We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casa del Rio
Ranked #1 of 4 Mocoa B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I recently stayed at this hostel for 3 weeks and found it the perfect retreat! It's clean, comfortable and cheap. With it located only meters from the river with chirping birds and playful monkeys literally at your doorstep, it makes you feel like you were deep in the jungle! The owner and manager Phillip is as genuine, helpful and kind as you can get and really makes his home feel like your own. I'd instantly return if i had the chance and would definately recommend staying here!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank Isabella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Casa del Rio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hostel is everything that a jungle lodge/hostel should be. Super clean, pleasantly located five minutes from town yet right smack in the middle of the jungle, and with great amenities: strong wi-fi, incredible breakfast (though not free), great kitchen, selection of sodas and beers and more. I highly suggest a couple night stop-over in Mocoa if you have the chance when traveling through Southern Colombia. Also, the C.E.A, an incredible government-run nature reserve and animal rescue center, is located five minutes by colectivo from the hostel. Super worth checking out, along with the myriad of wonderful waterfalls nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwanderingS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Owner Phillip obviously lavished a lot of thought, time, and expense in creating this bucolic retreat amid the rushing waters and jungle environs of Mocoa.

Casa del Rio is different from most hostels, so I´ll sketch an outline here. You enter through the “main house,” one large room with reception, kitchen, wide-screen TV, lockers, tables and chairs. Out back, and across a wooden bridge over a creek, sit the motel-style accommodations, built of brick and wood. Dorms have two sets of bunk beds and a private bathroom. Everything is of the finest quality. Hammocks hang on the porches. Dorms are $17,000 COP, doubles $38,000 COP.

Pros:

A first-rate facility in design and construction.
A fully equipped kitchen.
Friendly and helpful staff, especially Phillip.
Comfortable accommodations.
You can join the local kids jumping in the river in front of the hostel or enjoy waterfalls nearby.

Cons:

When the TV is at loud volume, everyone in the main house (cooking or eating) is subjected to it.
Showers are cold—really cold—which is okay in hot climates but harsh in this cooler area.
And the worst: the road from Mocoa to Puerto Asis runs quite near the accommodations—with speed bumps bringing trucks to a squealing halt all night long. If you´re a light sleeper like me, your sleep will suffer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back might get slightly less traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymundo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Nice wee place just outside of Mocoa, it seems like the only backpacker option but is certainly worth the detour. Surrounded by idyllic waterfalls, Belgian owner is very helpful and can direct you to any of the local sites (nearly all waterfalls) that you will likely have to yourself. Cheap as chips, enjoyed watching the monkeys eating the bananas and local wildlife. If you order from local Chinese be sure to go for a small portion, we ordered large and it could of fed a small army (not great either). There are supermarkets and a fruit and veg market in town, utilise them as cooking is your best option. Kitchen is well equipped. Room was en-suite with hammock outside. Cheap beer available.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eilidh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Just stayed for one night and need to go back for more! An amazing gem in the jungle of Colombia. Spent my day swimming and enjoying the sights of Mocoa followed by a very relaxed evening with Phillip pointing out the monkeys and trying to find a Toucan. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are very clean and comfortable and the locationis exquisite. I fell asleep in the hammock outside the dorm to the sounds of the jungle. Amazing and highly recommended going back for more! As for value for money, superb!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bukanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

When we found this little jewel in the middle of the jungle, we could not believe it. A garden Eden in the busy and pretty noisy town of Mocoa. An oasis of silence in the middle of the rainforrest,located on a river. This was truely paradise. The stuff is very nice and helpful with everything. The breakfast is cheap and delicious. Rooms are comfortable and clean. In the morning we

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prinzlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank e_p_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mocoa hotels
1.5 mi away
Huaca Huaca Hostel
Huaca Huaca Hostel
#2 of 11 in Mocoa
12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Turistica Dantayaco
3.2 mi away
Hostal El Portal Fin del Mundo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Suma Wasi
Hotel Suma Wasi
#5 of 11 in Mocoa
4 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza
Hotel Royal Plaza
#6 of 11 in Mocoa
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Turistico El Portal Fin Del Mundo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa del Rio

Address: Vereda Caliyaco Via Mocoa - Villagarzon | a la altura del puente sobre el río - Mocoa, Mocoa, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Putumayo Department > Mocoa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mocoa
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Casa del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing