We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased I didnt let the reviews put me off!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Staverton Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Vere Staverton Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staverton
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very pleased I didnt let the reviews put me off!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here on the 20th August,2012 for one evening before moving onto another De Vere hotel. My partner had booked these 3 nights away as a surprise, I had to admit after reading some of the reviews for this hotel I wasn't really expecting too much. Im delighted to say we were more than pleasantly surprised. Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings, service was very professional and courteous, two small quibbles with our room were finger marks all over the window on the inside and the bed was far too soft resulting in a very poor nights sleep for us both. We didnt eat in the hotel that evening instead we ate at The Countryman pub which we cannot recommend highly enough, one of the best meals we have had in a very long time. Breakfast the following morning was buffet style and again, faultless. All areas of the hotel were clean and very pleasant, lots of places to sit and socialise and plenty of tea/coffee facilities. Hopefully we will be able to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the golf course and was extremely quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    536
    430
    250
    142
See reviews for
281
570
32
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Have just read a review from someone staying at this hotel on the same date as we were and seriously wonder if they have the right hotel! Far from being run down and musty we found this hotel to be bright, fresh and airy.

Our rooms were large and pleasantly decorated with firm but comfortable beds and the leisure facilities (pool, sauna and gym) clean and well maintained. The only problem was a bedside light bulb in my room which was blown and this was replaced within 20 minutes. Tea and coffee was available free of charge throughout the day and night and there were a number of lounge areas in which to sit and chat with friends.

I cannot comment on food standards or the bar service as we ate in the local pubs around the area - a practice to be recommended with so many excellent choices within a short drive of this venue.

De Vere's deals are incredible value for money and having stayed at a number of their hotels I can say that Staverton Park has been our favourite to date.

Room Tip: If possible try for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lightweight_brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Mouldy net curtains, squeaky beds and whole place smells rather musty. A real shame and we expected much better from a De Vere. Bar staff slow and disinterested. Poor family sat next to us were served cold food to the kids that had to be sent back and no food at all to the parents!
Rubbish. Would not recommend

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleTrivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staverton hotels

Essex.England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My golf mad partner and I stayed 1 night + pre paid breakfasts, to break our journey home from
Scotland. We paid £29 pre paid special offer rate, but our stay wouldn't encourage us to stay there
Again, in a hurry. Our bathroom was in need of some attention - nasty brown damage to mastic round bath, poor drainage. Worse feature was a fixed glass shower screen, this meant one had to
Get under the shower in order to turn it on- full blast COLD!! ,for the first few seconds!!! Nasty!!
Missed the little touches (obviously for economy) - no shampoo,conditioner,body lotion,tissues.
Our bed was hard - not comfortable for us at all. Breakfast was excellent. Partner not able to try golf course out- they had an event on, pity- looked in good condition with nice views.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook golf course,ours didn't but still had a leafy view - ground floor. Was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We arrived late and left early but we were very pleased with the very comfortable night we spent here. The room was spacious and stylishly decorated with a large very comfortable bed. The bathroom which has a bath with shower was smart and clean. Although a tea tray is available in the bedroom there are drinks stations available in the lobby providing free access to a selection of hot beverages and packets of biscuits, which were very welcome after a long tedious hot drive. The staff were attentive, friendly and efficient. A good stay at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppycatNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend of Golf at De Vere Staverton Park and we had a great time.

We booked via golfbreaks.com and looking back now we pretty much robbed them, 2 nights, Dinner Bed & breakfast 3 rounds of golf £140...

Food: Decent standard buffet for breakfast and tea, although on the Sunday morning there was a queue for tables as there was a wedding the night before.

Room: Nice enough, very clean and pretty standard for this level of hotel. all we did was sleep and shower in the room so were happy enough, although it was a very hot weekend and the windows only opened a couple of inches. Air con would be a big benefit.

Service: Great service from all staff, reception were lovely and the bar staff went above and beyond for us. Tom looked after us very well, even offering us advice on where to go when we ventured out into Daventry and Northampton (dont bother with Daventry). Downside £5 a pint

Golf: Very nice course, really tidy and challenging enough for us. both high handicappers (28 if anyone asks) we experienced a lot of traffic on most holes which slowed down the round but we didn't mind too much, it helped us relax and were able to have some banter with the other players.

Lots of water meaning a few lost balls!

Halfway house closed at 2PM!!!!! which was a let down, but the pro shop (next door) sells water ect so wasnt too much of a problem. We were told the halfway house is owned privately so they come and go as they please. We didnt see anyone out selling refreshments on the course all weekend, we asked about it and were told they only do it for big corporate days.

all in all, a very enjoyable weekend and we will be returning soon, when we have saved enough money for the £5 pints!

Room Tip: try not to get a room overlooking the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobGLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights slept for only one.
Had a room at the frot of the hotel (307). Bar opposite serving dinks to residents well beyond 3:30am and they were getting steadily drunk and shouting at the front of the hotel as they came out for their nicotine fixes.
Had to call reception but any action was short lived as more guests continued to get drunker and repeat.
Staff taxi then added to this 'racket' at about 4:00am when it sat outside running the engine. Banging doors followed, eventually got to sleep at around 5am - 2 hours before I needed to get up for work!

Room Tip: You are at the mercy of the hotel, if like I experienced it's busy then Good Luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staverton
2.5 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
3.1 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
14.5 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#2 of 3 in Towcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Staverton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Staverton Estate

Property: De Vere Staverton Estate
Address: Daventry Road, Staverton, Daventry NN11 6JT, England (Formerly De Vere Staverton Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Daventry > Staverton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Staverton Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your De Vere Staverton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere Staverton Park
De Vere Staverton Estate Daventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing