We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigger portions ever, very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Drosostalia Tavern

Drosostalia Tavern
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Armeni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bigger portions ever, very good food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This tavern has many advantages and a very few disadvantages. First of all, is at a graphic and lovely village just 2km from the beach and 15 km from chania city and port. So, a lot of people prefer this place to enjoy their meals, couples, families, groups and friends. Also, locals prefer it because of the excellent location and good food. As a starter, i recommend a cretan salad with "mizithra cheese" and as a main plate schnitzel ala crem. Maybe these two dishes will be sufficient for two or more person. Therefore, value for many. Waiters are very typical and not so pleasant, so they have to work more on this. But an extra plus for this tavern is that after your meal, they offer you for free a small personal ice cream and some "cretan local raki" (cretan spirit).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Manos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    36
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Best tavern in Crete”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is probably the best tavern in Crete. The atmosphere is beautiful, as it is located in the center of the traditional village of Armenoi, under many trees, by a river and an old church. There is even a nice playground for your children, but the food... The food is amazing...meat is perfectly grilled and cretan dishes are amazingly delicious (try the staka with eggs plate, a taste to die for it...). The size of the portions are really huge, you have to see it to believe it, the service is very friently and the bill is a pleasant surprise. Excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank manasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Meat Excellence!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

After 10 visits to Crete, this was the first time to visit armeni area and Drosostalia Tavern.
The food was delicious and the portions were huge.
Food was cooked properly and meat was very fresh and tender.
For meat eaters this is one of the place that should pay a visit.
Suitable for couples with children since there is a "secured" playground with one exit/entrance.
Tables are located under trees and there is a small brook with running water , therefore (combined with trees) the temperature is lower.
Due to water there are mosquitoes ,therefore be prepared!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SPT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavalochori, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"large portions for country appetites!"”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Since we discovered Drosostalia in 2001 we have been visiting it 4-6 times a year as it's open all-year-round, unlike most in Kalive or Almyrida, and it is in sharp contrast to the touristy tavernas on the coast. Their salads are legendary mountains of veg dressed with your choice of lemon or vinegar, ask for a small one if you are a couple and you may just finish it as it's so delicious. Other dishes including brizola (pork chop) are real plate fillers and you must go there with a good appetite.
If you dine later on as the Greeks do, say 10-12pm, you may find a large highly voluble group of locals at the next table who will keep you amused and entertained and amazed that they can consume so much salad, lamb chops and chips. The waiters have been mentioned elsewhere, all I can say is the main chap has a very droll sense of humour that I find adds to the experience and his chum in the white belt & white shoes is a real character too. It's just a couple of miles inland from Kalives and well worth the drive/taxi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cretan_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My compiments to the chef, but not so much to the waiters”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We come to Armeni every summer to visit relatives who live there. Up until quite recently my very favourite restaurant was Drosostalia - it's less touristy than nearby Platanos, plus the food is fantastic - the best I have tried around Chania.
The athmosphere is very cozy with tables under big plane tree, a small stream circling the premises and small lights glowing in the evening. Surpisingly, no mosquitos in this part of the island.
Boiled octopus and schnitzel in mushroom sauce are among my favoruite dishes, the chef is doing an outstandingly good job! Also, complimentary deserts of small portioned ice creams, panna cotta or watermelons is a very neat touch.
The service, however, is very preferential. The last time we went there we ended up waiting for the bill for 45 minuter, and got it only after the 3rd and already irritated reminder. The only other table served at the time had a small group of tourists, and the water obviously expected a big tip from them, totally ignoring the two of us. We usually leave good tips, but that was the only time we didn't.
I wouldn't mind going there again, but only because food is so damn good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drosostalia Tavern also viewed

Armeni, Chania Prefecture
 
Kalyves, Apokoronas
Kalyves, Apokoronas
 

Been to Drosostalia Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing