We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Spoilt!”
Review of Villa Exner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Exner
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grabouw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Wow, what a wonderful hotel! Me and my husband stayed there for a weekend, while doing a sporting event in Grabouw. We were treated like royalty. The food was amazing, and Sabine and Berndt were wonderful. They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They also prepared special early breakfasts for us before our sporting events, which was great. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 139 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

Unfortunately we stayed here one night before going to the airport to return home.
What a surprise.A fantastic hotel,a beautiful room,a tasteful interior decoration and two hosts who tried everything to make our stay comfortable.Dinner in the garden has been an experience.
We will definitely go back .
Absolutely unique what Berndt and Sabine achieved here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Recently stayed one night at this brilliant boutique hotel. It was the night before a wedding we were attending . Berndt and Sabine proved the perfect hosts and the setting was superb. We enjoyed an excellent dinner on the terrace with out fellow wedding guests and the food was beyond compare. All cooked by Sabine and served by Berndt, who had a nice touch with his announcement of what each course consisted of - True professionals both of them. Both the dinner and the breakfast were works of art with their presentation.
Nothing was too much for the hosts and I rank our stay as the best we had in our entire trip. They well deserve the maximum rating and I would recommend a visit to anyone,

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Our 6 nights at the Exner brought howls of envy from friends staying in other locations !
A stunning hotel that makes you feel immediately relaxed and welcome. Sabine and Berndt are masters at attention to detail and cannot be more helpful in providing advice and suggestions to ensure your stay in the Elgin valley is unforgettable.
The rooms are furnished to the highest standard, spacious , with very comfortable beds ! and set in elegant mature gardens with the swimming pool nestled into one corner for a perfect cooling dip.
Sabine is a masterful chef and together with Berndt conjure up superb breakfast and dinners served on their garden terrace.The service is exceptional.
If you are crazy enough to drag yourself away from the Exner , Cape Town is about 45 minutes but the Elgin valley itself has more than enough to offer.
The least thing we liked was having to leave.
Roger and Carol

Room Tip: Try and get room 12 overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Our first visit to SA and this was our first stop to attend a wedding at the local Southill vineyard. Absolutely beautiful location,and wonderful comfortable rooms.We stayed for 3 nights,Berndt and Sabine are wonderful hosts and made our stay perfect. The food was absolutely delicious and we were served Breakfast and dinner on the terrace overlooking the gardens. This is a little piece of paradise not to be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanBromely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We recently had a one night stay at Villa Exner and would have loved to stay longer. It's a beautiful and elegant country house, set in gardens that are lush and tranquil. It was blissfully quiet; a perfect place to relax and feel rejuvenated. Breakfast, served on the terrace overlooking the garden, was delicious. As newcomers to the area, we appreciated the suggestions on where to go, and in this way, discovered the fabulous South Hill vineyards. Next time we'll definitely stay for longer!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rms33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I booked 3 nights for my parents and I to stay at Villa Exner over the holidays... And we loved it so much we ended up staying for 5 glorious nights! The hotel is absolutely divine. Hosts Sabine and Berndt pay loving attention to every detail big and small, creating a most welcome and tranquil sanctuary.

Sabine's food is utterly magnificent... Gorgeous to look at, the flavors dance in your mouth! Her kitchen is heavenly –you must have a peek in to see how she does it. The dining area is a long open-air patio surrounded by greenery, and boasts an enchanting view of the Grabouw hillside. You won’t want to go anywhere else for a meal when you’re staying at Villa Exner.

Although if you do go out exploring, it’s all very close and there are many lovely adventures to be had. Gorgeous drives, lovely wineries, local artisans… Berndt and Sabine are ready and willing to help you plan your itinerary should you need, and offer a wealth of local information.

After a long day of exploring, coming back to Villa Exner is all the more delightful. The accommodation at Villa Exner is superb. Glamorous, yet unpretentious, the rooms envelope you in classy style. You have access to a delightfully shaded pool for a dip on a hot day, or sunny lounge chairs to read your book. The main house has a relaxing common room with books, DVDs, DSTV and wireless if you need some stimulation. There is also a private dining room decorated in pure style (complete with a very cool piece of an apple tree from their home in Germany) where you can have a private dining experience if you so choose.

All in all this is an *absolute gem* of a find, and we are already planning our trip back! We hope that all who stay here will celebrate the charm of Villa Exner, and appreciate the loving care and attention that Sabine and Berndt put in to all they do. We adore Villa Exner!

Room Tip: There is a freestanding building that has two rooms - one luxurious and spacious room that is actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahdoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grabouw
13.8 mi away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
860 reviews
17.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
8.8 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
23.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
429 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Exner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Exner

Address: 11 Essenhout Avenue, Grabouw 7160, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grabouw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grabouw
Price Range: $90 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Exner 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Exner is an exclusive small boutique hotel, centrally located at Elgin Valley Grabouw in the Winelands and close to Cape Town. All major attractions and activities are within easy access, making it your ideal base to explore the Cape while enjoying the space and tranquility of the country side.Experience all those indulging touches and the intimate, personal service that only a small boutique hotel can offer.Villa Exner provides the space to relax and rejuvenate; rolling lawns, a decadent open garden offering privacy and interactive places where you can sit and chat in a laid-back atmosphere, make new friends and enjoy life in a modern country style. Villa Exner is based in the heart of Elgin Grabouw, only an hour from Cape Town. Surrounded by pure nature with the two bordering Nature Reserves, the heart of the Cape Floral Kingdom, as well as the Winelands and Hermanus at the doorstep, there are a million things to do. Hiking, birding, mountain biking, 4x4 off road trails & tours, quad biking, golf, tennis, paragliding over the stunning False Bay, scuba diving along the coast, to name a few. One of only two South African water-skiing schools, with the most beautiful setting, is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Exner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing