We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforting ”
Review of Rainbow Motel

Rainbow Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

After a long day of hiking the personal hot pools at Rainbow Motel were a pleasant surprise. Combined with the warm hospitality this was the perfect place to stay. Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was clean and spacious. Staff helped with local restaurant information too.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank DMAtractorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Everything you would expect from a motel, that has a few years on it's back - all being on the positive though:-)

The couple that run the motel, where excellent in offering tips, guidance and even arranging bus service to and from Tongariro National Park.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Bob welcomed us like old friends and we felt at ease straight away. The room was really big, very tidy and perfectly clean. There was everything we needed to cook and Bob even installed the barbecue just in front our unit for our outside dinner! The free wifi worked ver well.
We were amazed how new the retro furniture looked. We felt like in the 1960s! (If only we had a Corvette...)
Oh and I almost forgot: the pools are for guests only and accessible 24h!
We will definitely come back and stay longer next time we have the opportunity. Thank you Bob!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very clean and well equipped. My partner and I really liked the retro furniture.

The hot pools were great to relax in and the whole place made us wish we could stay more with a good book to read.

The owner was very kind and helpful. A great example of Kiwi hospitality: clean, genuine and not too sophisticated. Thanks Bob!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirdharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a great stay here a while back. Host nice and friendly, unit basic, but clean. Hot pools that never close, WOW, huge bonus! We soaked in the pouring rain all night. Lovely :-)
I would recomend this motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was one of our favorite stays in New Zealand. Guess it just depends on what your priorities are. It is quite quaint. If modern furniture is what you look for do not come. The owners cater to fisherman who really like it's rustic character. Speaking of the owners they could not be more helpful. Very nice couple. It is in a quiet location so noise is not an issue. It is good for self caterers and there is a well stocked grocery store just a few kms away. There are private free hot water springs for guests only, enjoyment. Ann and Bob suggested a hike in Tongariro National Park near by which we really enjoyed. Certainly would stay again. Thanks Ann and Bob.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Uncomfortable beds, basic shower, horrid furniture... this was not what we expected after our Tongariro crossing!

No aircon, mineral spa could do with a clean up.

Big dissapointment for a big price per night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liselottep90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: State Highway 41 | RD1, Tokaanu, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tokaanu
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Price Range: $88 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing