We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Weekend”
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I traveled to St. Lucia on a weekend getaway with friends. We checked into Cap Maison on the day of their annual re-opening theme party and from the arrival at the airport to the greeting at the hotel, we experienced a level of service that is superior and so refreshing. This trend continued throughout the entire visit. The party offered a spectacular vibe and within hours the tranquil sophisticated opulence was swiftly returned by a team of dedicated staff offering the perfect backdrop for pure relaxation bliss. The rooms, gardens and surroundings were spectauclar and the views are amazing. The food at the resturants was verstile and delicious. We intend to be make it an annual visit!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessPess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you very much for joining us for our 5th Anniversary Party at Cap Maison and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us

Now that you know that we are not too far from Antigua we look forward to welcoming you both back to St Lucia and Cap Maison

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 762 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I traveled to St. Lucia for our honeymoon in March 2013. This was the first trip to the Caribbean for the both of us and we were beyond impressed. It was a haul from Dallas, Texas - but SO worth it. The second we pulled up to the hotel, the GM was waiting to greet us and the staff was beyond polite and accommodating. We were shown to our amazing room looking out over the cliff to the water - breathtaking. There was a cocktail reception that night for guests (they do weekly) which was an amazing way to start our trip. We met other couples staying at the resort and had a great time!

The grounds are breathtaking, each small building of rooms feels intimate, we were truly at a boutique hotel. Views of the small private beach, pigeon island, and even Martinique on a clear day were amazing. With around 50 rooms, there is an amazing feeling of privacy that you have when you stay here - this whole place feels like yours! And it is what you make it. We made friends with a few couples here that we will treasure the fun dinners and sunset cruise we spent with them! We would lounge on our patio, pool and loved the secluded beach and bar just a few steps down from the property. We used the car service at the hotel to get around everywhere, which is so much nicer than having to be responsible for a rental car.

We were on an all-inclusive package, which I was hesitant about because I have never opted in for this, and I assumed it would be this same-old buffet that we would be tired of in a couple days. Boy, were we wrong. The menu here was fabulous - we didn't want to venture anywhere else on the island for food! Some nights would be tapas, pre-fixed dinners, wine pairings night, etc. We felt like we were dining at a five star restaurant every night. And to show that the Cliff at Cap restaurant is this amazing - guests from all over the island come here for reservations - it's not just Cap Maison's guests. Thank you to the chef here for an amazing dining experience. And can I say...we miss plantain chips, actually anything with plantains!

I have to thank the GM Ross as well. He went above and beyond when I had an allergic reaction to mosquito bites. (I guess you can't go to the Caribbean without having an encounter with bugs!) When you are in a different country and don't have access to everything, having a staff at the hotel that is accommodating as they are at Cap Maison is beyond comforting.

After our week long trip, we love this place! And we 100% plan on coming back in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saratowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with other potential visitors to Cap Maison and I am delighted that you enjoyed your Honeymoon spent with us

I think that you have also captured the social aspect of Cap Maison and what it can offer to visitors that enjoy meeting people

Thanks for the feedback on Craig's cooking and we are just in the process of opening up a second restaurant on the beach which will be called "The Naked Fisherman" - something new for you to try when you return to St Lucia!

We do hope to see you both back in the near future

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Please forgive my love affair with the Cap Maison, or don't. Either way, I can not recommend enough that you rest your head here when visiting the gorgeous island of St. Lucia.

Cap Maison is located on the northern-most point of St. Lucia on the cliffs of Cap Estate and boasts not only incredible views of pigeon island and the Caribbean, but incredible food, service and ambiance. We used the car service the hotel suggested and we're entertained the entire 1.5 hour trip up the coast and through Castries.

Our room had a private plunge pool, incredible views and was stocked with a complimentary bottle of Cap Maison's famous Rum Punch (which is incredible) as well as a bottle of Champagne to welcome us.

Our honeymoon package included a candlelight dinner on Cap Rock (this is where you are served by the champagne zipline), breakfast made to order daily, a complimentary bottle of champagne, a sunset cruise on the hotel's charter boat, a champagne brunch and a couples massage. We took advantage of every amenity and cannot speak highly enough about the level of skill, service and attention to detail we received in each experience.

The food at The Cliff was incredible. We loved the Beach Bar (who doesn't love a Cap Maison rum punch while floating in the Caribbean?) I could go on and on...

In a nutshell. as a honeymooner you can not pick a better location to recharge after a wedding. There are 49 rooms on property- which means that you wont find the crowds that some of the other island resorts have.

So book here, you wont be sorry you did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us

It was great to read that you such a wonderful time and it’s great that you have fallen in love with Cap Maison - as we have since its inception in December 2008

We very much hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I ended our honeymoon in St. Lucia at Cap Maison and it was pure bliss. We spent half the holiday in the southern town of Soufriere, going zip lining and snorkeling and hiking, so our last few days at Cap Maison were purely about relaxation. Staff were incredibly friendly, food at the restaurant was delicious, and our massive room had its own private roof terrace with a hot tub - ideal for sunset viewing. We spent all of our time in the room and at the pool and were perfectly content. We'd love to come back for a future anniversary!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review and it wonderful that you made your way all the way from Dubai to spend your Honeymoon with us at Cap Maison

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent with us and thank you very much for choosing us for such a special occasion

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just returned from our honeymoon at Cap Maison and we would highly recommend this resort to other couples! This luxurious and private resort was the perfect retreat. We were upgraded to a suite and the staff was incredibly accomodating throughout the week, and were quick to ask us how we enjoyed what we did each day and truly became like friends by the end of the week. The food at The Cliff was divine; the service is very slow and relaxed so some evenings we ordered to eat on the veranda in our room since we were so tired! August is off-season so we only shared the pools with other people twice all week, and it made for a very quiet and private stay. The concerige booked The Best of St. Lucia tour for us, and managed to get us tickets to the St. Lucia vs. Barbados cricket match which was a great experience! The chef made lunch in our villa one day which was fun. The massages in the spa were wonderful, too. They also hired a driver to take us to the St. Lucia Golf Club, the Castries Market, and even for a beer run to the supermarket to stock our fridge! We had a few small issues with our stove having trouble staying hot, or the fridge leaking and the shower head needing a tweak when we arrived, but they were prompt with service calls. The private beach is gorgeous, flanked by the cliffs, and the snorkeling is fantastic - huge sea urchins just a few hundred yards from the beach! We also enjoyed the fun staff and amazing grilled food at the beach bar, and enjoyed the free use of the kayaks and sailboat. The steps down to the beach are steep but it's worth the trip! One watch out is that the best seat in the house for dinner is the lower deck over the cliff, BUT be prepared to butter up with bug spray. We were eaten alive a few nights, but didn't realize it until we were back in our room. We would love to return to this gorgeous resort!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for you review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Cap Maison.

We are expanding our beach facilities (slightly) and will have more options for lunch and dinner which we hope will provide a lovely alternative to the stunning location of The Cliff at Cap restaurant

Great to read that you would like to return and we look forward to welcoming you both back!

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first time to the Caribbean and we'll definitely be back!! We'd heard great things about Cap Maison and we certainly weren't disappointed. Kristal couldn't do enough to help us on the logistics of travelling with two young children and we were delighted to find the room(s) perfectly equipped for a young family (including the food and nappies we ordered in advance!).

The hotel staff were fantastically attentive, the service was on the whole first-class and they were excellent with our two children. If I was being super-critical the service was at times 'laid back' but this was more than made up by the warmth of the staff, particularly at the bar / restaurant who were brilliant.

I couldn't fault our room(s) which combined just the right balance of home comforts and Caribbean style. The food was excellent. The breakfast (which we invariably took in our room) was everything you would expect and the resuarant food was excellent (good veggie options for my wife and the fish Roti at lunchtime was to die for!).

While the hotel has an excellent private beach (accessed down some steps at the side of the hotel) it doesn't have the white sand experience that some may want. If you want that then take a day trip to the Landings hotel which we did for two days - a beautiful beach and water sports setting but not quite the 'experience' of Cap Maison.

We'll definitely be back!!

A beautiful setting overlooking the sea was complemented by two fantastic pools (neither of which was ever busy) and excellent facilities, the gym

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us and I am very pleased that you found Paradise in St Lucia!!

It was great to read that the resort provided you and your family with a great vacation and it is also lovely that you would choose to return to Cap Maison for a future vacation - we are delighted!

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a great trip to Cap Maison the week of June 17th 2013. For perspective on my review, we have also stayed at Anse Chastanet and multiple other high-end all-inclusives in the Carribbean (i.e. the Excellence resorts).

Our room was a suite with private pool on the ground level, on top of the bluff that overlooks the beach. This was a great location on the property and the room was perfect. The amenities (kitchen, etc.) were more than ample for our needs. The room was clean and comfortable. We loved to open the back doors and let the breeze through. Even though our pool was right on a small common area, we enjoyed a lot of privacy with a screen of tall plants and we rarely saw anyone walk by our pool area. I would recommend a room with private pool based on our experience, as the public pools are small with little privacy. Granted, we never saw the public pools crowded at any time!

Most importantly, the staff at Cap Maison was fantastic. The people are very kind, generous, helpful and generally focused on excellent service. One thing to note as that we are generally very friendly and outgoing ourselves, taking an honest interest in the people we meet and asking about their lives and families. This makes our experience much more rich and rewarding. At Cap Maison, this was a highlight of our trip, as we gained insight to the St. Lucian culture through these interactions. I think this honest person-to-person interaction contributed tremendously to the service we received. Try it and you might have the same experience.

My wife and I really wanted to focus on unplugging and relaxing this trip, so we spent every day relaxing on the beach, swimming in our pool, napping, snorkeling, kayaking, and chatting with the staff and guests. We are normally active and adventurous, but we chose to lay low at Cap Maison and we are glad we did. If you want some action, there are many opportunities to venture into town or take an excursion around the island (see side note below).

Beach and Beach Bar: Simple, casual. The beach is really nice, but remember it's not white sand here, and Cap Maison does not bring white sand in on trucks like some other St. Lucia resorts. The water is still clear and the snorkeling is decent. You have to go out 50 yards or so and "turn the corner" to get to the good stuff!

There were few, but enough, loungers and shade structures. No trouble for us finding a good spot. There is a kayak, sailboat, windsurfers, etc for your use.

The beach bar is simple and effective. Cold Pitons, fresh fruit drinks, etc. Try a small drink of the local spice rum. It is fantastic!

We really enjoyed hanging around and chatting with the staff on the beach: Charlene, Evans, Dunstan, Vanessa, Greg (Craig?)....they were all so friendly, professional and fun. Vanessa and Charlene were both very generous and insisted on sharing their home cooked lunch and homemade smoothies when I innocently inquired about their meals and culture. This is the type of friendliness and generosity I am talking about! These ladies are truly an asset to this resort, as are all of the other employees we encountered on the beach.

The food: We are generally foodies, cooking at home every night and enjoying nice restaurants often. My wife has high standards as she grew up in New Orleans. The meals here were fantastic and unique. Each night we had the opportunity to try something new, while still assured of having something familiar on the menu if we needed it. We loved every meal, from the daily breakfast room service that was cooked to order and delivered poolside to the elegant dinners at the Cliffs. At the beach bar for lunch, the preparation is very simple, with fresh fish, greens and fruit, but it is still perfect! Don't delay though, as there is often a limited amount of certain types of the fish for the day. I recommend trying both the beach bar and the restaurant for lunch.

A special call out to Sous Chef Nico. When we saw the creole tasting menu for dinner one night we asked a waitress whether they had the delicious St. Lucian creole red beans as part of the menu (wife is from New Orleans, remember?). She tracked down Nico the sous chef, who made a special effort AND a special trip to the store (probably with his own money) to prepare a delicious red beans dish later in the week especially for us. In conversation we learned he was most likely the cook at Anse Chastanet who initially exposed us to the St. Lucian version of this dish when we visited there for our honeymoon years ago. Small world. This little gem of coincidence was uncovered only due to the excellent service and generosity of the staff at Cap Maison. A nice touch and a great personal memory.

There is no real nightlife here at Cap Maison, as the restaurant bar shuts down between 10 and 11. By that time each night, we were ready to turn in anyway. They had some type of low-key live music in the restaurant every night, which provided a nice ambiance.

This place was perfect for what we wanted. If you want a big cheesy "do the group limbo" resort experience and night club action, there are better places for you. Cap Maison is perfect for relaxing, unwinding, pampering yourself and reconnecting as a couple or family.

A side note, we had great car transfer service from Janus Guyan's company, Real St. Lucian tours. We were lucky enough to have Janus himself drive us to/from Cap Maison. He is a young ambitious entrepreneur making a nice business for himself in the transfer and tour business. I would call him first for your transfer or if you want to take a tour/excursion around the island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you very much for posting your review following your stay with us at Cap Maison

Your review captures the essence of what we try to create and I agree with you that interaction with our staff is a great way to get a true feel of this wonderful island of St Lucia

We will be enlarging - slightly - our kitchen/grill on the beach and it would great to incorporate more "local" traditional lunch items which you came to enjoy

We very much hope to welcome you both back to Cap Maison in the future

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
969 reviews
10.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
13.9 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range: $344 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cap Maison 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a lovingly created, family owned and managed five star boutique resort combining great attention to detail with a highly personalized style of service. Set in a stunning location above a beautiful secluded sandy beach on the north west coast of St Lucia, it offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools, as well as Junior Suites and rooms. Facilities include the much sought after Cliff at Cap panoramic fine dining restaurant as well as the equally famous Naked Fisherman Beach Bar & Grill, a spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, West Indies, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing