We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Massugas, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
250pyper
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxation”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a Wonderful, beautiful location. The Gite was fantastic. Jim and Jan went above and beyond, what would be expected. I can't thank them enough. The eight of us had an amazing break, able to relax and explore the local area. Thank once again. I look forward to returning soon.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
It was great having all the fantastic "Camino family" to stay. It was a brilliant week for us too enjoying the long, warm evenings singing songs, doing quizes and generally having a super time. Thank you for including us in your fun and games!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiMacVane
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Special family reunion”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This holiday home is true to all the pictures and previous reviews. We visited with 2 adult sons, their wives and babies and one five year old granddaughter. The weather was cooler than we expected but we ate on the terrace every evening and cooked on the outdoor grill (fired by grape vine roots) on several nights. We had a few lovely sunny days to enjoy the pool, but mainly just enjoyed hanging out and spending time together. A visit from my sister, an Anglican priest based in Paris to baptise 2 babies made the visit extra special as did the presence of our brother who travelled from the USA for the baptisms. The house is exceptional with all bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms of boutique hotel quality. Every need is catered for from kitchen equipment to pool inflatables to books, games and videos. Our dogs travelled with us and the property is truly 'dog heaven' as they quickly made friends with neighbouring dogs.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the exceptional quality of the property.
Liked least: We arrived by taxi and the taxi driver had difficulty finding the house. We advise including the instructions 'look for the metal sign of the hare which marks the entrance to the property' on the directions.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2015
Thank you for your review and very happy that Guillemassot was chosen to host your family reunion and christening. It was a pleasure having you and your family to stay and the invitation to join in the celebrations. It was very special, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbsmitc...
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place for relaxing”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a fantastic stay. Jan and Jim were excellent hosts, on hand if we needed anything, but not intrusive. The house is comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The welcome pack of essentials such as bread, milk, eggs and homemade jam was greatly appreciated. The garden is beautiful, with the opportunity to pick fruit such as apricots and fresh figs straight from the trees and superb views. The pool was lovely and we used it daily to keep us cool and play games. We loved our regular visits from Spoon and Dolly the dogs! All in all, a wonderful, relaxing holiday - we didn't want to leave.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility and the pool.
Liked least: The mosquitoes and the heat at night!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2015
Thank you all for coming to stay with us. Jim and I are pleased that you enjoyed your time at Guillemassot and did not want to go home. Spoon wanted you to stay forever too! Thank you for leaving the place so well, always appreciated. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faygood
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Utterly perfect”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I almost don't want to write this review because I want to keep the place a secret! The perfect family holiday, truly. We went as a couple with a toddler, and Jan & Jim had thought of everything! From the moment we arrived, having missed a flight and spent a day in the airport (loads of fun for toddlers, awful for adults) then sweated over maps with a by-then screaming kid, we were instantly made completely at home. They brought us food, wine, showed us round at lightening speed because they totally got that the baby needed bed asap, within an hour we were drinking wine with a totally settled baby, gazing in disbelief at the gorgeous rippling pool and vineyards as far as the eye could see. They are such smashing hosts, happy to let the toddler pop to their house naked at 7am to roll in the dog baskets, happy to drink wine and tell yarns as the sun sets with you, happy to leave you be. It's such a peaceful place, the gardens are stunning, we were plucking hot apricots from the tree and stripping the raspberry canes constantly, it's a total idyll. And if you go with a toddler, the really exciting titbit I can pass on, apart from the fact that Jan & Jim have provided literally everything - proper cot, proper blackout blinds, baby bath, toys, pool alarm, proper high chair etc - all of that, but the key thing is you will see a tractor at least every hour! What toddler wouldn't love that?! Oh and Jim will let you sit on his small tractor. Toddler heaven. Dogs Spoon, Dolly and Ray are the gentlest most lovely dogs you could ever hope to meet.
Bliss. We've already booked again for next year. Now shhh, book it quick and don't tell anyone, it's our secret, ok?

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2015
Thanks Tom for your very kind comments, it was a pleasure to have you, Isabel and of course Spike staying here on our hill. We look forward to seeing you again next year and you can tell Spike he'll be big enough to get his first driving lessons on the little tractor.

Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm W
Telford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect relaxing home from home”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Jan and Jim offer a perfect retreat for anyone looking for an away from it all holiday. The accommodation lacks nothing and is more than comfortable. The area is interesting for those days out and if you sample a meal provided by your hosts, you will not want to venture to any other restaurants as the cooking is superb.
If you are a dog lover you will also become very attached to the residents Spoon, Dolly and Ray.
I would highly recommend this property and extend our thanks to Jan and Jim for making our holiday so memorable.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
Thank you for your review and very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. It was a pleasure to have you here. Much laughter, jokes and tales to tell and one more about your adventures getting home! Jim the chef was will be chuffed that you enjoyed your dinner cooked by him. I will go and give the dogs a pat on the head, they are relaxing on the terrace, such a hard life! Look after yourselves and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I first stayed here in 2008 as honeymooners and have returned every year since (sometimes twice a year), this year with our six month old daughter. I have been lucky enough to travel to many destinations around the world and I can honestly say that this is one of my favourite spots and I have booked again next year. Jim & Jan, who are the owners, are now part of our family. From day one they have been friendly, attentive and are now firmly established drinking partners/baby sitters. The situation of the property cannot be bettered and for a wine lover like myself the outlook of constant vineyards stretching to the horizon is mesmerising. Thank you Jim & Jan for all the memories and we cannot wait to see you both again next year.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
You know how much we enjoy you returning to us year on year and now with your gorgeous daughter. Thank you for your lovely review and that you continue to enjoy your holidays here at Guillemassot. You are like family to us too and look forward to next years get-together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbi...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent house and fantastic hosts”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A lovely house tucked away amidst the vineyards, provided us with the perfect retreat when attending a wedding at a local chateau.

Jan provided us with excellent directions (definitely recommend following these as they were perfect) and the house had everything we could have needed.

Brilliant value for money and I'd highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2015
Thank you for your review which we appreciate very much. Pleased that you enjoyed your long wedding weekend using us as your base. It was a pleasure to have you all here and that you enjoyed the house and appreciated the location too. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing