We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, good food and good linkage with other services!”
Review of Marahau Beach Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marahau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marahau Beach Camp
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good facilities, good food and good linkage with other services!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in a cabin (with a small kitchenette & front porch), and the bathroom facilities were close by. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff members were friendly and helpful, but what we really liked about this place is that it is very well connected to a great restaurant (Hooked on Marahau), a water taxi service and a kayaking rental & tour service - so it was easy to plan everything we wanted to do through one resource.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the cabins. The cabin was well fitted out with crockery and a sink and fridge. Being early February, the camp was relatively full but did not find it too noisy nor the facilities too busy. Whilst slightly more expensive than other similar accommodation at other locations, the extras i.e. fridge, kettle, sink and crockery was very convenient to have in the unit. Having to pay for the showers, whilst not a big deal, is a little inconvenient. Found a couple of people washing themselves at the basins. We ate at both restaurants close by, the Park Cafe which is at the Abel Tasman walk entrance, and Hooked on Marahau, which is closest to the Marahau Beach Camp. Both were very good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The location of this small campground is good and convenient for water taxis and walking tracks into Abel Tasman National Park.
We camped for two nights between campervans and found it adequate although the kitchen has NO crockery or cooking utensils or any description. Luckily a kind person in the restaurant attached to the park lent us a pot and a couple of plates!
The store is ok for any basics you've forgotten but expensive.
The WORST thing apart from the non-equipped kitchen was the coin-operated shower! This just seemed greedy and left us wondering just what we were getting for the money we were paying for our two nights.
The restaurant seemed good and it's worth dropping in for the daily Happy Hour with $5 drinks.
The beach is at the end of the road and it's only a short walk to a small artists' colony and pizza restaurant with music up the road.
This park seems more geared to campervanners than campers but is a convenient base from which to explore the Abel tasman NP if you avoid holiday periods.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Would not stay again.

We were traveling in high season and were not surprised that the camp was crowded; this was to be expected. Even so, we stayed in other camps on our journey and none matched this one for noise levels.

We were assigned a tent site in a lawn in front of the on-site backpackers' lodge. The backpackers blasted music until near midnight; the other tenters were inconsiderate of their fellow campers and were laughing and drinking until late hours. There did not seem to be any statement/enforcement of rules regarding noise. In fairness, when I asked those around us to keep the noise down, given the increasingly late hour, they did cooperate. But I didn't feel that it should have been my job to ask my fellow campers to be more respectful.

We found the bathroom facilities to be quite dirty, even allowing for the high volume of users; certainly, they were dirtier than any of the other holiday parks/camps we visited during the high season.

The price of this camp was similar to other holiday camps that hold themselves (and their guests) to higher standards.

We elected to camp here because of its proximity to the Abel Tasman and appreciate that they found a spot for us in the high season. But, if we had to do it again, we'd drive a further distance to stay at a better-run holiday park or DoC campsite.

Do not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marahau hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The only really good thing I can say here is that it wasn't awful, but it was well below the standard we'd encountered in other holiday parks. Plus, the staff were sort of rude to another customer when we were checking in and that sort of made us uncomfortable right from the start. For the price, we'd definitely just stay in any other park in Abel Tasman next time around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just got back from having a week at the Marahau Beach Camp. We had our own caravan but we had friends staying in one of the cabins and we started chatting to someone staying in the "Backpackers". The camp had a park-like feel to it with well maintained grounds and small childrens play area which was being well used. The camping ground wasn't busy during the day but a lot of camper-vans came in at night and seemed to go up in the National Park during th day on the water-taxis and kayaks. The cabins were small but very nice although there was no shower or toilet. The newer cabins were by the playground with a nice verandah and deck. The person staying in the back-packers said they were very reasonable and clean. He was only going to stay one night but decided to stay another one. There is a well stocked shop and office with a resaurant. The caretakers live on a bus in the camping ground and are very friendly and helpful and are there to quickly fix any problems. There are plenty of walks to do and a good base for day-trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at lots of campsites across the south island of NZ and this one is really not very good - it's OK but I think that, because they have the virtual monopoly by virtue of being right at the start of the Abel Tasman track, and because their position is very good, being very close to the beach, they don't try very hard at all to run a good site. The booking office/shop is across the road. It's a busy (not very well stocked) shop, with plenty of young and helpful staff full of good advice on walks/trips etc, but who are really nothing to do with the campsite. Hence the overall feeling is that no-one really cares for the site. It's just a bit unloved and shabby - the kitchen is poor, the laundry has broken machines, and allows the kayak business (or someone) to wash boots in the washing machine, the area with the hosepipe for dealing with waste water is unhygenic, there is no recycling at all....when you've seen the way a campsite can be run, you'll know this isn't it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntyRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marahau
0.0 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 5 in Marahau
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Holiday Park
Golden Bay Holiday Park
#11 of 15 in Takaka
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abel Tasman Ocean View Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marahau Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marahau Beach Camp

Property: Marahau Beach Camp
Address: Waterfront, RD 2, Marahau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Marahau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marahau
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Marahau Beach Camp Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing