We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down at heel”

The Orchard Farm Stall
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Grabouw
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One word... "Traditional" Not even an hour out of Cape Town, The Orchard Farm Stall is the first farm stall on the left on the corner of Oudebrug Road and the N2 in Grabouw. Facing out over the shaded parking lot, its pathways strewn with climbing roses, is the farm stall, clean country-style restrooms, a coffee shop/restaurant, a bike & car wash and a charming gift shop. The Orchard's traditional bakery is fantastic! On offer here are a variety of chunky farm breads, real croissants, mouthwatering pies, scones, muffins, old-fashioned apple tart and their famous chocolate mousse & baked lemon cheese cakes. Everyone's taste is catered for here! The shelves are lined with local honey, homemade jams and preserves including orange marmalade, passion fruit jam, pear and ginger preserve, pineapple jam, apricot jam, strawberry jam and quince jelly. There are local and imported teas on sale, any number of local arts, crafts and admirable gifts. There is an array of the usual - chips, sweets, cold drinks - that we've come to expect from farm stalls. There is a lovely indoor and outdoor playground, a jumping castle and a kiddies train for the little ones. The grassy surrounds of the farm stall make a perfect spot to sit and picnic if you're so inclined. The perfect stop for you and your family. Fresh drinking water and a large sprawling green lawn is available for pets too!
McGregor, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Down at heel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I have, on frequent occasions over the last 15 or so years, frequented this establishment. When we were there for lunch earlier this month, it was the first visit for a quite a while. Although our meal was great - the roast vegetable salad was one of the best that I've had - the entire establishment is now rather shabby and in need of some tidying up, if not a re-vamp. My husband asked my impressions of the rest room, and all I could say was "Old and worn". While old and worn can be done with great character and finesse, sadly The Orchard is in need of a serious dose of TLC.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GingerMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidhappy7, Manager at The Orchard Farm Stall, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Gingermelon

Thank you for reviewing our establishment!

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your meal.

The Orchard Farmstall has been under stern new ownership since 01 July 2014. Since taking over, major improvements have already been made by the new owners. We wish you could have seen The Orchard prior to 01 July 2014...

Gingermelon, our restrooms in particular are already being renovated and should be completed this coming week. Construction work has taken a little bit longer than expected as we have added a new, 360' turn-area, disabled person's restroom. You must especially come back to see the new floor tiles and general country theme which has been introduced across our new restrooms!

With winter once again waving goodbye and with more daylight to spare, we will be able to get so much more done in a shorter space of time. The entire business is being upgraded, however we can only do one section at a time so as to provide the best possible experience for all who visit us.

Please do continue to frequent The Orchard Farmstall to witness all the ongoing development and improvement.

Your next review's subject line should read, "Well above the knee now!" :)

Take care Gingermelon and see you soon,

The Orchard Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    29
    11
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not what we expected it to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We recently stopped here for lunch on a business trip. The atmosphere in the place was really nice with quite a lot of people there for lunch and a fire burning. The wood fired pizza oven grabbed our attention as we came in so we immediately ordered a pizza (Margherita) so that it could be ready by the time we finished looking through the farm stall and what else they have to offer there.

Service was really friendly, but the pizza was not nice at all. The base was undercooked with too much cheese on the pizza making it floppy and greasy. Come on guys, the Margherita is such a basic but classic pizza. If one can not even get this one right...

The bottom one of the two small plates that were brought out to us was not clean and I found a hair on one of my slices. Did not finish and will not go back for pizza soon.

Helpful?
5 Thank Rosmarinusbufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidhappy7, Manager at The Orchard Farm Stall, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Rosmarinusbufo

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

We're delighted to hear that your overall experience was good apart from the pizza you ordered.

It makes us proud to know that our staff are so efficient and friendly therefore you can always feel free to approach any member of our team, especially any one of the managers who are always on duty, should you wish to discuss something.

Unfortunately you did not approach us during your visit and naturally we could not address your concern in real time as we were completely unaware. Had we been aware, then your concern would most definitely have been sorted out immediately.

We're in our second month of ownership. Our staff are receiving ongoing development and professional training which they did not receive prior to our arrival. You'd be delighted to learn that one area which is receiving extra special attention is... PIZZA MAKING! It's not only about how the pizza is prepared, but also about using the correct type of wood and creating the perfect baking temperature inside the oven. All which will only be mastered through ongoing trial and error.

We invite you to join us again soon for that perfect pizza review!

Kind regards,

The Orchard Farmstall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

9 August is Women's Day in South Africa, so my mom and I decided to treat ourselves to a day out. We started that day with a breakfast at The Orchard and it was the perfect start to a perfect day. We got there early-ish and asked to be seated in the smoking area (as my mom is a smoker), expecting to have to sit outside in the cold (as it was nippy that morning), but they had a lovely area inside set up for their smoking clientele. The waiter was with us the whole way and immediately took our drinks order. You couldn't ask for a nicer guy to wait on you. The service was truly excellent and impressed me.

We ordered omelettes for breakfast, which comes with 2 pieces of toast. People, they bake their own bread! Best darned toast! Thick slices of white bread that just soaks up the butter and the yummy sweet jams. Then came the omelettes. Big and fluffy and no skimping on the fillings with a little side of cucumber and shallot salad I really enjoyed. A filling breakfast that will keep you going all day without leaving you feeling heavy.

And all the while we had our waiter checking up on us if all was still good and if we were having a good time. In a word, farmhouse hospitality meets farmhouse cooking to make you feel at home and taken care of.

If you have the time, turn into The Orchard. Go sit. Have a cup of coffee. Indulge in their food off the menu (or their baked goods, which looks sooooo scrumptuous). Just enjoy the peace. You won't be sorry. It will make your journey better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talitha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidhappy7, Manager at The Orchard Farm Stall, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Talitha

Thank you for your positive feedback!

We're so delighted to hear that you and your Mom had such a wonderful time at The Orchard on National Women's Day 2014 (Saturday, 09 August).

The Orchard Farmstall & Coffee Shop has been under new ownership since 01 July 2014 and we're striving to cater for everyone's needs, so that each and every person who visits us will have an excellent experience.

We're here from 07h00 in the morning to start serving breakfast at 07h30 sharp. We close at 17h30.

We look forward to seeing you and your Mom at The Orchard again soon Talitha.

Take care and long live country goodness ;)

Kind regards,

The Orchard Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No servíce”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We decided to take a drive to Grabouw and stop at Orchards. What a disaster. We were helped to a table quickly enough. I then stopped a waiter to hear where the bathrooms were, who looked at me as though I am wasting her time. Needless to say, we were seated for 10min, no waiter, no menu, no service. We got up and left. Will never return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Orchard F, Manager at The Orchard Farm Stall, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Hello Tanya R

Be sure to come back and visit us again soon!

New Owners since July 2014. New Orchard. New Vibe!

Safe travels :)

The Orchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We waited for over an hour for our food (2 burgers with chips) and when the food finally arrived it was dry and horribly overcooked. The staff were uncommunicative about the waiting time and the cutlery and crockery was dirty. A waste of time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Orchard F, Manager at The Orchard Farm Stall, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Hello Tes17

Be sure to come back and visit us again soon!

New Owners since July 2014. New Orchard. New Vibe!

Safe travels :)

The Orchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchard Farm Stall also viewed

 
Grabouw, Western Cape
 

Been to The Orchard Farm Stall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing