We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10th anniversary paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10th anniversary paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

my wife and i went to cap maison for our tenth wedding anniversary. what a great place!! great rooms, great food, and great staff!! we felt very well taken care of. we stayed in a 1 bedroom with a rooftop pool and a great view of the caribean. we could see martinique from the rooftop! we enjoyed both places to eat on the property; cliff at cap and the naked fisherman.

Room Tip: get a room with a rooftop pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4241jmhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you choosing Cap Maison and St Lucia to celebrate your 10th Wedding Anniversary

It was great to read that you both had such a great time with us and we very much look forward to your return at some point in the future

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    114
    50
    8
    3
See reviews for
84
517
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Back to reality yesterday from this beautiful RESORT. This was our dream honeymoon (& we're 58 & 64!) When brought into our room, and the veranda doors opened..I cried! So beautiful! Kudos to Mr. Stevenson (Mgr) for a staff that's helpful and always smiling. They genuinely care that guests are happy, & were all knowledgeable, & professional in appearance & demeanor. It tells you something when staff remembers you by name. Special thanks to all front desk ladies (one in particular..Frangellia??sp?), Shattal in the spa, and all wait staff at The Cliff. Food there = FABULOUS. Sea bass is non-paralleled (and we're from Louisiana folks..we know seafood!) We didn't find it really overpriced. Breathtaking views at every turn; clean, a floral paradise. We had no problem with mosquitoes (& they usually love me). ? My only tiny negatives..our room had no floor length mirror..is it like that in every room? Maids: remember to refresh small towels, cream & cups daily (& we had no spoon). Open-ness of the veranda door/windows allows noise in (our neighbors in Bldg/Rms. 26, etc. kept us awake for 2 nights despite us & others complaining). As far as St. Lucia itself, we did most of the tours/events. "Flavours of the Grill" was just ok. 'The Edge' has to be experienced. WORLD CLASS FOOD & such a view. Great steak @ Big Chef Steakhouse, tho decor needs updating. For trip to/from airport, rent a private car thru Timms (?) for $100 instead of a bus that stops @ every hotel. Ziplining was a lifetime experience and you get to see the forest; horseback ride into the ocean was fun & inexpensive; Yacht tour to Soufrere/snorkeling was 'ok'..a bit long of a ride. I do advise that you leave time to just RELAX & not cram it all in. But overall, the stay at Cap de Maison was the best choice for us!! Will return!!

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room on the second floor..not having a pool in your room doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us and it was lovely to meet you both

Thank you for your comments on our staff and how you were treated and Francilla was delighted to see her name in lights on Trip Advisor!

It was great that you managed to get out and about and see more of the island and its restaurants - it’s always a good thing to contribute to the local economy in that way

We very much hope that you will make the journey again in the future so that we will have the opportunity of looking after you once more

Kind Regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Cap Maison is really special. From arrival to departure the staff are attentive and so friendly. The rooms are tastefully furnished with balconies to admire the sea or garden view. We were fortunate to have an apartment size room, including a wonderful roof top terrace and our own swimming pool. The restaurant is perched above the blue sea, with views towards Pigeon Point. The meals provided were excellent quality and Craig Jones the Executive chef provided us with imaginative vegetarian options. The gardens are full of tropical plants all well established and beautifully maintained. It will be lovely to return one day.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own quality, whether looking towards the sae or the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time post your review following your holiday spent with us Cap Maison

It was great to read that you had a good time with us and Chef Craig thanks you for your comments concerning the food at The Cliff and The Naked Fisherman

We do hope that you will be able to make it for a return visit in the future

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We came home last weekend, having travelled as a couple, but friends also joined us. We stayed for 7 nights & upgraded to a sea view room. Both couples were then upgraded further to a sea view villa, both with private plunge pools. Ours was room 1, right next to the restaurant. |We were not disturbed by any noise at any point.
We took the half board option - fabulous breakfasts, eggs cooked to order as you would expect, & 3 course dinner included, but no drinks. The dinner selection was delicious, with frappe in between courses, a lovely touch, although as one might expect from 5*.
When being shown our room, the Manager pointed out the mosquito repellent, just wish he had advised its use instantly!! I obviously taste great, as I had 58 bites by the first morning!! The hotel also provided bite relief spray - thank you!!
Not sure it is a resort for children at all, although the staff were very good with the toddlers that were there.
The beach is lovely, The Naked Fisherman is not open every night, so do be sure to check that & be seated by about 6 if you want to eat there & watch the sunset. Great lunches & delicious dinners there too, again dinners included in our package, but no drinks.
I honestly don't have any complaints at all, we had a fabulous holiday, staff & resort really do live up to the 5 *

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Sally

Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us and it lovely to also meet your friends who travelled with you

Fantastic to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us and you typified our tag line for The Naked Fisherman - "plan for an hour and end up staying all day" and you certainly found your spot on the beach!

We very much hope that you will make a return visit to St Lucia and Cap Maison

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We just returned from five nights at the beautiful Cap Maison in St. Lucia. The resort is very well laid out high on cliff looking over the Caribbean. It was very relaxing. All of the staff very warm and helpful. The restaurants are very good. The beach may be a challenge for some people as there are a lot of stairs. The rooms have very nice décor and are spacious. The drive from the airport is the only negative, it's long ride on tough road. If you want quite relaxing first class resort this is the place. Looking for all night disco and dancing games at the pool go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joekonli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us and like you said a great way to shake off winter - especially the one you have had this year!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to have you return in the future

With Kind Regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

After reading all the wonderful reviews about this resort my boyfriend and I were ecstatic to go on this trip however after arriving our high standards were not exactly met…

We booked our trip via air miles and stayed in the Garden Room Villa. We would not stay in this room again seeing as it was just too big for us (we never used the dining room) and would have much preferred an ocean view room, we tried to upgrade to one however the hotel claimed they were full.

We booked a ‘luxury transport’ from the airport to the hotel which was nice. Essentially an Escalade with cold beer and water…I had been to St. Lucia before and expected the windy roads and driving styles of the locals. Our driver was friendly and gave us a mini tour of the Island. This was a great experience and a wonderful way to start off our holiday.

We did not get an all-inclusive package seeing as I don’t drink alcohol but even if we had, the food is still VERY expensive and for very small portions. Instead we got a breakfast package but still...expensive, especially if you are on MDT and wanting to sleep in and miss breaky... Even with the all -inclusive package they charge you extra for the more delicious items on the menu such as the Rock shrimp etc. SO its about 6 of one and 1/2 dozen of the other. We are talking $15 USD for a burger about ¼ size of one you’d find in any North American restaurant. 5$ USD beer for a half pint etc… it was ~ 50 USD for lunch for one person and 200$ per couple for dinner (no alcohol). There are only two restaurants on the premises, and priced at about the same. The Cliff serves a buffet breakfast (most delicious cut up fruit you will ever taste), lunch, and dinner and ‘the Naked Fisherman’ which is the beach resto serves brunch, lunch, dunch (dinner/ lunch) and dinner. The Naked Fisherman is open till 8 pm on Mon, Wed, Fri, and till 11 pm on Tues, Thus, Sat. So when they say 'not open for dinner' they are provided you eat before 8pm. The food was really delicious but left a bad taste in our mouths as it was just too expensive for the amount they were charging. The closest town is Rodney bay, about 15 minutes away by taxi ($30 USD round trip including tip). It has a bunch of touristy restaurants which are more reasonably priced and much more suitable portions! I also think you can have the option of having breakfast in your room free of charge with the breakfast package but just double check this with the hotel.

We also got a ‘ starter fridge package’ (150$ USD) but if we were to go back we would not do this. The items came in the format that a chef might use in a large kitchen, not in personal individual sizes that you would normally find in a local super market. We also asked for ‘Foie Gras’ and they gave us a massive amount and not upon arrival, nor on the day they specified it would arrive. Rather, I had to call and remind them we had in fact ordered it and we got it two days before our departure and therefore couldn't eat all of it and it was a massive waste. If you are arriving mid-afternoon from Toronto (like we were) simply grab dinner at the Naked Fisherman. It’s on the beach and a meal there + an exotic drink in hand just says ‘vacation’ to me. If you do get a villa/ room with a full kitchen just take a taxi (30 USD round trip including tip) from the Hotel into Rodney bay on your first day and go to the supermarket which is very reasonably priced seeing as locals shop there. Then you have a larger selection of what it is you want and at far better prices. The hotel also gives you a full kitchen with all the amenities you could every need so it is entirely possible to cook a delicious gourmet meal with your significant other.

As was mentioned by other reviews the plumbing needs work. The water temperature would switch to very hot or very cold at a moments notice making for an exhilarating shower. The fixtures in the shower need to be replaced... The bath products by Acqua Di Parma however, are a lovely touch.

Mosquito were a problem as I got eaten alive. I had been to St.Lucia in the past and never experienced this before so this is a problem with the hotel. The need to eliminate all standing water.

Overall the hotel is gorgeous. Very well-manicured and breath taking views. The beach is amazing. Its small and has a long stretch of waste –shoulder deep water allowing for a lovely relaxing dip in the ocean. It also has great snorkeling! There are no private beaches in St. Lucia however, so be ready to see some locals and be mindful there is the odd peddler. The main pool by the hotel has very comfy lounge chairs though the staff are not as attentive as they should be at a resort of this stature in my opinion.

The staff overall is pretty friendly but can be a bit stand-off ish. Watch closely for prices as the honesty shop sold me 50$ USD bath salts (about ¼ pound). I thought it was priced in Caribbean dollars but it wasn't! Also, there is no need to tip! There is already a 10% service charge included in everything! If you feel the service was amazing add 8% or 5% more but not 15% as we were doing...We ended up paying the bill in full i.e. not contesting a thing in the end as everything was charged to the room and we probably didn't have to…

St. Lucia is a beautiful Caribbean Island and this is a very nice hotel if you’re on your honey moon, of the older age group, and/or want something relaxing but the prices are a bit ridiculous… if you are mindful of your budget and eat in your room/in Rodney Bay then the trip is most like fine. I’ve also stayed at the Windjammer Landing and for the same price you could probably stay in the penthouse there…and in my opinion this perhaps not quite as beautiful as Cap Maison but still very close and for a far superior price (and no mosquitos)!

Things to do:

Because we booked via air miles with Air Canada we did an 'Air Canada' day tour which the rep sold to us as luxury when it in fact was not... During our stay the hotel was offering excursions on their Yacht at considerably reduced prices (about 200$ per person) and we wished we had done this instead. We did take a helicopter ride back to the airport which we highly recommend as it considerably lengthened our time at the hotel (luggage has to be down by 10 am but just select your bathing suit and departure outfit, you can take a purse and carry on on the helicopter). The helicopter ride is slightly nerve racking but gorgeous views and you get to the airport in 15 minutes skipping all the windy roads. You also want to minimize your time in the airport as the departure zone has mediocre places to eat and tacky touristy shops as well as well over priced 'duty free' goods and no where to sit. So take a 2pm or 1:30 pm helicopter ride for a 3 pm departure.

Last but not least I did accidentally leave my electric toothbrush and clarisonic face washer there and the hotel failed to notify me of this. I only realized it after I unpacked and emailed them about its whereabouts 3 days later. They emailed back saying they had it and are charging me 90$ USD to send it back to me. I was a) disappointed they didn't send me an email notifying me I had left some items behind b) disappointed they didn't offer to cover this charge seeing as we were extremely generous with tips etc during our stay (we tipped on top so we left 25-28% tips). It shows them as stingy which is not so classy in my opinion.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexmprieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you both very much for travelling all the way from Calgary, Canada to come and stay with us at Cap Maison, St Lucia

I am delighted you enjoyed the stunning views and manicured gardens, the beautiful beach and that you think the hotel is gorgeous. We do take great care to maintain the property to high standards so that it matches our stunning location.

I am glad that you mentioned the arrival and the quality of the cars and drivers that we use and I do agree that the journey is more of an introduction to the island

I am sorry that there were a couple of areas of disappointment. Pricing is always a subjective issue and we always benchmark ourselves against other restaurants in the area to ensure that we are competitive and we do fall in line with other high end restaurants in the area - as you mentioned The Naked Fisherman gives an alternative to the more "fine dining" Cliff at Cap Restaurant and the pricing at The Naked Fisherman reflects this also.

We only use the best possible ingredients for our food, we undertake year round maintenance of the property and as you pointed out we use products such as Aqua di Parma and we make great efforts to ensure maximum comfort and service for our discerning guests and this is also reflected in our pricing

We have recently changed the company that provided pest control and we have seen marked improvement in the reduction of mosquitoes within the resort and I apologize that they proved to be a nuisance to you.

Your forgotten items - it is generally a policy of all hotels not to contact guests who have left items - unless it was of significant value - as ownership cannot always be established in this way - I believe that you were provided with the cost for the return of your items which you asked us to ship for you - I do not believe this to be unreasonable given the circumstances


Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and so well laid out that we hardly saw another soul except at meals. There is a wonderful, romantic, secluded feel. The gardens and beach are immaculate and the Groundskeeper is very friendly and obviously proud of his work. The rest of the staff is amazing as well. Everyone was so joyful and kind. Not one failed to greet us with a kind word or do their best to make us happy. We felt very welcome. However, that is where it ends.
The rooms are cute but the beds are not tempurpedics as stated on the website, the tvs are outdated, the water pressure is horrible and the water temp is impossible to control. There is a complimentary rum drink in your room but it is provided in a previously used rum bottle hence the broken safety seal. The sound of the ocean is wonderful but the birds that chirp all day and night make sleep on your lumpy Sealy mattress almost impossible.
The portions are tiny which would have been ok if the food was good or the cost reasonable. Breakfast is a buffet however the quality is terrible and the selection is very limited. The coffee, I suspect based on the sludge at the bottom of every cup was instant. The fruit was ok but seeds in the watermelon? Not classy.
Be sure to check your bill closely. There is a daily "donation" to the tourism fund that is added to your bill. They don't mention it so if you don't ask it to be removed you are paying it.
The ride is 2 hours from the airport, we were expecting 1 hour however, we were not expecting the twisting roads of questionable safety. Therefore we had to leave so many hours before our flight home to make sure we would be on time. So we lost most of our last day. My husband and I thought they should provide water transport from the airport. It would be a lovely way to see the island and relax after your flight.
If there was a paradise resort at the end of the journey, we would return every year. This is just not the case so we will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you very much for writing your review following your stay with us

Thank you also for recognizing our staff and I think that your description of “joyful and kind” pretty much sums up St Lucians in general - our gardeners were really pleased that you recognized their hard work

Nature can be confusing sometimes - birds during the day and tree frogs at night – thank you for pointing out the inaccuracy of the bed type on our website and this has now been changed and I am sorry that your sleep was not as comfortable as it should have been

Definitely some work for us to focus on with regards to the consistency elements of breakfast - I did want to point out that we use a freshly ground Arabica bean from Costa Rica for our coffee - I will leave the water melon to individual taste

The Tourism Enhancement Fund is a US$2 per night voluntary contribution and a letter is provided which gives information to what the fund is used for - for example when St Lucia experienced a freak storm on December 24th 2013 - donated monies were used to refurbish a badly damaged primary school in Canaries

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.6 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Property: Cap Maison
Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, West Indies, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing