We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marahau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Macdonalds Farm and Holiday Park
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alright.....”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

There are some really good points to this place, and some really bad ones. I ended up staying here for four nights over a five night period while travelling through Abel Tasman. We stayed in the little backpacker cabins which are quite cute, three bunks to a cabin. The cabins have their own little heater which heats up quite quickly which is essential as it gets very cold during the autumn! Beds were a bit old and worn but did the job (felt like luxury after a two day hike through Abel Tasman National Park!).
Small-ish but cosy kitchen area with a big table to sit at, if you are travelling in a large group though you might struggle to all find a seat. BBQ area with picnic style tables if it is warm enough to sit outside.
One real gripe is that there is little in the way of hot water... The washbasins do not even include a hot tap. Showers in the bigger building are cold as well, could not get them hot for the life of me. However there is a little shower block which I managed to get hot water out of: however if you want hot water you have to shower before dark/get someone to hold a torch for you as this block did not have a light! Bit confusing?!
Also it is a bit of a trek to reception which is annoying if (like me) you wanted to use the computers and it buggered up. You can buy milk and essentials from the little shop in reception but I would recommend stocking up before you get to Marahau ESPECIALLY if you are planning on doing a hike in Abel Tasman. As this place is (obviously) in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ep2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at this holiday park for two days over Easter and loved it. We were in a motor home and the spots they had were spacious and very green (we are not fans of built-up holday parks where all the spots on one sealed asphalt and the one campers is directly next to its neighbor). There is a swimming hole in the small steam that passes next to the campground and other activities for young families. Our kids made friend immediately with other campers.

They had a variety of activities and the value for money was exactly what we were looking for.

The location is also great for hiking into the Abel Tasman, it is at the beginning of the trail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights before moving next door.

We had a 3 share cabin which was okay, the kitchen can get cramped and wasn't too clean.

The 'good' showers were line with corrugated iron and went hot and cold, the other showers were porter cabins. Same story with the toilets.

The location is excellent for access to the national park.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahiedlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here as part of a long Easter weekend of activities in the Abel Tasman. If you're looking for a place that's conveniently located literally right at the gateway to the Abel Tasman, with access to all sorts of hiking and other adventure activities -- this is it! We found the place, the facilities and the staff to be exactly what we were looking for.

What makes this place work is that they've put in a great deal of effort to make sure they fit the needs of the clientele. Potential guests should remember that Old Mac's is really intended as a stepping off point (or stepping on) primarily for campers and hikers, and generally people and families who are there to enjoy the Abel Tasman. Their facilities are all clean and well cared-for, and the place itself is in a gorgeous setting. If you plan on pitching a tent, the grounds are gorgeous and have plenty of room so you won't be piled up next to someone else's tent.

On the other hand, you can do a reasonably priced upgrade to a cabin -- ranging from ones with just a bed to a larger unit that can sleep 5, with its own cooking facilities and fridge.

They have hot great hot showers (very welcome after a long day on (or in the water) or out tramping in the park), coin operated clothes washing facilities, well equipped shared cooking facilities and a well stocked store -- and are within a short walk of a couple of good places to eat if you're tired of cooking your own.

It's quiet, scenic and relaxing place with lots of character, and the staff know their stuff and are extremely helpful.

Highly recommended for anyone wanting to rest after some hard core camping or other activities in the Abel Tasman -- or as we used it -- for a base for our activities.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickWNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in this campground which is quite old and expensive but that have quite good facilities and a nice place, bordering a river.
The problem is the kayak that we bought with them : we asked at the reception if we could do 2-3h kayaking during the afternoon. The receptionist hesitated a bit and called the kayak owner. He said yes no problem at 1 pm. The price was 55$ dollars per person for freedom kayak (no guide) during 2 to 3 hours. It is not cheap although it's one of the cheapest in this area. Anyway, what they didn't tell us was that it's a really really bad idea to do kayaking in the afternoon because there is a lot of wind on the sea (not on the beach!), with big waves and white caps. It was almost impossible to move the kayak ahead and we were 2 people! After kayaking for 2 hours until we had no energy anymore, we reached a small beach not far from where we started. When coming back with wind on our back it took us ... 20 min! It was the worse experience we had in New Zealand in a month only because we were not aware at all that it's the schedule for kite-surfers and not kayaks at this time! We felt that they only saw the money on our faces and didn't care about make it enjoyable for us.
As tourists we don't have to know the weather details of this area, it's not our job. We could have done it the next morning and it would have been 100 times better.
2 other girls were with us and were as disappointed as us. We were so tired that we even didn't have the force to claim about this bad experience when we came back. Just wanted to rest and forget about it. For 15 dollars we could not have complained but 55 $ ...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Davileta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Manager at Old Macdonalds Farm and Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review & thank you for staying in our camping ground.
A family owned camping ground, built from bare land, 20 year's in the making, although we try to keep experience's down, we are suppling all our own drinking water & waste facilitie's ( instead of a town reloticulated system ) with the high council costs & regulations !
Sorry to here that you did not injoy your kayaking trip with Independent Guides ( A seperate buisness to Old Macdonalds Farm Holiday Park ), who we are one of the agents for along with the meny others,we will pass your concerns on to them.
My receptionist was most likely hesitant as a half day kayak does cost the same as a full day & she always endevours to get the best deal possible for our customers, eg "It is not cheap although it's one of the cheapest in the area".
Kite surfers are a new concern to our area & most likly invading us due to the exceptionaly high number of eastly winds this season, usually a reasonbly calm & pristine kayaking mecca !
I would ask that you don't remember us for our bad weather ( which is forever changing in New Zealand ) but for our bush clad quite river side camping.
Regards Craig Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doyleston, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I think it's the best place to stay close to the Abel Tasman! Lots and lots of space, we have just a tent so we could choose our spot from the non-powered areas. Nice big trees for shade, flat areas for the tent and if you're lucky you get a spot with a picnic table! Love the little river with the swimming holes (very refreshing!!) and the animals (not the sandflies!)! Facilities are tidy, clean when is not too busy, shower are free! with lots of hot water! The kitchen area is a bit small and if it rains you better have a big tent or caravan because there is only one other covered area (with 3 open sides) with tall tables but not many benches and it gets crowded fast. But you can always walk down to the very good cafe/restaurant/pizza place (5 to 10 min walk) near the track!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We travelled for five weeks around the south island of NZ and stayed for one night at Old Macdonald's farm in October 2012. The site itself was in a great location and it is huge! As we were travelling out of season there wasn't another soul in site so we had the place pretty much to ourselves. At $40 for one night in a powered site we thought perhaps it was a bit pricey for what it was but we enjoyed our stay.

The amenities are bush-style - big wooden cabins which are semi-open to the elements but plenty of hot water and toilets and showers were both really clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marahau
9.2 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 5 in Marahau
49 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
35 reviews
2.4 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
185 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Macdonalds Farm and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Macdonalds Farm and Holiday Park

Property: Old Macdonalds Farm and Holiday Park
Address: Marahau, Marahau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Marahau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marahau
Also Known As:
Old Macdonalds Farm And Holiday Park Marahau, Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing