We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, comfortable rooms.”
Review of Kilwa Pakaya Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilwa Masoko
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilwa Pakaya Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilwa Masoko B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Kilwa Pakaya has a great setting almost right on the beach. All the hotel rooms have a great view out over the bay and you can hear the waves crashing through the night. The rooms are quite clean and comfortable, with good AC, hot water, and fridge. The TV is super small and I actually couldn’t get mine to operate. The bathroom is a bit tight and the sink and the toilet are jammed together such that your knees are underneath the sink when you sit on the toilet. There seemed to be a few mosquitos hanging around, and with no mosquito nets, I was bitten during the night. A week Wifi signal can be detected in some of the rooms, but best to go down to the restaurant for a better connection.

The restaurant is set back from the beach a bit and doesn’t really have a very “resort-y” feel. However the food is quite good - I had a delicious grilled tuna and chips. They even went to the effort of providing us box breakfasts for the morning as we were planning on an early departure. Good friendly service in general, although a bit slow.

For $95 I felt this was good value, especially as it included breakfast and dinner in the price. I would definitely stay here again and I recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 36 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights.

Our rooms were tastefully decorated, which came as an excellent surprise for a hotel that category. Fresh flowers were laid on the bed in morning and towels were rolled in a creative manner.

However the ridiculously small TV set did not work in one of the two rooms and bathrooms were well below expectations: much too small with the toilet under the sink, no towel racks (though the owner told us he was going to fix this),...

Food at the restaurant was amazingly tasty, with an incredible seafood platter including some of the best tasting lobster we ever ate. However,with 60 to 90 minutes, the waiting time after the order was unacceptable, all the more there were either no or very few otrher clients at the restaurant. This needs fixing urgently!

Overall a good experience at this hotel despite some minor issues. We would definetely go back shold we be in Kilwa again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room, since those have an enchanting seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I took the family down to southern TZ to enjoy a beach getaway away from the hustle & bustle of Nairobi Kenya, and what a pleasant surprise Kilwa Pakaya Hotel turned out to be! The kids really enjoyed the beach & the food & service was excellent. Seafood was fresh & well prepared &, at least for me, the beer was ice cold! I even went on a fishing expedition with the lads which was great fun....although we didn't catch much. It was a pity we missed out on the scuba diving classes which started a few weeks after we left. We would definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: There's no pool so it's the Indian Ocean all the way....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROONairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

There is only one word that can describe my time at this hotel.., “EXCELLENT”…! The location is excellent, my room had an excellent beach view and clean. The food was excellent with excellent hospitality. I am planning on going back later on this year with my entire family.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Geen WiFi op de kamers en met regelmaat geen electriciteit .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank HPerignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ciro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilwa Masoko hotels
2.8 mi away
Kilwa Beach Lodge
Kilwa Beach Lodge
#6 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
54 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kilwa Dreams Beach Resort
Kilwa Dreams Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimbilio Lodge
Kimbilio Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mwangaza Hideaway - Slow Leopard
Show Prices

Been to Kilwa Pakaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilwa Pakaya Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Kilwa Masoko, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Kilwa Masoko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilwa Masoko
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Kilwa Pakaya Hotel Tanzania/Kilwa Masoko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing