We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise”
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Everything about this hotel, the staff, the service and the facilities was perfect except that the private beach was only accessible by 100 steps down the cliff - a was a major disadvantage to those not really up to heavy effort. The problem was made worse by ther fact that the beach restaurant had a much larger and varied menu than the one in the hotel grounds. The scenery was truly spectacular.

Room Tip: Get a room or a villa with a sea view, it is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    118
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
85
533
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at both Sugar Beach and Cap Maison for 4 days each. We much preferred Sugar Beach's service, food & accommodations and found it to be surprisingly less expensive.
At Cap Maison, we had an Oceanview Villa Suite with pool and roof terrace
Cap Maison positive points: Sunsets were beautiful; massages in spa were incredible, market tour and cooking lesson were great.
Adjust your expectations for the following: "private" rooftop pool and terrace can be seen by other villas, and only the bedroom and bath are air conditioned. Although pretty in pictures, I found the decor to appear tired/dated in real life. I definitely needed the bug spray and wished we had mosquito netting over the bed.
I know this seems petty, but they had no mint for mojitos all 4 days even though their cocktail menu had a big section describing all the different types of mojitos they offered. AND, we were still unable to get one after the cook bought mint at the market with us.
Overall, Cap Maison is a nice facility but the value is not there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollTide2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just returned from Cap Maison and our first trip to the Caribbean, the room, food, staff were all excellent. There were a couple of things that weren't quite right, one night we had to wait over an hour to get seated for dinner even though we booked it for 8.00, but that was the exception and it didn't spoil our perception of the hotel. The beach was beautiful, turquoise sea and soft sand with a few rocks, it was shaded in parts but that suited us as we don't like sitting in full sun all day, you could move into the sun if you wanted. The beach bar was nice to go to for a drink or lunch and you could have dinner there on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. We found the meals were better in the hotel restaurant. We would have a nice rum punch in the late afternoon watching the sun go down by the pool. We had a lively evening at the street party at Gros Islet on Friday night, and visited Marigot Bay and Castries. We got about by taxi, or you would need a car if you wanted to eat out but as we were all inclusive we ate at the hotel. Most meals were excellent, we had a couple which weren't so good but again it did not detract from our overall impression. We did feel the menu could be a bit more varied especially if you are eating at the hotel every day. The tapas lunch was particularly good and the seafood excellent. The gardens were very well kept and there were a variety of birds to see, interesting to see the little humming birds speedily flying from flower to flower. All in all be had a wonderful time and may well go back in the future.

Room Tip: Worth having the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz4858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was my second time to stay at Cap Maison. The staff is still as great as I remember from 4 years ago. You can't beat the sunsets sitting at the bar or in the beautiful pool. What I like about this hotel is how private it feels. It has it's own beach and the grounds are fully gated. Loved my room and the bathroom, though I have to admit I didn't spend much time in my room. Great restaurant with just great food. I just love the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecolonel1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have been fortunate to eat at some great places over my years and thus for me to say the food here is excellent means it is a very high standard indeed. I found the food to be by far the best aspect of this hotel although in most other respects things were also good or better. The Cliff restaurant and also the Naked Fisherman bar served up great meals so if going here I would not plan to eat out at all.
Other highs are the large rooms which in my case came with great views onto the ocean , lovely gardens, discrete but obvious (if you can say that) security, a willingness to help and a cosy atmosphere.
If I was to go again, which I may well do, then I would not opt for the room with a Jacuzzi option, instead going either for no water feature and use the very nice main pool more or pay extra for the dedicated swimming pool option.
Room service / turn down was good when it happened but not perhaps always the most reliable , (a little Caribbean in happening) but you felt confident that if it bothered you then one call would fix most anything. Indeed the overall staff attitude, bearing in mind this is island life, was pretty dam good.
Talking with other tourists at the airport on the way back I feel confident we did at least as well and probably a lot better choosing Cap Maison than some of the bigger names on the island so all in , very good.

Room Tip: You need to wake up and see the sea, don;t book without a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The reviews don't lie and this property truly distinguishes itself from the rest. From the moment you step foot on the property, prepare for beauty, quiet, refinement and the best dining experiences i have ever experienced at a hotel. The car transfer from the airport, arranged by the hotel, was superb. Check-in was seamless and effortless. The rooms are spacious and have everything you need. The rooms are rustic spanish in design and if you are disappointed, you should just leave now and don't bother staying here. With all the beauty that surrounds this property, you won't want to stay in your room anyway. The pools are quiet, the staff attentive, and the food is truly amazing and a work or art - more on the food in my other posting. One small issue with our room was taken care of immediately and even the Food and Beverage Manager was made aware of our issue. Not every place is perfect, but its the way in which you deal with an issue that counts and the mgmt team at cap maison were professional, courteous, and delivered on their promise. Way to turn a very small negative into a positive! The hotel is quiet, calm and a surprise lurks behind every corner. The beach is secluded, private and calming. Exactly what i needed after my work week of hell and a tremendous wedding. I'll post final thoughts at the end of the honeymoon. So far a 10+ or 5+star

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The setting is beautiful, lovely view from the restaurants and from the pool. The beach restaurant was excellent, great food and service however the main restaurant had incredibly slow service. We once had to wait for 30 mins for a table! The rooms were always clean and the hotel was always quiet at night.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
923 reviews
10.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
19.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Property: Cap Maison
Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing