We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet getaway spot”
Review of Braxmere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Braxmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Upon arrival in the evening it was confusing trying to figure out where the reception was. It turned that the restaurant was the reception which was not mentioned anywhere. Quite strange, especially since the restaurant was owned by someone else. The restaurant owner was a great guy and very helpful. The location is very quiet, right on the lake but not much else around. Perfect if you just want to wind down, sit around and read a book. I found it a bit too remote, far from everything. The cabin was clean and new. The shower was very big and had endless flow of hot water. Very comfortable bed. Sufficient kitchenette. The entrance door didn't have blinds or curtains so it lacked privacy. If you were seated at the dining table you could see the neighbours having their meal. When the key is removed from the room the outside light does not work. Not much fun in the pitch black and rain trying to find the key hole. We stayed for two nights and had no cleaning service. Also the internet is a rip off. You get 50MB free which is practically 2 minutes on the internet and then $5.00 for every 50MB.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braxmere, Owner at Braxmere, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We have just erected a sign at the very start of the property which says "reception 100m" - this then takes you to the entrance of the property and signage for Braxmere and Lakeland house.
We appreciate your feedback on the door screens, we are looking into this.
With regards to your comments about our WiFi - we do not charge for the first 50MB of data and then you are able to purchase through our supplier more data. We are aware that this is not a huge amount of data, however with our location and services available from our Telecommunications supplier we are very limited to our broadband connection. This is the best service we are able to supply at this point and apologise for the inconvenience. We will update the service as we are able to the network.
With regards to servicing the apartments, we do offer a "refresh" each day as and when required, we are sorry you did not feel that was sufficient.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Braxmere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 106 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Needing a half way stopping point we choose this location. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and had put a table aside for us at the onsite restaurant should we wish to dine there which was lucky as the restaurant was fully booked on this nice.
We stayed in Wharewaka and the room was already warmed for us and was clean with new fittings and decor.
We dined at the restaurant which was delicious and they helped to accommodate us when we had to retreat early with our youngest by allowing us to take away our eldest child's dessert back to our room.
The location is stunning and short of perhaps more outdoor lighting to walk to the restaurant at night our stay was perfect. It would suit couples who want a nice night away. That said we had our baby in her cot in the master room while the 7 year old stayed on the pull out sofa bed which she loved. Perfect stay.. A spa might be nice to have there :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beedazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braxmere, Owner at Braxmere, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words - it has been a huge project and we have tried to make it tasteful and work well for all. We are in the process of looking at getting the Natural Hot Water Pool refurbished - will will certainly complete the property. We would love to see you back sometime, thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed two nights at Braxmere Lodge - what a find. I last stayed there over 20 years ago when it was quite run down. Now it is great - very clean, quiet and wonderful decor. It looks out over Lake Taupo with uninterrupted views. Birds everywhere and the fishing.... The Tongariro is a short drive away and I had good fishing on my doorstep that night.
And there is now a high quality restaurant on site (though this was a bit expensive I thought) with excellent coffee. If your are looking for a great, quiet retreat where the views are superb yet close to great fishing and the ski fields this is a real find. Friendly helpful staff make it a great stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over the lake - all seem great to me.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishingadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braxmere, Owner at Braxmere, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you Fishing Advisor for your review. We are so glad you revisited after a number of years! Also, great to hear you had success fishing.
Thanks again and hope you are back sometime to catch more trout and enjoy the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I spent our first wedding anniversary at Braxmere and what a special weekend we had. The units were beautifully furnished and beds super comfy. We also had a scrumy meal at lakeland house restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ryley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braxmere, Owner at Braxmere, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thanks Ryley for your feedback, we are so pleased you had a lovely weekend. We hope you do come back and celebrate another wedding anniversary with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a brief stay at Braxmere in February. This spot had about 10 units that have all been beautifully redone! Each unit had a kitchenette, a living/dining area, bedroom and a fabulous bathroom. The showers were great! Very comfortable spot and everything you could want for a stay. The units look right at the lake and the kids had a great time playing on the lawn. there is also a wonderful restaurant on premises. we didn't eat there but another member of our party did and loved the food.

The only thing missing was the spa. it wasn't hooked up yet, but will have the natural hot springs water in it.

the new owners have done an amazing job redoing this property. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braxmere, Owner at Braxmere, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback charleneh - it was great to hear you had a fantastic time and the children enjoyed the grounds! It is great that kids are bringing their own bikes etc and enjoying playing on the lawn!
We are working in the Thermal pool and really hope that we can get that up and running this winter for the skiers.
Thanks again and we would love to see you next time you are in NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have had the most brilliant break away. It was fantastic to have family in other units and enjoy a family and friends weekend at Braxmere. We loved being with a big group but at the same time enjoy our own space, privacy and quiet time.
The units were well set up for the two of us with everything we needed for our weekend. We could have easily stayed a week and needed nothing more.
The rooms are beautifully furnished and have gorgeous quilts from Wallace Cotton - a real treat.
For 2 nights we used the BBQ and cooked our own meals and the third night treated ourselves to a delicious meal at Lakeland House. A perfect way to end our long weekend.
Lots of fishing, right from our own boat ramp and also the children and their parents enjoyed water skiing from the ski lane a few hundred meters away. Perfect spot and we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braxmere, Owner at Braxmere, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It was great to hear you utilisted the boat ramp and enjoyed skiing - we are so lucky having many days of flat calm water.
Love to have you back again, thanks for the great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just had 3 amazing nights at the newly renovated Braxmere. The apartments were perfect for our family of four with everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Our days were filled with swimming, fishing, boating and lots of relaxing by the lake. The apartments haves BBQ's which were perfect for the first two nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant which is on-site. It was a great place for a family and friends getaway. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braxmere, Owner at Braxmere, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback graemew.
We are so lucky having some of the calmest water and our own boat ramp on Lake Taupo, it is great to hear you managed to take advantage of it.
We hope you can stay again and enjoy the property.
We are getting lots of comments about the children having a great time - remember to bring bikes etc for them as there is lots of space to ride around.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokaanu
2.0 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
20.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,603 reviews
4.7 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
291 reviews
4.5 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
4.6 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braxmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braxmere

Address: 88 Waihi Road | Turangi, Tokaanu 3381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tokaanu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tokaanu
Price Range: $101 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braxmere 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braxmere is in a breathtaking location that provides an idyllic setting for tranquil relaxation. It is also within a short distance of some of New Zealand’s best skiing, tramping and fishing spots. Reflecting the balance of action packed activities with downtime is done through simple yet stunning design. Host a wedding, take a weekend break or enjoy a corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Braxmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing