We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place grew on me, but it's just so-so”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marahau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Macdonalds Farm and Holiday Park
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed two nights at a powered site in early December. The sites are very spacious, but it took a little bit of adjustment to get the campervan at a level spot. There are lots of trees and shrubs for privacy. The powered sites sit way back from reception, whether you think this is good or bad is individual. The kitchen/showers/toilets/laundry are all under one roof, but the interior walls don't go all the way up. When I was on the toilet, I could easily hear the conversation in the kitchen. I imagine those in the kitchen can hear what's going on in the toilets. Choose your shower stall carefully. The first one I used didn't have any hooks. A high shelf was located above the door, but I wasn't going to put my stuff there as I couldn't see if it was clean or not. The second night I used the one that had the toilet in with it. That was much better. Not only did it have hooks, but much more space. The animals were cool to have around and I'm glad The Stray bus had their own area and facilities. There are so few options for powered sites in Marahau. I was happy to have the space and not have to pay for showers, but Old Mac's could use some improvements.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deSchenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Old Macdonalds Farm and Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

The location of this place is great. Easy walk into Abel Tasman and very scenic with mountains and farmland all around. Having all the farm animals around was cool too, except for the rooster waking us up.

The cabins had electricity, but were a bit musty and small. The worst problem was bathrooms. The closest bathrooms to our cabin was only a porta-potty...smelly and with no electricity meaning no lights at night. The nearby showers also had no lights (no showering at night) and minimal hot water. The further away bathrooms in the kitchen/lounge area had bathrooms, but they were quite dirty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Although the idea is great: a farm in the middle of nature, animals all around and close to the beach is okay, the lack of proper beds made this a not so good experience for me.
The beds were dirty, smelly, and in some of the cabins was no electricity.
The showers are cold and a lot of equipment is broken.

This place has a lot of potential, but is not living up to it, yet.

Room Tip: Check for electricity before you settle down in one.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evaislief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank José Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Rocio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Linus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank spaetzlesdrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marahau
9.2 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
2.4 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 5 in Marahau
54 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kaiteriteri Reserve Camp
Kaiteriteri Reserve Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
103 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Macdonalds Farm and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Macdonalds Farm and Holiday Park

Address: Marahau, Marahau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Marahau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marahau
Also Known As:
Old Macdonalds Farm And Holiday Park Marahau, Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing