We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
northampton, england
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was a relaxing week's holiday after a very busy few months. The hotel is fantastic. We were upgraded to a villa and waking up every morning and having our breakfast on the terrace with the sea was out of this world. My partner had a little problem with mosquitoes but the hotel sorted this out as soon as we informed them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrob_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for writing your review following your week’s holiday spent with us

It was wonderful to read that you had a great well earned break and thank you again for choosing Cap Maison and St Lucia

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    117
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
84
533
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 3rd March 2013 for 7 nights and this was our first family trip following the birth of our baby girl, who at the time of this trip was 7 months old.

The hospitality and attention to detail provided by this hotel started from the outset, prior to our arrival to St Lucia from the UK.

The hotel organised transfers for us which included a safe baby car seat, and they provided us on our arrival a new baby steriliser, a baby bath tub, and upgraded our junior suite with an ocean view to a villa suite with a swimming pool and an ocean view.

We were overwhelmed by their thoughtfulness.

The level of service both in the room and in the Cliff restaurant was outstanding and extremely prompt. From giving us mosquito nets, to fixing and replacing our DVD player.

The hotel has a "Honesty" shop where we acquired lovely souvenirs to take back home, in addition to those souvenirs we acquired from Castries, and the market there including banana ketchup!

We would recommend trying the Mahi Mahi fish burger with beetroot, onions and cheese at the Cap Maison Naked Fisherman beach bar.

We enjoyed eating in Rodney Bay, 10 minutes away from the hotel, where we tried fly fish with chips at the Charthouse restaurant.

This restaurant has got a lovely view over the bay with rocking yachts at sunset and a great ambience.

We went to Gros Islet on Friday night to a "jump up" street party with stalls selling barbecued fish which you can eat of plastic plates.
Giant loudspeakers belt out Caribbean beats, but take extra care if you dislike dogs.

We wish to thank all those at the Cap Maison, especially Wendy from the Cliff restaurant for her smile every morning at breakfast, Kristal for her thoughtfulness, and Keizah and Daie for their help.

The hotel and it's staff helped to ease our anxieties of being away from home with our 7 month old daughter and made us feel at home!

Regards

Ismail

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abcdefghijkllismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review following you stay with us and I am delighted that you had a lovely time with us in St Lucia

I know that it can sometimes be challenging travelling with a little one and I am pleased that the little items prepared for you helped you all enjoy your stay and it was great that you managed to get out and about into the wider community also

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have just returned from a seven-night stay at Cap Maison. We chose the hotel because we wanted an upmarket, smallish property with a beach nearby which we hoped would offer personalised service and which promised superb food. And Cap Maison definitely delivered.

As others have commented, the Spanish-style architecture is highly attractive, the gardens are delightful and immaculately maintained, the views are nothing short of stunning and the beach represents the delightful Caribbean cove that dreams are made of (the much talked about 100 steps were no great deal for us - merely a pleasant way of either working off a nice lunch down at the beach or working up an appetite for dinner - and we're not exactly in the first bloom of youth!). The standards of cuisine - both at The Cliff and at The Naked Fisherman certainly also lived up to expectations. We were therefore very pleased to have chosen Cap Maison.

However, if nothing short of an absolutely five star hotel experience will do - with all the fawning service, obsessive attention to detail and luxurious in-room accoutrements that this implies, (and of course the attendant price tag), then you may be a little disappointed. To some eyes the rooms will seem 'a little tired' and certainly our bathroom was not huge but the room had a charm that is often missing elsewhere and the bed was very comfortable indeed. (I also think we were upgraded from the standard Garden Room we booked so thanks Cap Maison for that). From time to time there were also a few minor glitches with service but in some ways this is in keeping with the laid back ethos of the Caribbean.

Food is indeed fairly expensive but the quality of the cooking means it does represent good value for money. Our only criticism would be that you don't always want a fine dining - particularly if you've been staying for more than three or four nights. So, as the Naked Fisherman is only open in the evenings on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, if you do want simpler fare, you are obliged to take a taxi into Rodney Bay.

All in all, though, Cap Maison offers all the necessary ingredients for a very enjoyable stay in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room on a first floor to enjoy better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us

It was great to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us and enjoyed our restaurants and thanks very much for recommending us - it is very much appreciated

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Cap Maison is a luxury resort that is secluded, private and beautiful. The grounds are surrounded by captivating views of the ocean. There is a private beach which is located next to the resort down a few stairs (there are quite a few stairs so be prepared).

The french inspired design resort is absolutely stunning. The grounds are covered is luscious colourful gardens very well maintained and manicured. There are a few places around the resort which you can sit and enjoy the spectacular views with a few drinks in hand.

You have access to two restaurants on the resort, The Cliff and The Naked Fisherman. Both offer high quality standard food. The Cliff restaurant was our favourite with a large menu to choose from every night if you wanted to stay on the resort. We had buffet breakfast included in our package and we loved the huge variety available including omelettes made on the spot for you.

The staff at the resort have made our stay at the resort very special. They are extremely polite, friendly and prepared to help you in any way. We came to Cap Maison for our honeymoon and upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne and a bottle on ice waiting for us in our room.

We had our own tour of the wine cellar at the resort with staff member Robinson who was fantastic and very knowledgeable. We really enjoyed this activity and would certainly recommend it to anyone who was keen to try a variety of wines from around the world.

Cap Maison is located on the northern part of the island. Activities can be arranged by the resort staff for you to do on a daily basis. We were advised that to drive to Soufriere with a taxi would take approximately 90 mins by car and is quite expensive. So we avoided leaving the resort and enjoyed our stay here.

We cannot thank the resort and staff enough for such a memorable stay. We would certainly recommend a stay here and look forward to returning as soon as we can.

Room Tip: If your budget allows it, choose a room with an ocean view - amazing! Won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us and I am delighted that you chose Cap Maison for your honeymoon

Thank you for highlighting the way you were cared for by our staff and we are blessed to have them - the majority of which have been with us since we opened in 2009 - Robinson in particular is passionate about his wines and as you experienced he is simply a great person

We do hope to welcome you back to St Lucia and Cap Maison in the future

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Cap Maison has beautiful grounds, and a hard-to-beat location. FANTASTIC beach, good food offerings, service is hit-and-miss. Rooms are comfortable, needs some upgrades, but not bad. Beds are comfortable, but the bed linens are not up to par.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlienCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at Cap Maison

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you loved the beach - with the new addition of The Naked Fisherman restaurant down there it does help to while away the hours

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed at Cap Maison during a recent trip. I was entertaining for a company at The Landings.

So Pluses. The View. Breath taking. The Beach, one of the best beaches I have been to in the world. The landscaping is beautiful and well kept. The Food is very good.

Minuses. Service was not very attentive. The rooms are tired and dated. The sheets .... Low Budget. Mosquitos were horrible at night.

Doing something to control the mosquitos and using high quality sheets would add one and a half stars and cost very little.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chorton702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us

It was great that you enjoyed the location, food and beach environment of Cap Maison

I would love to discuss the service issues you mentioned and if you have time please reach out to me at ross@capmaison.com

I am surprised by your comment on bed linen as we use a high quality Egyptian cotton with a 260 thread count sheet (I find anything higher than this becomes a little chalky and squeaky -if you know what I mean

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us during your business meeting in St Lucia

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Cap Maison is easily the nicest place we've stayed in the Caribbean. It has a small resort feel; all of the staff know you and treat you like family. At the same time, the amenities are what you would find in a much larger place. The Cliff at Cap Restaurant is outstanding with an interesting menu and very nice wine list. The Naked Fisherman beach bar and grill is great for lunch or a very casual dinner. There's a nice workout facility that is rarely crowded given the intimacy of the resort. The spa facility is first rate as well. The entire resort is beautifully landscaped and the views are outstanding. My wife and I just returned from our second trip to Cap Maison and we're already planning another vacation there, perhaps with our large family. All in all, I would highly recommend this resort for a very private and exceptional getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_mckaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs McKaig

Thank you very much for choosing to return to Cap Maison, St Lucia and I am delighted that you enjoyed your second visit with us

It is wonderful that you are now planning a third trip with your family and it will be great to welcome you all back to Cap Maison

Kind Regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
937 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.9 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,163 reviews
19.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Property: Cap Maison
Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, West Indies, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing