We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautifully and relaxing house - A home from...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Massugas, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
heldrup
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautifully and relaxing house - A home from home”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from spending three wonderful weeks at Jan and Jim´s holiday home for the third year. The house is very comfortable and situated in the middle of the vineyards. A quiet very well equipped place. But the best is the friendly and dedicated owners, Jan and Jim, that are there from the minute you arrived to help and support you.
This year we brought our granddaughter of one year - and all the equipment necessary was there when we arrived. They even took care of our dog when we were of for dinners with our friends. If you love people and good company its the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendly and dedicated owners
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2014
Thank you both for the lovely review, you are family now. Looking forward to seeing you again next year for more "discussions" and "wine appreciation"! We hope you will enjoy seeing Guillemassot in September when all those grapes and plums will be ripe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margot H
Coppet, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquility in the heart of beautiful rustic countryside”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here at the end of June beginning of July. We were two families with two grown up children. Jan and Jim, the owners, are the most welcoming, thoughtful hosts. The house was spotless and well equipped. They had laid in all the ingredients for breakfast, tea, coffee, milk, bread, butter, eggs and homemade jam. Also some local wine. All complementary and so appreciated. The house is spacious and really nicely decorated. The garden is beautiful and the outside area perfect for eating. Guillemassot is a little remote but there are two or three villages within a 5-10 min drive. A useful shop in Pessac sells bread, salad, fruit, ham, cheeses and a range of dry goods. It closes over lunchtime, though. Two big supermarkets within 15 mins drive. We had a really relaxing holiday, played lots of board games (big supply at the house). This house would be lovely for a family with young children as it has a swing and lovely area for children to run around and of course the pool ( which has an alarm to alert you if someone falls in when not in use). Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was good to meet you all and we hope that the wedding went well too. We appreciate your kind words and maybe see you all again one day (for the next wedding!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_Hann...
Swindon
2 reviews
“Fantastic location fantastic for families”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We travelled as a family, two adults and two young children of 2.5 years and 6 months. After a long drive from home to the south of France we were greeted by a gorgeous gite and an extremely welcoming Jan and Jim who were brilliant at pointing us in the direction of what's on where, along with sharing a few glasses of wine with later in the week.

As many other reviewers have already articulated the gite and grounds are stunning, the location is fantastic and the hospitality of Jan and Jim first class. So we agree with everything all other reviewers have said, but felt that as parents with two young children (and the car packed to the rafters) with 'family things' our contribution to the reviews would be better to let you know that the gite is probably better stocked than most family homes!

The kitchen has quite literally everything you may ever want or need to cook with, a stair gate is provided, the cot is modern exceptionally clean and the mattress is high quality, the lounge has (very tidily packed into a box) a large selection of children's toys; which includes 'magic' - the yo yo which my eldest little one quite literally thought was magic so called it that!

And then there are the smaller things that you kind of take for granted at home that you don't really consider when you are away, plenty of dishwasher tablets, washing tablets, nappy bags in all bathrooms, sterilising tablets, plastic plates and cups, baby bath etc etc.

Jan and Jim have created something that easily appeals to all, whether that is young families such as ourselves to honeymooners wanting peace and tranquility to those later in life with a taste for good company and good wine.

We will certainly be going back, this time we won't be driving though as we have no need to take all the stuff we did this time.

We hope you enjoy staying at Guillemassot as much as we did.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2014
It was a pleasure having you and your lovely family to stay and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Guillemassot. Hope to see you all again one day and thank you for your wonderful and detailed review which we hope will be of help to others with children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bazza40
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Paradise among the vines”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A perfect relaxing place. Friendly hosts, perfect location to visit Bordeaux ,Arcachon ,Bergerac and lots of medieval villages.
Lots of space, and everything you could possible need in the kitchen and garden. Games, bikes, pool, and a new mini golf course!
The welcome was great with wine, bread, eggs, juice, tea , coffee, etc there for your use too.
Sky TV for those that don't speak French too.
Definitely go back again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2014
Jane and Barry really appreciated your review. You were perfect guests and thank you for officially opening the pitch and putt. The last hole needed a name and it is now the Skelton hole! Enjoy the rest of your travels round Europe and hope to see you again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyreti...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“The most relaxing holiday”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

All credit to Jan and Jim who have created an idyllic holiday venue. The gite is beautifully furnished, complete with everything you could possibly need to have thoroughly relaxing time. The location is superb, ideal for a comfortable replenishing stay, or for the more adventurous, near enough to explore the beauties of Bordeaux and the medieval villages along the Dordogne. Cannot wait to continue exploring the area, and meeting up with Jim and Jan again next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2014
Thank you both for coming to stay and Jim and I are pleased that you had a good time. We really enjoyed your company and Dolly is still missing you and her treats, though her waistline has reduced again. The pitch and putt is now finished, holes, flag and all,thanks for being our first testers before the opening. I promise you that Sparky Jim had beginners luck! Hole 2 will bear the Blaydon name. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A relaxing few days in a lovingly restored and cared for home. We had a really peaceful stay and could not stop admiring all the work that has been done on the property to get it to such a high standard. Everything you need for a great holiday is provided and for us the sun even shone!! We loved the outdoor areas. Thank you for having us and good luck with the pitch and putt course.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2014
Thank you Julie and Chris for your review. Jim and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the bonus of sunny weather in April. The grand opening of the pitch and putt course will happen during May and hope one day enjoy a round with you both, with plenty of refreshments of course!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek r
toulouse
1 review
“paradise”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

we had a lovely week the last week sept, the barn was well equiped had everything to make our holiday,
bordeaux is worth a visit park/ride available,also st-emilion, we live in france have had several holidays staying in gites and barns and this is one of the best,
jim and janet are great host, the barn conversion is magic and the scenery from the garden and beautiful sunset makes this a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: large t/v comfortable seating
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2013
Thank you both for your review, much appreciated. We enjoyed your company sitting under the stars chatting about Suffolk, amongst other things! Bring your putter for the pitch and putt next time, it will be ready for 2014....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing