We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magnificent, musical half-month!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Earthsky2

The view from Earthsky.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from Earthsky.
Le Lau (Earthsky top right). Welcome to Earthsky.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The view from Earthsky.
Le Lau (Earthsky top right).
Welcome to Earthsky.
Earthsky.
The entrance to your cottage.
Your dining and lounging area, leading through to the kitchen.
Your kitchen.
Your lounging and dining area, with french windows leading out onto the terraces.
The staircase to your mezzanine boudoir.
Your boudoir.
The view from your boudoir.
Ensuite comfort.
More ensuite comforts
The facade and terraces of your cottage.
Another view from your terrace.
Earthsky magic.
My dear neighbor and my faithless hound, sharing aperos on my terrace.
The Saturday market in Pezenas, local cultural centre and birth place of Molliere.
The flea market in Olargues, one of many happy hunting grounds to be discovered locally.
The road to Earthsky.
Long-view of the Gorges d'Heric, one of many popular attractions in the Languedoc Regional Park
The long and winding road, which leads into the fabulous Caroux mountains.
Jacques, guardian of Earthsky, enjoys a well earned rest on my terrace.
The view from Earhsky, on an autumnal morning 2013.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Roquebrun, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tim_Reus
Vaasa, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magnificent, musical half-month!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We were looking for a cottage for two weeks in the winter and had one big wish: we wanted to be able to make quite a lot of noise (occasionally referred to as 'music' by friends). Sally, thankfully, actually loved us playing there, and the deal was made! In addition, we didn't have a car at our proposal, so Sally gathered us from and brought us back to the train station, nearly an hour's drive away. The nearest supermarket was about eight kilometres away, but Sally lent us bicycles (with tons of gears) so it was an (almost) easy trip. She certainly is the most committed landowner we ever encountered.

Apart from that, the house is in a very good shape: clean, rustic, and cosy. The view is magnificent, as is discovering the neighbourhood. Despite that it had rained in October, I heard, we had lovely weather, temperature often reaching the 20 degrees (Celsius) mark. Although it demanded a little practice, even the stove cooperated very willingly, and it was fun to make a fire (for us post-central-heating ignorants).

All in all, we had a great two weeks. The house and environment fulfilled our every expectation and exceeded many of them. 5 stars. It was sunny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nature and ruins outside.
Liked least: Cycling up the mountain in South France's winter heat - 20 degrees (C), burning sun, no wind... Melt, puny northerners!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2013
It was really delightful to have you here ...

I am glad you found what you were looking for
and much look forward to hearing the album you wrote at Earthsky ...

I hope we will meet again when you are rich and famous ... :~) .........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Earth/Sky lovely I will be back”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Earth/Sky and Sally. Sally has created a beautiful tranquil retreat. If you want bright lights and bars don't come. If you want good wine, good company, fireflys in season. It's here.
The patron is quirky, kind, funny and generous.
Do bring stout shoes/boots and a torch. Sally has a wonderful contraption to help with your luggage but it's a very steep shalley path to the houses. Be warned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting on the terracewatching the fantastic light float across the horizon
Liked least: The access
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind words ...

I am much looking forward to another visit from you
one of these days ... :~) ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Gorgeous retreat - quiet enough to hear everything”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Over a few days, we drove from Toulouse down to Andorra then up to Carcassonne and then along several unplanned detours in the beautiful South of France. We stopped at rivers and sunflower fields, and almost all of the pretty little villages. And so it was that we arrived almost a day later than we had expected at Earthsky, but it was no matter. Sally, the owner and steward of this lovely little property came and met us in the dark with her headlamp on and motorised wheelbarrow (to help bring our luggage up the hill). And helped us get settled in.

The first thing that stuck out for me is that the place is watered by rain water. I felt like I was taking in the source each time I drank from the tap. Secondly, the first morning you wake up you realise how magnificently quiet it is up there on the mountain. It's a strange juxtaposition seeing such a wildly colourful and fascinating view mixed with near silence: insects and birds, and of course Jaques, Sally's beautiful chocolate dog who lives in Sally's cottage a bit further down the hill, will always greet you good morning as you walk past.

There was another couple staying in the cottage near us from around Cornwell (I believe?), England, who were lovely company and with whom we struck up a friendship. We often ended up having drinks with them and Sally, though we did notice that everyone was very mindful of each others' privacy and we never felt imposed upon.

The cottage is not far from some beautiful rivers and swimming holes. And of course all of the food is delicious in the different villages around the place. My lady and I ended up spending a fair bit of time at le lizard bleu (ask Sally). Also the Gorges d'Erich (sic? again ask sally - she recommended it to us in the first place), was a delicious swim, and catalysed a magical moment looking about at the mountains and the sky and the water.

I can't sing the praises highly enough, and feel I shouldn't lest I can't get a booking next year! But to not say how much I liked the place would be an injustice.

Highly recommend for those who need quiet, who appreciate nature and a clear night of stars. The cottage was rustic but had every essential modern convenience, and it felt almost like a more luxurious form of camping - it didn't feel like being in a house; one still felt connected to everything outside. We had a bit of a problem with the wifi, but we just used the local cafe's instead. I'm sure if you really wanted to get it to work it would, but we couldn't be bothered and we didn't really want facebook intruding on our serenity.

I hope the experience is as magical for you as it was for us. Especially recommended for artists. Bring a canvas or an open inner ear.

Dan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The air, the water, and the food
Liked least: That I had to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2012
Thank you so much
for this fabulously poetic testimonial ...

It is really much appreciated ... :~) .........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewed October 30, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and host's warm welcome
Liked least: Leaving for home.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2012
Thank you guys !
That's a lovely reference ... :~) ...

I trust all is well with you
and look forward to meeting you again
somewhere along the line .........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Düsseldorf
Reviewed October 29, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful cottage and the view
Liked least: the mattresses...a bit too soft
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2012
I am really happy that you enjoyed Earthsky so much ... :~) ...

It was delightful to get to know you
and I wish you both only the very best for the future .........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The mosquitos
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you for all your kind words :~)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the terrace
Liked least: Path up from car park a bit loose in places
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you !

I hope I will see you again one day :~)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing