del vento and Pisa on our trip, Italian drivers are a little crazy but the villa is in a great location for road/train travel and we easily accessed all of these places.
Very highly recommend this villa, it is truly a little bit of Tuscan paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We arrived late at night in the rain in a very remote location in northern Tuscany and to be fair we were a little apprehensive about what sort of holiday we would have. However, we were met by Fabio the owner, in the village centre to take us down to the property. Fabio was available throughout our stay, and put himself out when I had an issue with my hire car. Although late and dark we could see the villa was as perfect as the pictures found on various websites. In the morning the rain had cleared and the sun was shining and we now saw the true beauty of the location. Fabio had invited us to help ourselves to fresh fruit and veg from the allotment opposite the villa so we did whilst the children enjoyed the ample sized pool.

As I said the location is very remote so be prepared for a fair amount of driving if you want to explore (45 mins to the bigger supermarket in Gallicano and at least 20 mins to the nearest town of note)

The local train service is excellent and cheap. Trains can be caught to Lucca, Florence and Pisa from Camporgiano station which is 10 mins from the villa.

There are several restaurants in the area but all a Car journey away. Colletti in Roggio is a must, incredible value for the amount of quality food you receive.

Overall the villa & location made our holiday a fabulous experience and we would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to get a taste of pure Italy, And we hope to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanche O
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fabio and his family were just delightful and so welcoming to their property which they have very lovingly restored. The location is just breath taking and so private you really do feel you are all alone.

The property was immaculately clean, in fact I have never stayed in a property that was so clean. Everything worked perfectly. Fabio kindly brought fresh produce from his small holding and told us to help ourselves to the fruit growing on the property - mmmm delicious!!

The facilities here were fantastic, you really want for nothing, with plenty of garden space for everyone, without door seating available at every great vantage point of the property.

The location couldn't be better, you do need a car to get around but you are never far from anywhere and the local train station has fabulous connections Lucca, Pisa and Florence, even the Cinque Terre is easy enough to get to.

I would definitely recommend this property and we will use it as our base in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john r
2 reviews
“Most Majestic Place”
Reviewed September 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had the most beautiful holiday staying in this house Fabio and his beautiful wife could not do enough for us,the villa was wonderful and the scenery majestic we liked it so much we stayed 7and half weeks John [Australia]

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgetsp...
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace in the mountains!”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely little cottage nestled in the mountains ...secluded and peaceful. Stunning pool, well-eqipped house and Fabio was very helpful. Lots of things to do relatively close by for all ages - canyoning, zip wiring, fantastic hiking trails, historical sites, beautiful hilltop villages and great restaurants. Be prepared for a 25 minute drive to get anywhere...but it is worth it for the immersion in mountains, nature, farming and rural village life that you get in return.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpreet...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Heavenly sanctuary”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Friends had recommended this villa and we weren't disappointed. You'll struggle to find a more tranquil setting or hosts willing to do more. It's the only villa we've stayed in where you cannot see another property and this is despite having a whole valley as your back drop!

The accommodation is simply but tastefully furnished. The bedrooms are nice and cool thanks to the thick walls. There was a thoughtful few items (wine, pasta etc) for us on arrival.

The instructions to the villa were spot on.

The gated garden and pool were lovely. There is an extensive allotment where we were invited to help ourselves to delicious vegetables every day.

There are some wonderful walks in the area and the scenery is stunning. This part of Tuscany won't disappoint. We took the train and headed for Florence for the day which was breathtaking. Local restaurants are worth searching out and in some incredibly scenic locations.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Al Melo nestled in the hills of lovely North West Tuscany”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The photographs of this property do it justice. Al Melo is lovingly cared for by the owners Fabio and Elisa who live a few minutes away in the local village and are often on hand to make sure your stay is everything you want. The property is secluded , quiet and peaceful and was restored over 10 years ago with quality materials giving it a true Italian rustic charm. It has everything you need, from sunning your self around the pool on the sunbeds or sunchairs to a large BBQ area and stunning views of the hills and valleys. The property is well kitted out with the amenities you would hope for and is very comfortable. It is a cool house although air conditioning is typically not fitted in these buildings as the walls are so thick. As hosts Fabio and Elisa are excellent and tend to the gardens regularly to keep them trim. There is plenty of covered parking and shops and restaurants within 10 minutes drive all of which are worth visiting. We spent 2 weeks there , and could have stayed longer. It does have that magic charm that tugs at you as you try to leave for home. Sorry to have left , look forward to a return trip and to watch another Italian football match on TV with Fabio and the local villagers at their community centre - It was Euro 2016, and having sky TV on hand at the property gave us another option in the evening for watching a movie, or watching the football ! Both great with a cold cheap Peroni. I would recommend this property, I think you could be nothing but pleased with your choice

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property and the area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing