We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and luxurious- a perfect place to enjoy St. Lucia”
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2009

My husband and I came to the Cap Maison for our honeymoon. The grounds are beautiful and blend in nicely with the surrounding coastline. The rooms were spotless and beautifully appointed. We were upgraded to a large villa with a full kitchen and pool (nice!). While the Cap Maison is a little on the pricey side, do some research- we got an amazing deal that included meals, sunset cruises on the amazing yacht, and even massages, golf, etc. Also, all watersports are complimentary- kayaking, windsurfing, catamaran, snorkeling, etc- that helps save some money & the Cap is in a great location on the water!

The Cap Restaurant has the most incredible view- every morning I looked forward to breakfast overlooking the stunning coastline. The food is incredible- it is pricey, but in comparison with other St. Lucian dining estabilishments, a great deal. The wait staff is meticulous and ensures everything is perfect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves great views, beautiful, clean and spacious rooms, courteous & friendly hotel staff, wonderful dining, and well, luxury. The owner of the Cap Maison was always around, and even hosted a cocktail hour one evening.

The only down side to the Cap Maison is the distance from the main international airport (around 90 minutes). We flew in to the smaller airport and it is about a 20 minute drive. Another issue we had was more with St. Lucia in general- taxis can get expensive! Look into chartered tours, etc before deciding to check out the island for yourself- we ran into hefty cab fares and sketchy places. Luckily, the Cap Maison is near several other hotels with wonderful restaurants so a quick (and cheap) cab fare can get you to another dining establishment if you like a little variety.

My husband and I can't wait to return to the Cap Maison!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catfishcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
There are newer reviews for Cap Maison
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 748 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed at Cap maison for 10 days in August. From our arrival to our departure it felt as if we were VIPs. All staff were courteous and charmingly friendly. A friendly greeting no matter what time of day!
We had a very large villa and pool. Together with kitchen and a large fridge/freezer, which was useful as the freezer also contained an ice-making machine.
We were on "full-board" and the food would achieve a Micheline one star if such a thing existed in St Lucia!!! Lunch and dinner offerings were amazing and the Chef never failed to surprise. If it's not on the menue, don't worry, if the Chef has the ingedients he'll prepare something for you!!
If you think I'm going over the top, well, just try this place for yourself: you will not be disappointed. Oh, and the "iceing on the cake"? They have their own 46 foot cruiser which you can take out to sea , with a Captain at any time. One suggestion, get a few other guests to join you. It's much cheaper that way and well worth the trip!!!
Heres to our return match next year!
Terry & Tina Rothery

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terryrothery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Cap Maison in June 2009. We found the resort to be absolutely beautiful and the management/staff were very welcoming and friendly the entire trip. If you're not lucky enough to get your own private pool, not to worry as Cap Maison has two pools plus beach access. The beach (although public) was normally not crowded; snorkeling and most of the other water activities are available. Plus, the hotel has a cash bar set up on the beach.

We had breakfast at the restaurant every morning (included in our package) and dinner once - All of the meals were very good. Also, my wife had a couple massages and said that although she's normally not a fan, these massages were very good.

Overall, this was one of our best vacations...thanks to Cap Maison.

Things to know before you go:
Cap Maison is about 1 1/2 hour drive from the International Airport; 35 minutes from the Castries Airport. (drive times aren't exact)

The town of Rodney Bay is about 10 minutes away by car. It has numerous restaurants, a couple grocery stores, and a beach area. The only bad part is that the town is not walkable from the resort and cab fare is about $15 one way. This town is where you'll find the nightlife. (Cap Maison is very relaxing and quiet).

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmichael65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

First of all the resort is MAGNIFICENT!!!!. The view from the restaurant is FANTABULOUS if there is such a word...The food is GREAT!!! but there is one thing that bothered me, a particular wait staff whom i always seem to meet when I come to have lunch. Everything started out great until Gina had this very unpleasant attitude which did not seem very nice. She spoke in her second language very frequently to her other colleague whom we asked her name and with a great big bright smile she said Alison... maybe with this unusual accent she thought we did not understand but we sure did. She gave us really poor service which we found to be rude and in no doubt this is not good at all for this fantastic resort.. In our opinion we think she needs to be disciplined and tuned up..to add to this our lunch became very noisy after a few minutes with cutlery being polished along with some dishes and that was rather irritating .... 15 to 20 minutes she was exiting the restroom upon me entering... she just could not be bothered with us as we may seem to be ordinary locals but the saying goes NEVER JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER.... Props go out to the chef for his/ her tasty chowder " we definitely will be back for some more providing that our service will be better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbryantBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Just having come back from our Honeymoon we wanted to write and say what a wonderful place Cap Maison is for anyone at any time of the year. The Villa Rooms are tastefully done and represent the ultimate charm of the resort. Set in the Mountainside the View from our Roof Top Pool was strait our of a Post card. The food was well prepared( Although Small Portions) and very tasteful. Everyone from the Beach Attentdant to the COncierge, Housekeeping, Valet and Wait Staff made you feel like you were part of their family. The Captain of the Cap Maison 2 was knowledgeable and took us on wonderful tours to see the best the Island has to offer. The GM Ross was constanly attending to every guest needs and host a very nice cocktail social every Tuesday Night. The Hotel also sends a great service of Drivers from Executive Car Service who hosted great private tours and gave you the best lowdown on the Island. There was really nothing to complain about however once the few kinks are ironed out this will become the premier resort in all of the Carribean....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I just had to write a review as I feel obligated as much as I use this web site. First ot all the resort is beautiful!! We had a lovely drive with cold towels and cool drinks and a cold beverage waiting for us at the resort. The room was an ocean view suite and was top notch all the way. We could not have stayed anywhere nicer and we have been to plenty of 5 star resorts. The food was fabulous along with a beautiful ocean view. We had lunches packed on a couple of days and the sandwiches and fruit were always great as well. We looked forward to our meals. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and there was obviously alot of thought that went into the resort. There was a mixer with Ross and a wonderful buffet dinner afterwords which was delicious! It was also a great way to meet other travelers.

Now on the kinks. We found the wait staff in the evening to be friendlier than in the morning. We had some clanking of dishes and sometimes with only us dining, there would not be much checking and removing of dishes promptly to where we had to plle them on the table next to ours. We also had a gardener who was working in front of our suite. He would take breaks and watch my children play in the pool. Not a big deal until he turned and went to the bathroom right there with us watching him. That same gardener also at 6am on our last night decided right outside our door to throw rocks in a metal wheelbarrow. Needless to say, we were up from then on. I even stuck my head out of the room, but got just a nod. Also, I don't think the beach attendant was ever there at 10am as the hours are supposed to be 10-6. We just layed on the sand until the chairs and towels were unlocked. Also, he liked to pack things up so he could leave and if it started raining he was done for the day even though there is a couple of umbrellas. We always waited out the rain. Also, if you want to utilize any equipment like the Hobie cat or the wind surfer be prepared to get forcefull. They are supposed to be utilized by the resort, but the attendant isn't ever too quick or polite about getting them out. One last kink, we could never use the big pool because there was a lady who liked to sun bathe and eat lunch at the table topless. I was hoping that someone from the resort would tell her to remain clothed at the main pool, expecially with teenages and children around. Including mine. I never made a big deal out of it since we had our own pool at the suite. We would just leave when she showed up. All and all it was a great trip. I would love to give this resort 5 stars, but feel that the staff is the only thing needing fine tuned. The evening dinner staff were great however and props to the chef. We enjoyed conch chowder every day and never tired off it and his garnishing of meals were beautiful. We would have loved to get to know the staff on a more personal level like we have other places we have stayed. We enjoy getting to know the culture and would've appreciated a friendlier atmosphere that way.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skingKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

The drive from the airport is a little long and the final bit of road before arriving is a little scary, but once we turned into the hotel property, everything fell into place.

My wife and I recently travelled to St. Lucia to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The trip was meant to be absolutely romantic (we left our two kids back home with grandmother) and something she would always remember. We lead very hectic lives and I wanted this trip to be an opportunity for us to re-connect.

I knew I wanted to go somewhere tropical and I knew I wanted a hotel that was not your standard all-inclusive. These are the typical hotels we go to when we travel with our kids and they're great for that kind of vacation, but this had to be different. My travel agent suggested St. Lucia and a small boutique resort on the north-west tip called Cap Maison.

This was the perfect choice!

We had reserved a villa with a terrace and private pool. The villa itself was absolutely gorgeous and the private pool was the ultimate in privacy and romance. We never did make it down to the main hotel pool...

The food at the resort was terrific, whether choosing to eat at The Cliff at Cap (the hotel's only restaurant) or doing room service. Outside the resort, we tried a variety of cuisine in and around Rodney Bay and, with the help of the hotel staff for selection, enjoyed every meal.

The resort is nestled on a cliff and you must walk down a somewhat long set of stairs to get to their beach. If long walks on the beach is something you're looking forward to, then this is definitely not the place. I would characterize the beach as small, cute and secluded.

The staff at Cap Maison were great. From the room tour we got from Monica upon our arrival to all the help we received for setting up dinner reservations and excursions, to Charlie - the cab driver who was always on time and ready to deliver us to whatever place we desired, everyone was gratious and unobtrusive. I think they could tell we wanted a quiet vacation with little interruption.

May is not the peak for tourism in St. Lucia and we could certainly tell at the resort. It was quite empty, with no more than 3 or 4 tables taken in the restaurant each time we dined there. Given we were looking for peace and quiet, this suited us just fine.

The spa at the resort is small but quite complete in its treatment offerings. The two individuals who seem to be running the spa were great and always greeted us with a huge smile.

If you're looking for a great boutique resort that is elegant, quiet and boasts a staff that are honestly interested in helping you experience a great vacation, then you can do no wrong booking at Cap Maison. If you're looking for a place that will have a lot of activities for the kids, a long beach, a variety of restaurants on property and the like, then keep looking 'cause Cap Maison ain't it.

My wife and I keep saying that we've been spoiled now and our next vacation location will undoubtedly pale in comparison. We truly enjoyed our one-week stay at Cap Maison and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc63Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
949 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,178 reviews
19.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,271 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range: $319 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a lovingly created, family owned and managed five star boutique resort combining great attention to detail with a highly personalized style of service. Set in a stunning location above a beautiful secluded sandy beach on the north west coast of St Lucia, it offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools, as well as Junior Suites and rooms. Facilities include the much sought after Cliff at Cap panoramic fine dining restaurant as well as the equally famous Naked Fisherman Beach Bar & Grill, a spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing