We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to spend more time here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here along the route of The EXPEDITION Project 2013 and were so grateful for the wonderful hospitality, warm fire, and electric blankets on one of the coldest nights the Western Cape has seen for a while! The food was incredible (fresh grilled fish!) and the setting is ideal for groups. I'd love to go back one day with more time to try out some of their fun activities!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaSontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyBugler, Owner at Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

It certainly was some of the worst weather so far this winter, and that's what makes the roaring log fires and electric blankets so cosy. We enjoyed having you here with us and look forward to a return visit in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to review the Tri Active Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great tented camps, lounge area and restaurant, not to mention a whole host of activities on offer if interested, makes Tri Active an ideal Elgin/Grabouw stop-off or weekend destination. I visited during winter and despite the weather being chilly they were equipped with all amenities to make my stay cozy and accommodating.
A definite re-visit required for me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyBugler, Owner at Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Tri Active Lodge. It was a pleasure hosting your team here and we look forward to you returning again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have never come accros a place like this. It is a total different experience in comparison to the every day boring lodges. I would never in my wildest dreams could have imagined that it can be so wonderful to sleep in a tent, but at the same time it feels like a 5 star hotel. We sat around a fireplace on beanbags and it made me feel as if im in my own braai room. It is close to cape town and I did not have to drive so far. This is a bonus as I was totally rested out on my arrival back home.. This is a must for serious campers and weekenders wanting to escape the city life but do not want to be tired after a long trip to go far away for a weekend. Go see for yourself!!!!

Room Tip: The first 6 units are the closest to the pool.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marius d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyBugler, Owner at Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to send in a review of the lodge. I am pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere of the lodge and the comfort of the Safari Tent rooms. The braai area is wonderful and the idea is to create a "home away from home" feeling for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We celebrated our 20 year high school reunion at the Tri Active Lodge recently. The staff were friendly, professional and exceptional in customer service. We played laser tag and the activity was well organised and so much fun. Dinner was a yummee spitbraai. Everybody had a great time. We had a very good night's sleep (loved the accommodation!) before we were treated to a fabulous breakfast to end the festivities. Now I am just looking for an excuse to go again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LIfesacrooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyBugler, Owner at Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill in the Trip Advisor response. We really enjoyed hosting your group and seeing the camaraderie amongst the school buddies. I hope you will make this an annual event with Tri Active Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Tri Active Lodge. From the minute we arrived we noticed the incredible service, we were immediately greeted and escorted to our rooms. The rooms are set up in fixed tents and cabins and are fully equipped with permanent bathrooms, tea and coffee facilities and even electric blankets! There is a wonderful atmosphere, the staff were so friendly and helpful and once we had settled in our rooms they showed us around the lodge. The lodge has a wonderful new swimming pool and there is an amazing bar with fires to heat the place up. We had such a wonderful weekend and will definitely be returning possibly to also do some of the many activities that they offer. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend in the country or a weekend of adventures. There is something for everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyBugler, Owner at Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - it really was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next visit within the next few months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Had to wait an hour for our room cleaned and fixed after late check in. Zip of tent broken, had to have bed remade and cups were dirty. Very shoddy. Next to railway track. Avoid! The staff did try and help but the excuse was that they are so busy. Did offer a bottle of wine to say sorry. Will not return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyBugler, Owner at Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Wow, it was a busy day and we apologise most sincerely for any discomfort you may have experienced in checking in. The reason the one bed was remade was that the electric blanket had been removed from the bed for the client the previous night and it was inadvertently not replaced in the morning when the room was made up. With the major wind storm we had over this period, there was a huge amount of dust in the air and we have taken steps to ensure that cloths are placed over the coffee station to avoid a recurrence of this. We carry spare doors for the safari tented rooms and as zips are prone to malfunction from time to time, we replace these immediately. The railway line you mention in your review has a lot of historical value (we are indeed on the wagon route of old) and is currently the manner in which the grain is transported from Caledon area to ultimately reach the SA Breweries for the delicious beer everyone enjoys in our pub. The train actually only passes seventeen times or less, a month, and that in busy season, so it is not a nuisance at all. In fact the majority of our guests find it a novelty. I sincerely hope that the bottle of Oak Valley blend went a bit of the way to apologising for any discomfort you may have had during your visit as this is not our norm. Please give us the benefit of fact that everyone has a bad day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grabouw hotels
4.5 mi away
Houw Hoek Hotel
Houw Hoek Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grabouw
268 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Exner
Villa Exner
#1 of 2 in Grabouw
139 reviews
3.1 mi away
Elgin Valley Inn
Elgin Valley Inn
#1 of 4 in Grabouw
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Trail's End
Trail's End
#2 of 11 in Grabouw
6 reviews
15.4 mi away
Inn on Highlands
Inn on Highlands
#3 of 4 in Grabouw
5 reviews
3 mi away
Paul Wallace Wines and Guest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge

Address: | Farm 853, De Rust, Elgin Valley, Grabouw 7160, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grabouw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Grabouw
Price Range: $71 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tri Active Lodge is a unique destination in the Elgin Valley/Grabouw area in that we offer accommodation in comfortable timber frame cabins as well as safari style tents. The gardens are magnificent, with predominantly indigenous trees and fynbos surrounding the rolling lawns. The backdrop comprises orchards which lead all the way up across the De Rust Estate to the Groenlandberg , a magnificent conservancy area. The Lodge accommodates a total of 46 people based on twin sharing, or 64 people based on twin, triple and four sharing. All rooms have en-suite facilities comprising a shower, hand basin and toilet. The room facilities also include a tea/coffee station, hairdryers, electric blankets, and two chairs for use on the outdoor porch area. Our lodge has a three star grading through the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. The Wildcats Restaurant and Pub is open to in-house guests as well as pre-booked groups. We offer a small a la carte menu for lunches and dinners. In the case of groups, set menus, buffets and braais are pre-arranged and pre-booked. Our pub is exceptionally cosy and certainly one of those pubs that would be hard to drag yourself away from. There are some games available such as thirty seconds, dominoes, jenga, playing cards and others. The outside deck area is great in summer and is situated right alongside the fishpond with a really funky water feature. You can also elect to enjoy the swimming pool deck on those warm summer days, lazing around enjoying a good book or good company. It is a popular venue for individuals, companies, conferences and special functions. Just one hour from Cape Town, it is very conveniently placed as a base to visit many major attractions such as the Great White Sharks, Hermanus, Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and the burgeoning Elgin Valley wine estates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing