We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage next to the River!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle Searle Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle
Searle Lounge
Searle kitchen
Dine in Style
The Searle's stylish Bedroom
Lots of Space
Drift from bed to garden on warm summer days!
Rhayader: market town and gateway to the Elan Valley
Mountain Bike Centre, Rhayader
Penycareg dam after rain
The beauty of Penycarreg Lake
Castle Mound, Rhayader
Winter Sun from Rhayader Bridge
Sledging in the Park
Rhayader by Nature
Waterfall in Rhayader
The splendour of autumn in the Elan Valley
Carreg Du Reservoir
Canoe on the Wye in Rhayader
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanwrthwl, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NeilBaker
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage next to the River!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Great cosy cottage with everything you need for a self catering stay. First class here with little extras like welsh cakes, wine and milk - nice touch! Great for our dog too. Will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy Atmosphere.
Liked least: Nothing Really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a positive review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Searle. We are only in our second year of trading so feedback from customers is a very useful tool for evaluating our service and facilities. The Searle is a very popular cottage due I think to its unusual design, space and cosiness. I look forward to seeing you again at some future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBush
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An Amazing Beautiful venue”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed at the Searle Cottage, and it was amazing, the hospitality shown by the owner Elaine and staff was incredible, everything was very nice and it was like a home for home but much better. The living area is very smart, attractive and comfortable, with a very powerful and lovely shower, and The Best nights sleep we have had in so long.

They provided a cot, as we travelled as a family (2 adults and 2 infants under 1). This cottage and the venue is beautiful, we would fully recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review; thank you too for your positive and encouraging comments - they are much appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay but are sorry that your new baby was unwell. I do hope recovery was swift once you returned home. Perhaps we may see you again some time in the future. Good luck with your studies!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so comfortable
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in the Searle. We very much appreciate the positive comments you have made. Yes - we really are lucky to have the river so close by which is very useful for the early morning dog walk! I'm glad you felt the shop, post office and café nearby to be of benefit. Guests find it especially useful for their morning paper and odds and ends they may have forgotten to bring with them. We very much look forward to seeing you again some time in the future.

Best wishes

Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
442Steve
Wellington,United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Even better the 2nd time around”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was our second visit to the Vulcan Lodge following our previous stay in September 2012 (see prior review). What was especially pleasing was the fact that the minor issue that I had commented on during our first stay had been acted apon and that there were now gates in situ in the garden which meant we could relax when the dogs were outside with us.
Having enjoyed recommended drives from the guide provided we re-visited one route and also took the scenic route to Aberystwyth which as promised was absolutly stunning.
The accomodation was again to a high standard and my wife commented on the high quality of the laundry facilities which we believe are an addition from our last stay.
Overall I have nothing but praise for the Vulcan Lodge and will be planning another visit in 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Quality accomidation
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2013
We were very pleased to welcome you back to the Searle cottage in Vulcan Lodge. I'm glad you appreciated the addition of the gates and the laundry unit. Thank you for posting such a positive response about your visit. We look forward to seeing you and your wife - an of course the dogs - again at some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazzy62
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Marvellous Mid-Wales Property”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at Searle. This is a spacious, modern, clean and comfortable holiday accommodation. We concur with everything that the previous reviews suggest. The welcome pack including a bottle of wine and Welsh cakes was a lovely touch as were the fresh flowers. The outside garden area is usefully fenced in though our dog managed to get out through the gas tank area, she only wandered into the caravan club park at the back. Through a gate at the back of the plot and a short way down a track there is a stile and path to the banks of the river Wye. We found a lovely and quite challenging local walk from Llanwrthwl Turn and plenty of other walking opportunities within a short drive. In all the standard of this property, the scenic location and the attention to detail mark this out as a special place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotless, spacious and the extra little details.
Liked least: Next to the A470, when sitting outside traffic noise could be a bit of an issue perhaps at busy times.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive appraisal of our Searle cottage. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The area certainly has a wonderful variety of walks to choose from and to suit all requirements. As far as the gap in the fencing is concerned I'm on the case! We look forward to seeing you again some time in the future should you choose to visit us again.

Elaine Zamroz
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to have the freedom to do what you wanted to do.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Searle. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and in particular the Searle cottage. We very much look forward to seeing you again at some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 16, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Wireless internet only allowed two devices to be linked (we have two iPhones and an iPad between us)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a comment about your stay with us recently. We are very pleased indeed that you enjoyed your stay. You are right - in warmer weather it is a beautiful place to be. We know that we are very lucky to live in such a lovely part of Wales and we enjoy sharing its beauty with our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing