We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Adventure in Ankober, Ethiopia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ankober Palace Lodge
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun Adventure in Ankober, Ethiopia”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Ankober Palace Lodge is a really interesting place. The accommodations are simple, yet comfortable. We had a family turkel which fit the four of us. The food in the restaurant is solid, and offers Ethiopian and non-Ethiopian options. The staff is helpful, if not necessarily warm. There was plenty of hot-water in our shower. Think of this as luxury camping.

The environment around the lodge is spectacular. Ankober is at the edge of the Rift Valley and you enjoy amazing scenery from the lodge. We saw many Ankober Serin.

The drive to the lodge is long and the final 42km are on a poor, gravel road.

A warning: the lodge is high altitude and we were very cold at night. The hot-water bottles offered by the lodge were a must.

Definitely take advantage of the paid tours. We visited an Ankober farm house, which was both interesting and exciting. Had we stayed longer, we could have hiked for days.

Overall this is a fun place for families and those interested in an authentic Ethiopian experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AL2013885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Ankober lodge is at the top of a hill. There are only 7 rooms. Rooms are basic but clean and there is hot water. View is breathtaking. Problem is you should climb almost 100 m to reach the rooms and additional 50 m for the restaurant. At night time weather is cold for ethiopia.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank okechukwu907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've been to Ankober Palace Lodge three times in the past two years and have always had a good experience. The drive to Ankober from Addis Ababa is through high mountain passes and small villages, and is an adventure in an of itself. The view from Ankober is breathtaking, from the escarpment down into the valleys below. The accommodations are basic but clean and comfortable. The rooms are all traditional tukul-style rooms with hot water, and have nice touches, such as candles and small pots of planted rue. The coffee ceremony at Ankober is one of our favorites, and the food, especially the breakfast with its plates of bread and honey, is good. Ankober Palace Lodge is a great destination for a weekend trip from Addis Ababa, and is a great way to see some of the countryside from the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spent two nights at Ankober Palace Lodge with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautiful view, good food, nice coffee ceremony after dinner and the highpoint of our visit: a 6 hour walk with Senait through the countryside, visiting the local villagers, including an Araki Brit and Senait's ancestral home.
Negatives: price, quite a climb to get to the lodge, cold at night.
Positives: friendly service, coffee ceremony, walk through the area, hot water bottle in the bed, clean and tasteful, close to Addis Ababa
Overall, recommended to get out of the big smoke.

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent 4 nights in Ankober: it is a wonderful and peaceful place, with extraordinary views, very kind and welcoming people.
We loved the decoration of the rooms and the main house where the restaurant is.
Every evening we appreciated the warm bottles for our beds.

We travelled with 2 kids and they enjoyed it. We made 3 different treks, one with a horse for the girls, a very nice experience!

The food was basic but good, we enjoyed the indjera very much! For the breafast we could taste the ethiopian porridge (interesting experience but once was enough!) and nice pancakes.

The Lodge organised for us a driver who brought us back to Addis. We felt not safe at all on the road...:(

Overall: we liked it very much, and we will come back.

Room Tip: Rooms 201, 202 and 203: fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Addis Abeba, Ethiopia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent a beautiful weekend in Ankober. Stunning views, nice enough staff, pets allowed, good food, possibility to hire guides for walks. But expensive for what you get: you'll be lucky if you get a (lukewarm) shower, rooms are dark and cold, cleanliness at the minimum. The manager is open to comments and criticism.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the latest sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankober, Owner at Ankober Palace Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
We thank Clair first of all for having honored us with their visit and also for caring to comment on our facilities and services. We are pleased that on the whole they were happy with the service, food qulaity and the scenic views.
We regret very much our failure to switch on the boiler of the room to provide our hosts with nice hot shower. The staff on duty express their appologies for this short coming.
The management has offered our clients a substantial discount for their next visit to our Lodge as compensation for this short coming.
We are pleased to announce that we are negotiating with an Interior Decorator to improve the looks and decoration of our rooms..
We would like to assure our clients that we shall do our best to improve the presentation of our facilities.

Terrefe Ras-Work
Chairman
+251911624492
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We arrived after a long drive from Awasa National Park viua the Melka Gebhu track - difficult but superb - arriving late afternoon. Thirty minutes later we reached the hotel, puffed, with heart beating after the climb up to the hotel (special thanks to the porters who carried our cases)! It was worth the climb as we had fantastic views over the countryside, including the route we had come and were rewarded with a great sunset. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a good bathroom where things worked. We climbed further to the restaurant, the main hall of Menelik's palace, a lovely building beautifully decorated with paintings of the 1896 defeat of Italy and with a superb ceiling. The food was very acceptable, both at dinner and for breakfast. I enjoyed the barley juice and the coffee spiced with cinnamon. It is true both the restaurant and our bedroom were cold, but we survived. Another highlight was the night sky, unpolluted with wonderful views of the Milky Way and constellations, for us, in the wrong place. Overall, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ankober Palace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankober Palace Lodge

Property: Ankober Palace Lodge
Address: Ankober, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Ankober
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ankober
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ankober Palace Lodge as the name indicates is a reconstruction of the Palace of Emperor Menelik who reigned in Ethiopia in the 19th Century. Visitors have the opportunity to learn about the history of the region by visiting some of the historic churches and a small museum that displays ancient books, arts, clothing and other memorials. The Lodge is on top of a conic hill which provides spectacular scenery over the famous East African Rift Valley that spans from the Red Sea down to Malawi. The area is very calm and peaceful. It is fit for rest and recuperation. We also provide trekking to the neighboring mountainous areas with experienced guides. We have trekking programs ranging from 2 to 6 hours or longer ones for a full day or even a few days. For longer programs we accompany our guests with tents and also staff that will prepare suitable food. We provide mountain backs and horse rides for those guests that are interested. As Ankober was the seat of the capital of Ethiopia for centuries there are historical churches to be visited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ankober Palace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing