We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully private location for relaxing week”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint-Priest-les-Fougeres, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian P
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully private location for relaxing week”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully well equipped house with everything you need. The swimming lake is great and to then be able to soak in the hot tub afterwards was lovely. Great views from the rear decking and it's very private and quiet too, would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Absolutely lovely week at La Vielle Etable gite. Perfect location in a quiet village but ideally situated to explore around the area. Mark and Lindsay were fabulous and very helpful even booking our appointment with the local vet for us. The gite was well equipped and spacious, we had 5 members of family and there was plenty of room for us. The hot tub was the great favourite for my daughter! We all used the lake for swimming, including our dog and the grounds were a great space for him to explore. All in all a great holiday and we would definately go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location it was peaceful with great views
Liked least: would have been very nice to have a bar or restaurant in the village within walking distance
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet you all, and we're so glad you had a great holiday, especially your lovely dog Murphy. You mentioned to us in passing that it would be great if there was a bar or restaurant in the village. I'm delighted to say that a local gent has bought the village bar and is planning to open for business around March-May 2017, so we're looking forward to having a local watering hole within easy walking distance. Thanks again for your booking and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the Best,

Mark & Lindsay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexB005
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Very nice place - we as family of 5 enjoyed it very much.”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Wonderful house in a very nice environment. Bedrooms all nice and comfortable, well equiped kitchen, beautiful living room with a nice view onto the little lake.
We went swimming every day for hours in the lake, nice water to swim in.
We can highly recommend the house, all our expectations were fully met. We had the perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of the house and the environment.
Liked least: That we had to leave again.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Dear Alexander,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and for your great feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to La Vieille Etable in the future.

All the best,

Mark & Lindsay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pam G
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exclusive property with amazing grounds and private lake”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We specifically selected the property for the swimming lake as it was our cocker spaniel's first trip abroad and we wanted a nearby lake so he could cool off. We stayed here in July 2015 during a heatwave. The lake is amazing and the evening frog chorus is quite comical - frog stalking was a number one pastime for the dog - frogs who seemed to delight in taunting him - rest assured he never managed to catch one! The wildlife is amazing with buzzards, woodpeckers living in the trees in the garden and we even had a visit from a couple of deer one evening. The timber deck is the focus during the hot summer, although we were concerned that it was north facing it is surprisingly sunny all day. We didn't use the hot tub as we have one ourselves and don't use that any more but can comment that it's brand new. And high quality. The property itself is easy to access and is very well appointed inside with everything being brand new and spotless. You can really tell that few people have stayed here, owing to it being new to the market, so it has that nice and exclusive 'newness' to it that is a real treat. We wanted for nothing throughout the stay, every kitchen utensil you need is there and there is a dishwasher, washing machine and drier (both new) so if you want to you can travel lighter and wash your clothes therefore avoiding check in baggage if you fly. The welcome pack was most useful and a thoughtful extra with a bottle of wine, dishwasher tablets and tea and coffee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ehmed j
1 review
“A wonderful experience in the stunning French countryside.”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The 'Old Stable' is a spacious and modern home, with gorgeous furniture and variety with colours. There were 4 large, double-bed bedrooms with a vanity table for each room. There were 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets (one upstairs and one downstairs). When we came in, it was impeccably clean. Outside, it was gorgeous. The neighbours were very pleasant and the greenery and lake was lovely. The hot tub was great and really enjoyable for the kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub, lake
Liked least: directions
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing