We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful few days in a beautiful spot”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Earthsky2

The view from Earthsky.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from Earthsky.
Le Lau (Earthsky top right). Welcome to Earthsky.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The view from Earthsky.
Le Lau (Earthsky top right).
Welcome to Earthsky.
Earthsky.
The entrance to your cottage.
Your dining and lounging area, leading through to the kitchen.
Your kitchen.
Your lounging and dining area, with french windows leading out onto the terraces.
The staircase to your mezzanine boudoir.
Your boudoir.
The view from your boudoir.
Ensuite comfort.
More ensuite comforts
The facade and terraces of your cottage.
Another view from your terrace.
Earthsky magic.
My dear neighbor and my faithless hound, sharing aperos on my terrace.
The Saturday market in Pezenas, local cultural centre and birth place of Molliere.
The flea market in Olargues, one of many happy hunting grounds to be discovered locally.
The road to Earthsky.
Long-view of the Gorges d'Heric, one of many popular attractions in the Languedoc Regional Park
The long and winding road, which leads into the fabulous Caroux mountains.
Jacques, guardian of Earthsky, enjoys a well earned rest on my terrace.
The view from Earhsky, on an autumnal morning 2013.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Roquebrun, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Francis T
1 review
“A peaceful few days in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful few days staying in Earthsky2.

The property itself is comfortable and full of character. The view is simply spectacular, and watching the sun set over the mountains from the terrace with a glass of champagne was a real treat.

Sally is a warm and helpful host who is rightly very proud of her properties; she gave us lots of useful advice for activities for the days we were there, which we were happy to follow.

The surrounding area is packed full of things to do - we visited le Gorge d'Heric, Pezenas and various jardins and chauteaux as well.

And finally, a word for Jacques, Sally's faithful hound. He is an inquisitive and friendly chap, and we were glad to have him coming over to check on us every now and then.

Thank you Sally!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
What a lovely review.
Thanks guys !

It was a great pleasure for me to host you here@Earthsky :~)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea V
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“A unique place!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

To say it shortly in the first place: we spent two weeks in July at Earthsky, we came with high expectations after studying Sallys announcement - those beautiful pictures! - and all our expectations became fulfilled. Definitely five stars.
Read Sallys description of the place, look at the photos of landscape, views, house: it's all true, it's real, all this you will get when you choose Earthsky. And furthermore you will meet a rather kind and helpful hostess, a person a pleasure to get to know.

To say it more detailed: already the location is remarkable. Earthsky is situated on top of Le Lau, a small village build about threehundred years ago on a hillside where the Languedoc begins to become mountainous. Abandoned over decades, the stone cottages went to rack until in recent times most of them were rebuild and restored in a nice adequate way. Still there are ruins slowly changing to a state of nature, where birds nest and wild flowers grow - a picturesque, romantic place.
A calm place, too: in daytime you hear birds singing and bees and beetles humming around the lavender (which also attracts the most peculiar butterflies!), at night there is entire stillness, interrupted just from time to time by an owl or a dog barking somewhere and another one somewhere else answering him - which all the more assures you that you really are in the countryside, far away from cities and highways.

The house is spacious and cosy, so you can spend there easily some rainy days or cool evenings - this can happen, even in July - without getting depressed. It is furnished and shaped with taste and sense of the locality: broad wooden armchairs (comfortable!), solid ancient table and cabinets, french linen bedclothes, high quality towels and here and there a beautiful coloured eyecatcher - not at all the ghastly bog-standard you meet in so many holiday homes. It's just like a rural cottage should be. You may not find every modern comfort you're used to - but surely all conveniences you need at your holiday. - - - just think of bringing along an adapter when you come e.g. from Germany cause the electric sockets are, of course, french - - -
We loved spending our time on the terrace, enjoying the views to the hills on the far side of the valley or into the terraced mountain garden that developed under Sallys hands between the old stonewalls. We had our meals there and read and relaxed in the light shadow of the fig tree until finally the moon shone through the leaves. Since a long time I haven't seen so many stars in the nighttime sky - move your deckchair three steps from the terrace down to the garden and there'll be nothing between you and the firmament.
Of course you can do lots of other things in the nearest surroundings or just go to the sea - it's about an hour and a half to drive and each village you come through is charming and worth visiting. But for those informations read your guide or, better, ask Sally.

Conclusion: at Earthsky, you come close to the nature of Southern France - in the most pleasant and comfortable way. And you can feel in good hands with the person who put a lot of her love and energy in creating this unique place.

We spent a wonderful holiday there, and we surely wish to come back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the views, the cosy house - and the kind & helpful owner
Liked least: couldn't stay longer than two weeks
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Bless you both !

You are always welcome here@Earthsky :~)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W
Pinckney, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in South France”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How we came across Earthsky to begin with is beyond me, but before we knew it it was officially part of our itinerary for our dream vacation through Europe. Sally called to make sure we were alright when we were running late, and patiently waited for our arrival. She was very helpful and able to provide information about the beautiful area around the Cottage.

The hamlet Earthsky is in is very quiet and picturesque. The view from the patio at sunset is amazing. You can see the mountains and feel like you're in another world. The town of Roquebrun is about a five to ten minute scenic drive away, and is the perfect French village.

Unfortunately, we were only able to stay for a short time, but I would return again for longer. As Sally said it attracts a certain type of people. If you require a deluxe room with air conditioning and spa then this is not for you. If you like hiking, nature, adventure, exploring, mountain scenery and real-life French villages, then Earthsky is a great place to base yourself for this region.

Location 5/5 beautiful scenery
Ease of booking 5/5 easy
Cleanliness 3/5 inside was spotless, outside garden was a bit overgrown
Price 5/5 very affordable for a guest cottage

Special thanks to Sally for helping contribute to our dream European road trip we planned for two years.
-Tom, Erin, Michelle, Mike

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you for this thoughtful & considered review :~)

It was lovely to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothee...
Hannover, Germany
1 review
“Earthsky”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

In July 2013 we spend two weeks at Sallys place called earthsky. It was a relaxing time in this beautiful landscape. Earthsky is a perfect starting point to come around in the area. You can go hiking, canoeing and of course if you like biking. From there to the seaside it is about one hour by car. Sally has created out of an old farm a wonderful place to relax. We had a nice time in the shadow of an old big fig tree. Sally is a very attentive hostess who was very helpful to us in several situations. We will definitely come back sometime to earthsky.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you ! It was great having you here :~)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
Gourfaleur
1 review
“Earthsky has a special rustic charm and the most sumptuous views imaginable.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Earthsky is exquisitely situated and furnished in a manner fitting the charm of the property. The owner is particularly hospitable and kind. It is a wonderful centre from which to explore this delightful region and ideal for those who enjoy walking or cycling and appreciating the utterly breath-taking mountain scenery, attractive towns and villages or the proximity to the Mediterranean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its situation and views
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the stay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you for your enthusiasm & goodwill :~)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful walking and relaxing break!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at Earthsky last week in August and first week September and enjoyed a fabulously hot week and a cooler one as the summer weather broke across Europe. Earthsky is a lovely, rustic property ideal for two people though 4 could stay easily. The linen bedding is a treat and we understand new mattresses are being added. If you like relative solitude, fantastic views and being in touch with the earth.... and sky it will work for you. with no lights (ok, one at the next village a couple of km away) lying on sun loungers at night gazing into the heavens was a real highlight and amongst the best milky way I have seen without a telescope. The walking in this region is fabulous with both well marked trails that need no map and some more challenging routes to be explored. Dominated by the 'Le Caroux' plateau there are numerous walks and also rivers for wild swimming. Local villages such as Mons la Trivalle (very good tourist info here) and picturesque Roquebrun and small St Martin de l'Arcon are lovely and although we did travel further afield, in truth the best places we saw were pretty local. Home cooked food and local wine, sunshine, vineyards and the time for some reading, yoga and relaxation made for a wonderful holiday. The owner Sally, is a perfect mix of respectful, sociable and very helpful in all respects. It was a great holiday and if we go back to Languedoc (there are SO many places to see!! would definitely return here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the fresh air
Liked least: the mattress - but this is being replaced
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2013
Thank you for your generous and informative feedback. It was a great pleasure to spend some time with you, and I hope that you will visit again.
With very kind regards from Sally@Earthsky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxilady2...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Loved the peace and quite”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Just had a lovely two weeks at Earthsky, What a lovely peaceful and tranquil place to stay me and my husband arrived and was met by Sally who is a lovely friendly lady who owns Earthsky and should be proud of her cottage , we found the cottage very comfortable and everything we needed for self catering, we loved the fact if their was a problem or we needed some local knowledge Sally was on hand to help. It was sad to leave Earthsky and say goodbye but we will return for another stay. Thanks Sally for your lovely cottage and stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2013
Thank you for this very prompt and positive review.
You were impeccable guests, and I hope we will meet again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing