We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay of a lifetime!!”
Review of Villa Exner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Exner
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grabouw
Certificate of Excellence
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay of a lifetime!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at your Hotel in 2012 February, Coulthard/Berresford we peomised to write a review! Well here it is...
We were treated like royalty and made to fell very welcome indeed, the rooms were very spacious and comforting.
We loved it so much we think we may return in 2014 with all the family
The owners of this hotel are devine
Well worth a stay

Room Tip: Ask for the owner!! they sort you out whatever you are looking for?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristianBerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
78
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was on Honeymoon and planned to use the King Suite as a getting ready room and wedding night venue. I was told that they could not do early check-in as this could compromise with other guests, that could potentially be booked in. I was then told that in order to check-in early i would have to book the room for the previous day as well which I was not able to do.
I then asked if Roses and candles could be arranged and was told that i would have to get someone else to organise it.
Then upon arriving I found out that the King Size bed that was supposed to be in the suite was actually 2 single beds pushed together.
The hotel is very beautiful and looks like it has much potential, however our experience left much to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Villa Exner, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Many thanks for your honest feedback - we are very sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations! As much as we strive to meet and exceed expectations, there are naturally limits of what we can provide:

Each property has standard rules and our check in is from 14:00, check out before/at 11:00.
We do, as explained, try to accommodate early-check in requests, ie from 13:00 at no additional fee, or with a surcharge before, subject to the room being available.
An early-check in can, however, only be guaranteed (versus being requested) by booking the prior night.

As it seemed unreasonable to subject a brides' dressing schedule to uncertainty, we merely suggested to book the additional night as to ensure room availability.

The same applies to personalized floral arrangements, which we can happily arrange with local florists for the guests account, if so requested.
However, and this was again our suggestion, bridal floral arrangements are generally matching the wedding theme etc and are thus normally arranged by the same florist, delivered to us and put in the room. (Most often, together with the couples luggage, a best-man or family member takes care of the check in prior to and drop off the couple after the wedding festivities).

As much as rose petals may seem a brilliant idea for the wedding night, when left on the bed carelessly before going to sleep, they stain!

We have generously not billed for the intense cleaning caused by red rose stains in both bed linen and carpets and had to close off the room for an additional night after the guests' departure.

Sascha Sulliman-Exner
Villa Exner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had the most amazing experience at Villa Exner. Sabina and Berndt were so professional and friendly and made us feel totally at home. Their attention to detail - the food, the room, the ambiance, the surroundings are second to none. We had the most relaxed introduction to our 10 day stay in Cape Town and we would have spent all of our holiday at V E if we had planned it better. It is an amazing hotel and we would highly recommend it to people looking for something different - quality, great food, excellent service and intimacy. Well done Sabina and Berndt - we had the best time and we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Wow, what a wonderful hotel! Me and my husband stayed there for a weekend, while doing a sporting event in Grabouw. We were treated like royalty. The food was amazing, and Sabine and Berndt were wonderful. They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They also prepared special early breakfasts for us before our sporting events, which was great. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Unfortunately we stayed here one night before going to the airport to return home.
What a surprise.A fantastic hotel,a beautiful room,a tasteful interior decoration and two hosts who tried everything to make our stay comfortable.Dinner in the garden has been an experience.
We will definitely go back .
Absolutely unique what Berndt and Sabine achieved here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Recently stayed one night at this brilliant boutique hotel. It was the night before a wedding we were attending . Berndt and Sabine proved the perfect hosts and the setting was superb. We enjoyed an excellent dinner on the terrace with out fellow wedding guests and the food was beyond compare. All cooked by Sabine and served by Berndt, who had a nice touch with his announcement of what each course consisted of - True professionals both of them. Both the dinner and the breakfast were works of art with their presentation.
Nothing was too much for the hosts and I rank our stay as the best we had in our entire trip. They well deserve the maximum rating and I would recommend a visit to anyone,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Our 6 nights at the Exner brought howls of envy from friends staying in other locations !
A stunning hotel that makes you feel immediately relaxed and welcome. Sabine and Berndt are masters at attention to detail and cannot be more helpful in providing advice and suggestions to ensure your stay in the Elgin valley is unforgettable.
The rooms are furnished to the highest standard, spacious , with very comfortable beds ! and set in elegant mature gardens with the swimming pool nestled into one corner for a perfect cooling dip.
Sabine is a masterful chef and together with Berndt conjure up superb breakfast and dinners served on their garden terrace.The service is exceptional.
If you are crazy enough to drag yourself away from the Exner , Cape Town is about 45 minutes but the Elgin valley itself has more than enough to offer.
The least thing we liked was having to leave.
Roger and Carol

Room Tip: Try and get room 12 overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grabouw
8.8 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
155 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
198 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strand
81 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elgin Valley Inn
Elgin Valley Inn
#1 of 4 in Grabouw
66 reviews
8.8 mi away
Wildekrans Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Exner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Exner

Property: Villa Exner
Address: 11 Essenhout Avenue, Grabouw 7160, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grabouw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grabouw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Exner 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Exner is an exclusive small boutique hotel, centrally located at Elgin Valley Grabouw in the Winelands and close to Cape Town. All major attractions and activities are within easy access, making it your ideal base to explore the Cape while enjoying the space and tranquility of the country side.Experience all those indulging touches and the intimate, personal service that only a small boutique hotel can offer.Villa Exner provides the space to relax and rejuvenate; rolling lawns, a decadent open garden offering privacy and interactive places where you can sit and chat in a laid-back atmosphere, make new friends and enjoy life in a modern country style. Villa Exner is based in the heart of Elgin Grabouw, only an hour from Cape Town. Surrounded by pure nature with the two bordering Nature Reserves, the heart of the Cape Floral Kingdom, as well as the Winelands and Hermanus at the doorstep, there are a million things to do. Hiking, birding, mountain biking, 4x4 off road trails & tours, quad biking, golf, tennis, paragliding over the stunning False Bay, scuba diving along the coast, to name a few. One of only two South African water-skiing schools, with the most beautiful setting, is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Exner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing