We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and clean.”
Review of Rainbow Motel

Rainbow Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy and clean.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

On recommendation from family, we stayed at the Rainbow Motel en route from Auckland to Wellington. We stayed in the one bedroom unit. The decor is cute and retro and the rooms are spacious and immaculately clean. The bed was super comfortable - had a great sleep! Hosts Ann and Bob are incredibly friendly and very helpful. Our highlight was the private thermal pools (water from natural hot springs) where you can have a soak after a long drive and look out at the stars. One thing though, the walls are very thin and can get a bit of noise from the next rooms so bring ear plugs. Otherwise we loved the stay and would definitely come again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessaklnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here overnight, arrived on a cold wet night and were shown to our unit by lovely friendly host. Our unit was retro in style, and with everything you needed. Spacious and warm, with nice comfortable bed. Even though the bathroom was old fashioned in style, it was very clean and the shower was good. Heated thermal pools are great, especially after a long drive. Not flash, but homely and comfortable. Very reasonable room rate. Lovely hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlemingsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Due to a last minute change of travel plans we stayed at this lovely little country motel. One of our group had stayed previously and recommended it. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
The self contained rooms are large and comfy with a large fridge and everything you need to cook. There were two bedrooms and there was an extra bed in the lounge room, so can sleep 5 comfortably. There was heating in the bedrooms and lounge room. It was clean, and though quite old, its 1950s/60s decor gave it an interesting back country NZ atmosphere.
The highlight of the place though is the four private covered thermal pools which are included free. They can be used any time, so some of our group had a late evening bathe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangere Bridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We needed a convenient overnight stay and the thermal pools were a delightful bonus.
The accommodation was plain but spotless and spacious with big comfortable bed
We breakfasted at Tokaanu as meals are not included, hence v reasonable tariff.
Pleasant owners husband and wife.

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Though a bit dated, well maintained and newly painted and clean. Free guest pools are good.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markogilvienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokaanu
0.0 mi away
Judges Pool Motel
Judges Pool Motel
#6 of 9 in Turangi
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Braxmere
Braxmere
#1 of 2 in Tokaanu
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tokaanu Lodge Motel
Tokaanu Lodge Motel
#1 of 2 in Tokaanu
22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Property: Rainbow Motel
Address: State Highway 41 | RD1, Tokaanu, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tokaanu
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing