We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bed sheets not clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilwa Pakaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilwa Pakaya Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilwa Masoko B&B and Inns
Turin, Italy
1 review
“bed sheets not clean”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

the bed sheets were not changed and were dirty. I called the staff who came with other bed sheets that were dirty too...! The staff seams not sufficently trained. Restaurant with execellent seafood...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robinson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank K, Manager at Kilwa Pakaya Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are very sorry to see your unhappy review.
After a meeting with the supporting staff, we found some bedlinnen that was not up to standard.
The issue is now known to management and rectified and will not happen again.
In all rooms we have a client enquette form, witch will help us to do our work in the hotel better.
Highest regard
Frank,
Kilwa Pakaya Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Pakaya is certainly the nicest hotel in Kilwa, clean and comfortable rooms, friendly and hard working staff, and a very warm welcome from Frank. Forget the TV; look out the window instead - what a view! The food is exceptional; inventive, tasty, well presented - a foodie heaven. Don't miss the mango sorbet!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safirica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Kilwa Pakaya has a great setting almost right on the beach. All the hotel rooms have a great view out over the bay and you can hear the waves crashing through the night. The rooms are quite clean and comfortable, with good AC, hot water, and fridge. The TV is super small and I actually couldn’t get mine to operate. The bathroom is a bit tight and the sink and the toilet are jammed together such that your knees are underneath the sink when you sit on the toilet. There seemed to be a few mosquitos hanging around, and with no mosquito nets, I was bitten during the night. A week Wifi signal can be detected in some of the rooms, but best to go down to the restaurant for a better connection.

The restaurant is set back from the beach a bit and doesn’t really have a very “resort-y” feel. However the food is quite good - I had a delicious grilled tuna and chips. They even went to the effort of providing us box breakfasts for the morning as we were planning on an early departure. Good friendly service in general, although a bit slow.

For $95 I felt this was good value, especially as it included breakfast and dinner in the price. I would definitely stay here again and I recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
362 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights.

Our rooms were tastefully decorated, which came as an excellent surprise for a hotel that category. Fresh flowers were laid on the bed in morning and towels were rolled in a creative manner.

However the ridiculously small TV set did not work in one of the two rooms and bathrooms were well below expectations: much too small with the toilet under the sink, no towel racks (though the owner told us he was going to fix this),...

Food at the restaurant was amazingly tasty, with an incredible seafood platter including some of the best tasting lobster we ever ate. However,with 60 to 90 minutes, the waiting time after the order was unacceptable, all the more there were either no or very few otrher clients at the restaurant. This needs fixing urgently!

Overall a good experience at this hotel despite some minor issues. We would definetely go back shold we be in Kilwa again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room, since those have an enchanting seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I took the family down to southern TZ to enjoy a beach getaway away from the hustle & bustle of Nairobi Kenya, and what a pleasant surprise Kilwa Pakaya Hotel turned out to be! The kids really enjoyed the beach & the food & service was excellent. Seafood was fresh & well prepared &, at least for me, the beer was ice cold! I even went on a fishing expedition with the lads which was great fun....although we didn't catch much. It was a pity we missed out on the scuba diving classes which started a few weeks after we left. We would definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: There's no pool so it's the Indian Ocean all the way....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROONairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

There is only one word that can describe my time at this hotel.., “EXCELLENT”…! The location is excellent, my room had an excellent beach view and clean. The food was excellent with excellent hospitality. I am planning on going back later on this year with my entire family.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilwa Masoko hotels
2.1 mi away
Kilwa Beach Lodge
Kilwa Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimbilio Lodge
Kimbilio Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mwangaza Hideaway
Mwangaza Hideaway
#5 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Fanjove Private Island
Fanjove Private Island
#1 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
90 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kilwa Pakaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilwa Pakaya Hotel

Property: Kilwa Pakaya Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Kilwa Masoko, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Kilwa Masoko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilwa Masoko
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilwa Pakaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilwa Pakaya Hotel Tanzania/Kilwa Masoko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing