We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace & Tranquility”
other travelers have booked this property
Peaceful, pretty cottage on the edge of the village of Mantilly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peaceful, pretty cottage on the edge of the village of Mantilly
Sun trap garden Relax and enjoy the surrounding countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Peaceful, pretty cottage on the edge of the village of Mantilly
Sun trap garden
Relax and enjoy the surrounding countryside
The view from the front door
Multi fuel log burner
Well equipped kitchen and dining area
Alternative view of kitchen leading to garden and barbeque area
Lounge with sofa bed (can be used as second bedroom)
Another view of the lounge
Bathroom (full size bath and power shower)
Scenic lakes and pathways nearby for walking/cycling and fishing
Beautiful locations nearby for Kayaking and canoeing
King size bed main bedroom
Main bedroom
Parking provided at the front of the cottage next to the quiet country lane
Country lane runs past the cottage out to scenic walking and cycle routes
Peaceful lane leads to Mantilly Village square
Sun loungers provided
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mantilly, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
243nana
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Peace & Tranquility”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Mantilly Cottage is a pure delight, birdsong & the chimes of the Church clock so restful. This charming cottage is comfortably furnished & well equipped. Totally secure garden ideal for our cocker spaniel. Surounded by fields & beautiful walks.
We will certainly go back to the cottage & explore more of this lovely area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday, and are grateful for how well you looked after our Cottage during your stay. C and S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brella
Nth Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely, secure cottage in a lovely village.”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a fabulous stay. Lovely clean cottage. Very secure for pets. Lovely garden spent a couple of warm days outside with a glass of wine. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Cold, but bright sunny week, cottage soon warms up. Lovely hot water if you turn the fuse switch on first, we didn't realise so no hot water for the first day. Village Boulangerie great for fresh bread and cakes. Walk to village 30 secs. Dropped a star only because on a main road, noise from tractors and farm equipment all day and night but you soon get used to the noise just cross your fingers each time they pass as they are big and very close to your car, but no scratches they are pretty good at manoeuvring.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
Dear Michaela, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated as we always want to do our best to make sure that our guests have a relaxing holiday at our cottage. We’re sorry to hear about the tractor noise. We have stayed at the cottage numerous times over the last 4 years and have never experienced this, only having seen a few tractors and a handful of cars throughout the entire day. I can only suggest that this was a significant time in the Farming diary in this rural area of Normandy. Other guests have often commented on the peace and tranquillity within their reviews. We have added some pictures of the road to our photos for other guests, to show our parking area next to this usually quiet country lane leading from the peaceful village of Mantilly. Apologies for the water on your arrival, this was an oversight on our part due to a new timer being installed which appears to have accidentally been switched off, but has been rectified now. Thank you again, Chris and Sally.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Thank you both for your very kind comments, much appreciated by us and no doubt will be helpful to future guests. C & S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter G
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Mantilly Cottage....a little gem.”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We needed a break after Jayne's illness earlier in the year and we were in for a treat. Peace and tranquillity was the order of the day and we weren't disappointed. Chris & Sally have a beautiful cottage, well equipped with everything you'd need for a holiday. The weather was great and the village and local residents couldn't have been more friendly. We had our small dog with us and he loved it. The garden is toatally enclosed so he could roam freely about. We only had one day to do any sightseeing as the weather was so hot we just didn't want to go anywhere in the car. We visited Utah Beach on the Thursday which was well worth the 70 mile drive. Superb day out with loads to see and do, as well as a lovely reastaurant which serve great Moules et Frites. Our week went in too quickly and it was time to head home. If you're looking for a quiet relaxing break then get in touch with Chris & Sally. you won't be disappointed, we'll certainly be back for more!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Cottage is a Gem.”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a great time we had in Chris n Sallys cottage in Mantilly.Everything that they said about it when we booked was true.This cottage has everything.Location...peace and quiet and plenty of top tourist attractions within driving distance.Situated in a small quiet village with plenty of walks and local facilities..its great.. We were in France for the football..which was mad..and should have booked another stay in the cottage on the way home to Ireland to recover..This is a Gem for total peace and quiet.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholas77
1 review
“Mantilly, the text book definition of perfect.”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

After a long and scenic drive we arrived at Mantilly cottage and were immediately struck by the peace and quiet. The cottage is perfect for a couple to get away and hide from the noise and haste or modern life.
It's an ideal base for exploring or indeed staying in and reading whilst sat in the garden (remember to say hello to the cows). We will be sure to return in th not too distant future. Just brilliant!!!

Value Rooms
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra n
1 review
“Mantilly cottage is the perfect holiday home.”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We found Mantilly a lovely place to base ourselves for our holiday. We found so many places to visit explore and enjoy. All we needed in a holiday. Although weather was seasonal we found every comfort in our holiday home. Home from home.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing