We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aberdare bliss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdare Cottages & Campsite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aberdare Cottages & Campsite
nairobi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“aberdare bliss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

had a wonderful getaway madaraka holiday weekend....zac and his wife are wonderful hosts and ensure every requirement is met....the service was 5 star....very good for relaxing, fishing and nature trails.....good food all organic homegrown...manager and all the staff very proffesional......the prices very affordable. we will definetely plan to go again.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sheikhNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is an absolute gem of a place. Zac Gichane is a wonderful host - extremely knowledgeable, and instantly likeable, and his little lodge has got an unbeatable atmosphere. The food served in the restaurant is what you'd expect from a fancy Mara lodge, at the price of a hostel. The cottages are immaculately clean, tastefully decorated, with even a hot bottle to warm up the bed for those cold highland nights. I'd recommend this inexpensive lodge to anyone looking for accomodation anywhere in the Central highlands.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BwanaSpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Hello travelers.
am so happy to share with you my experience away from my normal life in Nairobi which is usually ful of Noise and traffic jam.A friend of mine informed me on Aberdage cottages and campsite in Murang'a,with a will to refresh the December partying and vacation we set off on a Friday noon to the lodge.
the drive was fine and it took us 3hrs to there,on our way we enjoyed mangoes and banana's which are in season at a place called Maragua.we then drove straight to the lodge thanks to our guide.
We were met by staffs like David who was our house keeper and enjoyed dinner at the fireplace,the place has cool atmosphere although its cold at night ,please don't make the mistake of ignoring the air heater since we had ourselves to blame,on Saturday we went for a walk in Aberdare forest.on Sunday before we left we did fishing and we caught enough to last us a month.
If you are looking for a place consider going there and please don't forget your swimming costume since we never swam because we didn't have them.

Room Tip: you can go for the cottages or for camping tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoseM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Stayed there for a night in April 2009 over Easter with agroup of friends, the camping experience was wonderful. Mattresses were thick and the lodge provided some extra and really warm blankets (very handy in central Kenya ta that time of the year) at no extra cost. Food was great, (it was organic food from their own farm) and we then went to the nearby Mathioya River for an excursion.

Went back last weekend (March 2011) and the place is simply awesome. From an intial 4 cottages, the Gichane brothers have put up more chalets plus a couple of ensuite tented camps - all made, unbelievably, from local material. There is an amusement park under construction and the dining area is being refurbished and expanded. The bar, replete with a fire place, is unadultered and offers a vintage view of the entire campsite.

The only problem is that the road leading to the cottages is a bit steep and travelers may experience some degree of difficult if using a small vehicle but overall not such a big problem as the condition of the roads is okay.

Zach, Joseph and Ciku were awesome and kept checking on us to ensure that we were comfortable and well catered for.

Would not mind going back there again, and this time I will sure take sometime out to go and do some fly fishing at the Mathioya!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
5 Thank Alekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed for one weekend at the Aberdare Cottages & Campsite. We were the only guests that weekend and could enjoy the warm hospitality of Zac, John and their staff. The surroundings are beautiful and the accomodation offers great value for little money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank intonarumori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gacharageini
20.6 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
21.1 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 5 in Nyeri
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
14.8 mi away
Outspan Hotel
Outspan Hotel
#4 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
14.8 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdare Cottages & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdare Cottages & Campsite

Property: Aberdare Cottages & Campsite
Address: Nairobi-Thika-Muranga-Kangema Road | Njumbi Road, Gacharageini, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Central Province > Gacharageini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gacharageini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aberdare Cottages a Romantic Countryside retreat in Muranga County Central Kenya. Located 130kms from the City of Nairobi and 45Km from Nyeri ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aberdare Cottages & Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdare Cottages & Campsite Kenya/Gacharageini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing