We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Home and Fantastic Hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
Patio Olive Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio Olive Cottage
Double bed in Family Room Olive Cottage Living Olive Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Patio Olive Cottage
Double bed in Family Room Olive Cottage
Living Olive Cottage
Family room to en suite bathroom Olive Cottage
Al fresco Dining
Family bathroom 1 Olive Cottage
Double bedroom Olive Cottage
Family bedroom Olive Cottage
Swings
Garden
Breakfast bar Olive Cottage
Bathroom Olive Cottage
Dining Olive Cottage
Olive Cottage
Family Bathroom Olive Cottage
Family bathroom Olive Cottage
Outside dining
BBQ and dining
Anyone a glass of wine!
BBQ Domaine view
Some of our animals Horse, Emu and Goats
Troopa the pony enjoy the sun
going for a walk on Domaine de la Matte
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Conques-sur-Orbiel, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
steveroch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic Home and Fantastic Hosts”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with Jilly last Easter with our two small children, 2 and 5. From the start we were made feel right at home by our hosts.
We had some problems with our rental car and had to get a taxi from Carcassonne. As soon as we arrived we were offered refreshments and assistance with organising alternative transport arrangements. Our stress disappeared straight away.
The cottage itself and it's surroundings were absolutely perfect with miles of trail through the parklands beside the house. If you are looking for an absolutely authentic South of France farmhouse then this is the place. A beautiful garden with play area for our kids and even a pool, weather permitting- We couldn't have imagined it better.
It is about a 15 minute walk from either of 2 villages where you can pick up the essentials or about a 10 minute drive from the nearest large supermarket. Carcassonne itself is about 15 minutes away by car or you can get the bus (infrequently but very cheap) from Villegly. There are plenty of other small villages with fine food to be had and the area is stunning to drive or cycle through with Cathar castles on the hilltops.
Carcassonne itself is an outstanding Medieval town but get there early before the droves of daytrippers arrive.
Jilly and Damon couldn't have been nicer to us and the breakfast they provided was top notch too. Our little girl even had a crush on Jilly's son by the end of the holiday :)
All in all we had a fantastic stay and would reccommend La Matte to anybody just wanting to get away from the rat race and enjoy peace and quiet in a perfect location with the perfect hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything- the place was perfect
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Charming and Comfortable!”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We found this property to be everything it was promised to be. It is in the countryside surrounded by grape fields and a stunning view of the mountains. It is quiet and convenient to interesting sights. We travelled with a child and there was a lot for the child to do here. The animals were very interesting and there was a nice play area. The breakfast served each morning was outstanding. The owners were very helpful with information about the area. The cottage was well equipped and clean. It was wonderful to have two full bathrooms and a washing machine. The price was reasonable too.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Fantastic property in great peaceful location”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in Olive Cottage for 3 weeks and loved it.

The location is perfect if you want peace and quiet but are not too far away from a big town like Carcassonne that offers lots of restaurants, things to do and 3 large supermarkets. We used this location as a base to explore this region of the south of France and to just kick back and relax.

The cottage is located on an old farm surrounded by vineyards with a natural bush area behind it so plenty of places to walk and explore.

The cottage had all that we needed and was very comfortable.

The owners are excellent hosts who go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable during your stay. Each week we received a basket of clean linen and our wood pile, for the wood burner heater was kept stacked up by them. My email communications with them were answered quickly and when we arrived the heater was already burning so the cottage was warm.

The WiFi was strong and fast.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

The property has 2 cottages and 2 B & B rooms so can accommodate group bookings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and service provided
Liked least: No oven in the kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tm213
California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Rustic Holiday”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent the four days before Christmas at the Olive Cottage and it was wonderful. Jilly and her husband are terrific hosts. They made sure the property was fully functional and stocked with firewood and were always available to answer questions on the property or surrounding area. We are a family of four and the two bedrooms and bathrooms provided plenty of room for us. The farm is beautiful and my children loved the animals. There was a chicken who would leave eggs for us at our front door - which made wonderful omelettes!
We also really liked exploring the area. Loved the Christmas markets and shopping in the village at Carcassonne and exploring the ruins of Las Tours. Would recommend this place and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the farm, the hosts were relaxed and friendly.
Liked least: We had to leave. . . .
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNDR1
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Peaceful”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Very pleasant cottage on quiet farm. Handy for Carcassonne with La Cite and airport and for travelling around the area. Spacious downstairs with open plan kitchen living room, Bedrooms upstairs comfortable with two nicely fitted out bathrooms.

Owner, Jilly, very helpful and welcoming and great source of information on sites to visit and local restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinservi...
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good base to explore Minervois and Corbieres”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very comfortable terraced cottage in delightful grounds, with nearby woods for walks. Half an hour to Carcassone's La Cite. Owner on hand to advise and email regular 'What's On' bulletins.
Cottage very comfortable, however house and garden not advisable for persons with mobility difficulties or impaired vision. Above ground pool great for confident children.
Kitchen has hob but could do with a proper oven and electric fly zapper would be helpful!
All in all ideal for a relaxing and restful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and helpful owner
Liked least: Flies!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you for your review we have put electric fly zapper in the cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S
Sandwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to unwind”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Extremely pleasant cottage in quiet countryside surroundings. Nicely situated for exploring Languedoc and not too far from the coast or the Pyrenees. We thoroughly enjoyed our week here and would have loved to have stayed longer.

Very nicely renovated cottage, all to a high standard. Very clean. Jilly was very friendly and welcoming. Missing it already and would love to come again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing