We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of The Countryman

The Countryman
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Staverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Lovely food, friendly atmosphere, excellent service, good value. Would definitely recommend it! Stayed in hotel nearby but chose to eat here as seen good reviews on trip advisor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    135
    28
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and fantastic food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My daughter and I had a lovely meal here last night and a warm welcome was extended by the owners. Delicious food and relaxing ambiance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Lunch for a party of 12”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked by phone the day before after finding details on Trip advisor and was really pleased to receive a warm welcome when we arrived. Despite the pub being bustling at lunchtime and our group including 6 children, the staff dealt with us great patience. The food arrived promptly and was amazing. Whilst they did not have childrens menus as such, they did provide the option of smaller portions.

The food was amazing, the service was professional, and the location and venue was ideal. I would definately recommend the Countryman

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jinUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived at lunchtime for a "recce" as we had not visited this pub before. We were greeted by Linda in front of house who treated us as old friends. We were both immediately impressed with the cleanliness. Everything that should shine gleamed, the carpets, and furniture were in great shape. We decided to return in the evening for dinner, one of our better decisions.

There was a log fire, and the pub was welcoming. After a drink, (guinness for me, well kept, and as reasonably priced as the greed of successive governments would allow) we were shown to our table by a charming young lady. The restaurant is very cleverly laid out in such a way as nearly all the tables are in nooks, and corners affording an intimate dining environment.

The food was unbelievable. Everything is prepared in house mostly from locally sourced produce, and cooked by a chef who has nothing left to learn. I had a charcuterie selection plate, Roasted belly of pork, braised pig cheek, black pudding, on a bed of sauteed potatoes, accompanied by perfectly cooked curly kale. For dessert I had lemon tart with clotted cream, and raspberry coulis. My wife started with braised pig cheek, followed by bass fillet and prawns which was accompanied by crushed potatoes and green beans. For dessert she had chocolate torte with a rum sauce. All in all this was food to be savoured, and remembered for a long time. The prices were, in my opinion very reasonable.

The staff were at all times attentive and efficient without being intrusive. We are looking forward to visiting again ASAP.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“just what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had dinner two nights in a row with my 10 year old twin boys. First night we gorged ourselves with steaks and Baileys cheesecakes. I am particularly prescriptive about my steak and asked for it to be served 'as rare as you will allow it to leave the kitchen'. I invariably have to send them back because they are overvooked. Most chefs are simply not brave enough. This guy/gal knows their stuff and it was perfect. Good selection of wines by the glass and as good a Guinness as you can expect outside of Ireland. Despite still being stuffed, we went back the following evening and each had the £10 set menu, no less enjoyable. Great welcome, great food and great staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelbuckley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Countryman also viewed

 
Eydon, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Countryman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing