We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Carlsberg!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Eglwysbach, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gavin H
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carlsberg!”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Carlsberg don't do holiday cottages, but if they did........

An amazing cottage with the most incredible views. We loved it and will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules F
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat nestled in the hills...”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Red kites retreat over new year in 2016. The owner, Lucy was very welcoming and the welcome bara brith was lovely with a cuppa!

Our party comprised of adult friends and our 3 children ( ages 9, 9 and 11) and our 2 dogs.

The location was lovely, amazing views from the cottage (esp red themed bedroom!) and all of the facilities were of an excellent standard, it felt very luxurious. We went for walks every day and popped into the Bee hotel for a swift one on the way home. The pub was small but wonderful. Think its closed on Mondays and Tuesdays however, you may want to check.
We went to nearby Bodnant gardens and ate at the Hay loft on New years day. (the setting there was fabulous but the food wasn't as fab as we'd expected, so that was a little disappointing.)
There are no shops in the village, nearest place to get supplies is Bodnant Gardens. The nearest shops we went to were Llandudno, which was a nice few hours meandering.
The bath!
The bath needs a special mention! It was quite simply the most luxurious bath I've ever had! Just what the doctor ordered after some of our walks!

The living area was very cosy with the fire going and we all sat and played many a board game at the kitchen table. The open plan space was great so we didn't feel isolated whilst cooking for the masses!

The mobile phone network was non existent, but the WiFi was good enough to browse the web. However, if its streaming you're after, its not suitable for that.

Lots of other reviews have mentioned the steep lane access to the cottage, but we managed to get up and down in normal cars with no problems at all, (and we don't have 4x4s). The sleeping collie dog in his kennel was a highlight for the children each time we passed the farm lower down the lane, and had to stop for them to wave. (Not sure he noticed to be honest!)

All in all it was a wonderful week away relaxing, and making memories with our friends and family. We would love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage with fabulous views”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Really excellent cottage, nicely laid out with high quality furniture and fittings, including the kitchen and bathrooms. Wonderful views over Snowdonia, from either the lounge, front bedroom or decking areas. Friendly and helpful owner living in adjacent farmhouse. Great escape, with nothing but sheep in the surrounds.

Few tips;
* the cottage in quite a remote location, with steep narrow roads/tracks for access, although all perfectly feasible for a standard car. Leave 30 minutes to get to Betws y Coed or A55 junction.
* internet access is ok, although not sufficient for streaming video's.
* mobile phone coverage can be obtained from the car park and the approach road, but not from the cottage itself.
* nearest village, Eglwysbach, is about 1 mile away, but does not have a shop or mobile phone coverage, but the Bee Inn pub is nice with good food. Nearest shops are Llanrwst and Llandudno.
* easiest route in is from Bodnant Garden to Eglwysbach, then on to the cottage - other routes are very steep/narrow.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillyfatc...
Ribchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Carol”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely stunning in all ways. The cottage is beautiful and the views are amazing. We spent a week at red kites retreat and can't fault it in anyway.
We were even lucky enough to see the red Kites on our first day.
The surrounding areas have lots to do including lots of nice dog walks for anyone taking their dog.
A truly special holiday cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichMattU...
Nr.London, England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Something Special in the Hills!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely week relaxing at Red Kite’s Retreat. The house was exactly as described and everything was in very good condition. It was such a treat to have such gorgeous bathrooms and a modern kitchen, as we do not have these at home (well, we have them, just that we keep putting off updating them so that we can have nice holidays instead!)

On arrival day, we drove through the village ready to find the lane that leads to the house. As most of the previous reviews commented on the road, we were ready for it to be a bit of an “experience”, especially as we drive a family saloon. We drove through the farmyard, past the lovely collie snoozing in his dog kennel, and started the climb up to the house. The views were gorgeous and the fields full of lambs bounding along in the sunshine. We kept looking ahead waiting for the road to get “dodgy” and then we realised we had arrived at the house. It turns out that the owners have recently upgraded the road, so we missed out on the fun that previous visitors had experienced!

We came to relax and found it very hard to drag ourselves away from the house for day trips (maybe the house is too comfortable!) There are lots of Heritage type railways within easy driving distance and glorious views everywhere. We mainly ate at the house (got to use the lovely kitchen!) but we can highly recommend the Furnace Tearoom at Bodnant and also The Cottage Loaf at Llandudno (wish we had found it earlier in the week!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and comfort
Liked least: Having to leave a day early for a meeting!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emyr P
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning house in a stunning location”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in March 2013

This house is lovely. All the fixtures and fittings are of a really good standard. A great log burner also. It snowed and the views were stunning. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing