We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping in a bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Artemisia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bastelica
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sleeping in a bathroom”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Nicely renovated place with a petit swimming pool. Food in restaurant over priced, nicer local traditional restaurants around the corner. The hotel room had a nice view but the plumber did a terrible job. The bathroom is in the bedroom and is poorly connected to the neighboring one meaning you hear everything, with that I mean everything your neighbors do in the bed/ bathroom. We had bad luck with a young couple taking baths during the night keeping us awake. When asking for another room we were told it was fully booked. Because of lacking insulation and thus lack of sleep I wanted to check out which was only possible if I paid the full amount. Important to know is that I booked directly with them. How weird is that. So best to book this hotel via booking.com or other official booking sites.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Edwardams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    53
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
176
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very welcoming staff and owner. Contemporary single room layout downstairs. Wi-fi is only available here as doesn't reach the rooms. Quirky bedroom with the bath arrangement, but understandable given the oportunity to exploit the views. Nice to wake up to the sunrise over the mountains. Whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Location is good for walking (ask the owner about the the canal walk). Restaurant has simple menu, with nicely cooked local food and good Corsican wine list.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelling_slow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spend a few nights at the hotel in August 2012. The location is very peaceful and the hotel is cleanly and modernly designed. For what you pay the rooms are very small and not particularly well arranged. The extra charge for breakfast is also a bit cheeky. No WIFI and no real intent to actively solve the problem. Worth a stop but 1 night maximum

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrGilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a wonderfull stay at the Artemisia Hotel in Corsica. It's a cosy design hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff. View from our bedroom was amazing.
A great place to stay if you want to discover the mountains of Corsica. Ajaccio is also easy to reach and Bastelica is a nice, little town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina7813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After a long and winding drive through the gorgeous mountains of Corsica we were exhausted and happy to arrive at Artemisia. We were warmly greeted and showed to our room and told to come to dinner when we were ready. The room was small, especially for 3 of us, traveling as a family, but set up to make the most of the beautiful views of the mountain village out the window. The hotel is nestled into the landscape but has a modern look and a great design. Comfortable and cozy, yet contemporary. The staff were friendly and helpful and served delicious food in the comfortable dining room. There wasn't a menu but we were happy to eat the excellently prepared meals cooked with fresh, local ingredients. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brjnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Finding the right sort of place to stay in Corsica can be challenging but the Artemisia was truly wonderful. Simple but elegant "arty" decor, lovely new well equipped rooms and beautiful local fare all nestled in a small quaint town an easy drive from Ajaccio. Christoph and his wife made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived and cooked for us like we were friends not guests. Our teenagers loved sitting and reading and playing board games while we savoured the bar and excellent local wine list. Sadly a little cold for the pool outside This is a rare place on an island of holiday all inclusive venues and tired old fashioned villas. Recommended for anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warsaw_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 for a week and was so well looked after by the owners and staff, friendly, unobtrusive and always there when I needed anything - unpretentious and subtle
A beautiful location in the quiet mountain village of Bastelica, beautiful views from the bed and bedroom, good food, good wine.
A great place to rest and to use as as a central point for forays into the surrounding mountains and valleys...only thing is that you definetly need your own mode of transport.
I highly reccommend the hotel and found it great value
Cathy Ryan

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bastelica
16.2 mi away
Kalliste Hotel Residence
Kalliste Hotel Residence
#1 of 9 in Porticcio
263 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
487 reviews
44.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santa Maria
BEST WESTERN Santa Maria
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
335 reviews
41.6 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#4 of 20 in Bonifacio
416 reviews
16.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Artemisia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Artemisia

Property: Boutique Hotel Artemisia
Address: Boccialacce | Bastelica, 20119 Bastelica, Communaute de Communes de la Vallee du Prunelli, Corsica, France (Formerly Artemisia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute de Communes de la Vallee du Prunelli > Bastelica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bastelica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Artemisia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artemisia is contemporary design hotel located in the heart of Corsica in the village of Bastelica, between the sea and the mountains in a magnificient setting. The whole become lovely integrated to an authentic fit. It offers rooms with panoramic mountain views and a swimming pool.Each of the bright guest rooms has a private bathroom with panoramic views, flat-screen TV and free internet access. Guests can also relax in the hotel's library near the tearoom, the whole seems a loft part. Artemisia's restaurant serves a breakfast essentially home made that guests can have on the panoramic terrace or in the lounge. The restaurant, opened according the period, proposes regional specialities made from seasonal produce. Hotel Artemisia is 35 km from the sandy beaches of the Gulf of Ajaccio and only a 15 minute drive from the snow resort of Val d'Ese. This is the best to satisfy all you feel like doing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel Artemisia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Artemisia Bastelica, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing