We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Visiting the Elan valley?, you won't do better...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Woodman Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Woodman Lounge
The Woodman Kitchen Vulcan Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
The Woodman Lounge
The Woodman Kitchen
Vulcan Lodge
Bathroom with Beams
Searle Kitchen
Woodman Bathroom
Woodman Bedroom
Woodman Bedroom
Winter in Rhayader
Winter Sun from Rhayader Bridge
Fun in the Park
The Wye in Rhayader Park
Winter Sunset
Castle Mound, Rhayader
A spectacular sight
Craig Goch Reservoir
Garreg-Ddu Reservoir
Glas Llyn
Penygarreg Reservoir
Caregg Du Reservoir
Winter on the Wye
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanwrthwl, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J R
2 reviews
“Visiting the Elan valley?, you won't do better than this for a self catering place to stay.”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Everything about the .Vulcan Lodges says quality.and it is a great area for walking/photography There is also a good shop and filling station very close by.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2018
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Woodman Cottage. It certainly has some lovely walks on its doorstep yet with the convenience of facilities nearby. Thank you for taking the time to post this review it is much appreciated.
Kind regards
Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marj f
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice cottage.”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Rented all cottages. Every one is different. Lovely bedding. Supermarket, garage, cafe next door. Very quiet surroundings.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It is much appreciated.

Best wishes

Elaine
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdNicMark...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hay Festival”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location! 40 minutes from Hay on Wye for visits to the Festival, but also ideal for visiting tourist spots in the area. Great for walkers!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2017
Thank you for your positive review. Yes - it's ideally located for exploring both north and south of Mid Wales and with the Wye Valley Walk on the doorstep it's great for walkers. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Elaine
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2014
Thank you so much for posting such very positive comments about the Woodman Cottage; it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and perhaps we will see you again some time in the future. With best wishes,

Elaine
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DigitalDi...
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Break Base”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed in Woodman at Vulcan lodges as a last minute weekend break of 4 nights (we extended one night) and found it an excellent base for exploring Rhayader and the surrounding area.

The facilities provided are to a high standard and well appointed and the property is warm and comfortable. There are lots of plugs for modern electrical gadgets and the Freesat TV and (~1.5mb) internet connection are sufficient to keep even geeks like me entertained. The large bath is great for a soak and warming up after a day outdoors in the mid-Wales countryside. There is also a useful porch area for coat's and muddy boots, or probably even enough space for a couple of bicycles.

Whilst the cottages are located on an A road, they are set back from the road, and its not what Id call a busy road - 1 car a minute during the day, and 1 every 5-10mins after 7pm. Rhayader is about 5 mins drive and Llandridnod Wells is about 10mins away for getting food and supplies. There is also a shop and cafe next door for essentials or breakfast.

My only tip would be, due to the traditional and sympathetic refurbishment, taller people (over 6ft) may wish to choose one of the other cottages downstairs as I suspect they may offer more headroom through the doorways - I banged my head on the lounge/kitchen door 3 or 4 times and Im only 5ft 10. :)

We enjoyed our break and are already thinking about booking again in 2014.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Woodman cottage. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us in Mid Wales and we very much appreciate the positive comments you have made. We welcome guest feedback as it helps us in our quest to make our guests' experience as good as possible.

I'm sorry you banged your head on the door into the lounge. I think we will have to put up a 'Mind your head' sign to reduce the chance of this happening.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again at some future date.

Elaine

ps I've replaced the can opener!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freebird...
southwest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very cosy and comfortable base”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you want an 'away from it all' cottage with only the sound of birds then this is probably not for you. However if you want to feel like you are living in a cosy cottage without any of the inconveniences then this is great. We had not been to this area before so wanted to explore. It was good to be close to a main road for access and not to have to worry about finding a shop while we were out for any basic supplies.
This all sounds a bit practical and boring but it was in fact a lovely cottage. We didn't really notice the noise from the road.I liked the good sized hall downstairs for coats and shoes etc. The folder of walks and cycle rides and others attractions was useful and had been carefully put together. We did have to wait in the shop for a few minutes when we arrived but it was nice to then be shown into our accommodation - rather than searching for keys under a stone outside as sometimes happens!
Well up there in my list of favourite holiday rentals - even saw a red kite from our window!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bath and shower
Liked least: a bit more cupboard space in the kitchen would be good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about the Woodman cottage. We are glad you appreciated the convenience aspects of the location and what the surrounding area has to offer. It is always very pleasing for us to get such positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
206Anna
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not exactly a cottage”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and 20 month old toddler stayed here for the long weekend in August and on arrival were a bit disappointed, To call this accommodation a 'cottage' is a touch misleading. It was actually a pub that had been converted into a set of flats. The building was right next to a petrol station (from where we had to get the keys). We did not find the A road at all quiet after 6pm as the website suggested, the steady stream of fast moving traffic was easily heard from our bedroom window. Unfortunately we had a very loud party of people in the flat below, and there did not appear to be sound proofing!
Although the 'cottage' catered for young children, The Woodman was an upstairs flat with a long narrow staircase. A cot and high chair were provided but the flat very much lacked a safety gate. There was no garden, only an empty roof top which we did not venture onto for obvious safety reasons with a toddler.
On a plus side, the beds were clean and comfy, the corner bath was a hit, and we had complimentary wine and welsh cakes on arrival. The kitchen was clean and very well equipped, the living space was cosey and there was a useful folder with local attractions, great TV and wifi, and a good location.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath
Liked least: The stair case with no safety gate
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2013
Thank you for your constructive and helpful feedback. I am sorry the Woodman did not meet your expectations. We do endeavour to describe all of the cottages accurately on our website and I have reviewed the description for the Woodman. All of the points you raise are in fact referred to, but I have now rewritten parts to make them more evident. Most importantly I have said that the Woodman is not suitable for small children because it is upstairs and there is no direct access to the garden. There are in fact 2 garden areas. What a pity you did not find them - especially the one at the side of the Lodge which is secured with gates. I am pleased you took my advice and did not venture onto the roof for obvious reasons. Also building regulations prohibit this. They also required us during conversion to put sound insulation under the flooring. I do accept however it is unlikely to prevent all noise especially if there is a particularly noisy group of guests in the Middleton.

I am sorry you were disturbed by traffic. Normally there really is very little traffic after 7.00 pm which is why the shop and café close at this time. I have however asked our builder to put new, double-glazed windows in to the rooms on the front.

We chose to call the units cottages as we felt they were reverting to what they originally were: a row of stone cottages occupied by a blacksmith (hence the name Vulcan), a midwife, a carpenter and a coffin maker.

Yes there is a small service station close by. Many guests appreciate this as they are able to order a newspaper, get cash from the post office, do the lottery, buy milk and other bits and pieces without getting in the car. They have also made good use of the café for breakfast and other meals. Some have commented that though close by it is not intrusive as it is across 2 large car parks and an island with trees.

Check in procedure: guests are asked to report to the staff on duty in the shop who direct them to the café for a complimentary hot drink while I am called. I then take guests to their cottage and tell them all they need to know about the facilities available. They are given my personal mobile number and are able to contact me at any time during their stay. Most guests seem very satisfied with this arrangement for checking in.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback which will help us in our quest to continually improve our guest experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing