We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not recommend: Noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Marahau Beach Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marahau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marahau Beach Camp
Halifax
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Do not recommend: Noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Would not stay again.

We were traveling in high season and were not surprised that the camp was crowded; this was to be expected. Even so, we stayed in other camps on our journey and none matched this one for noise levels.

We were assigned a tent site in a lawn in front of the on-site backpackers' lodge. The backpackers blasted music until near midnight; the other tenters were inconsiderate of their fellow campers and were laughing and drinking until late hours. There did not seem to be any statement/enforcement of rules regarding noise. In fairness, when I asked those around us to keep the noise down, given the increasingly late hour, they did cooperate. But I didn't feel that it should have been my job to ask my fellow campers to be more respectful.

We found the bathroom facilities to be quite dirty, even allowing for the high volume of users; certainly, they were dirtier than any of the other holiday parks/camps we visited during the high season.

The price of this camp was similar to other holiday camps that hold themselves (and their guests) to higher standards.

We elected to camp here because of its proximity to the Abel Tasman and appreciate that they found a spot for us in the high season. But, if we had to do it again, we'd drive a further distance to stay at a better-run holiday park or DoC campsite.

Do not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The only really good thing I can say here is that it wasn't awful, but it was well below the standard we'd encountered in other holiday parks. Plus, the staff were sort of rude to another customer when we were checking in and that sort of made us uncomfortable right from the start. For the price, we'd definitely just stay in any other park in Abel Tasman next time around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marahau hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just got back from having a week at the Marahau Beach Camp. We had our own caravan but we had friends staying in one of the cabins and we started chatting to someone staying in the "Backpackers". The camp had a park-like feel to it with well maintained grounds and small childrens play area which was being well used. The camping ground wasn't busy during the day but a lot of camper-vans came in at night and seemed to go up in the National Park during th day on the water-taxis and kayaks. The cabins were small but very nice although there was no shower or toilet. The newer cabins were by the playground with a nice verandah and deck. The person staying in the back-packers said they were very reasonable and clean. He was only going to stay one night but decided to stay another one. There is a well stocked shop and office with a resaurant. The caretakers live on a bus in the camping ground and are very friendly and helpful and are there to quickly fix any problems. There are plenty of walks to do and a good base for day-trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at lots of campsites across the south island of NZ and this one is really not very good - it's OK but I think that, because they have the virtual monopoly by virtue of being right at the start of the Abel Tasman track, and because their position is very good, being very close to the beach, they don't try very hard at all to run a good site. The booking office/shop is across the road. It's a busy (not very well stocked) shop, with plenty of young and helpful staff full of good advice on walks/trips etc, but who are really nothing to do with the campsite. Hence the overall feeling is that no-one really cares for the site. It's just a bit unloved and shabby - the kitchen is poor, the laundry has broken machines, and allows the kayak business (or someone) to wash boots in the washing machine, the area with the hosepipe for dealing with waste water is unhygenic, there is no recycling at all....when you've seen the way a campsite can be run, you'll know this isn't it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntyRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

After initially finding the camp set up confusing...where is the office????? We were delighted by happy friendly staff who were very informative and also very busy. The camp was adequate and one of the better ones we experienced. There was always a vacant shower or toilet.
After our one day walk - Bark Bay to Anchorage - we had a cold beer and a very good meal at the restaurant. Thoroughly recommend the NZ Pavlova. The wait staff were excellent!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had planned to stay a week at this Camping Ground but quickly moved on when we discovered it was a Campervan Park. If you intend to pitch a tent then there are 2 other options around the corner and closer to the entrance of the Abel Tasman National Park.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
Level Contributor
171 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

The Abel Tasman area is a popular designation. When I searched for lodging most of it was expensive or sold out for the night. I loved Kaiteriteri the most but could not find lodging there. We drove to and from Marahua to Kaiteriteri in the evening for dinner and in the morning to meet the Abel Tasman Sea Shuttle. It is about a 10-15 minute drive on a tight and windy road.
Marahua is the town closest to the Abel Tasman Walking Track and if you are planning on hiking it is the best town to stay in. There are only two cafes in town and they seemed pretty expensive and we decided to drive back to Kaiteriteri to dine at the Bus Stop Cafe. Kaiteriteri feels more livelier than Marahua. You do have access to kayaks and taxi's through the Abel Tasman Center which is part of the Marahua Beach Camp. There is a cafe onsite and a small store selling drinks a few food items. It is best to buy your food in Motueka if you want to dine in at your camp.
We stayed in the cabin. The cabin is nice and clean inside. There was a double bunk bed that my husband and I slept in with a bunk bed over us. The bed was very stiff and you have to purchase your linens for an extra $5. The bedspread they gave us was a twin instead of a double. There is another bunk bed in the room so the cabin is great for a family. They do not have any cabins with bathrooms. You have to use a communal bathroom and showers are coin operated. In the communal building there is coin operated laundry and a kitchen to cook. We had a kitchenette in our room. Our favorite part of the room was sitting on the deck and hanging out. We hardly spent time in our room only to sleep and have a glass of wine on deck before bed. We left early in the morning to spend time in Abel Tasman. It was ok for 1 night but I would have preferred a bathroom in my room. However this was the only place available in Marahua and Kaiteriteri at the price I wanted to pay. The secret to this area is book far in advance to get the room you want because all the lodging I wanted for my first and second choice was sold out. Marahua Beach Camp was completely full when we arrived, so book ahead. If you like camping this is a nice spot. There is a playground for kids and the beach is very close just about a minute walk. The scenery is beautiful.

Room Tip: Book in Advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcogswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marahau
0.0 mi away
The Barn
The Barn
#2 of 4 in Marahau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hat Trick Lodge Backpackers' Hostel
0.0 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marahau Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marahau Beach Camp

Property: Marahau Beach Camp
Address: Waterfront, RD 2, Marahau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Marahau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Marahau
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Marahau Beach Camp Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing