We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service in comfortable surroundings.”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Wedmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Just had Sunday lunch here and couldn't fault the food or service.
Shame about all the missing artwork!! Some people will pinch fresh air if they
get the chance.
Seriously though myself and my wife would certainly reccomend the George and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

A late thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 86 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at The George Hotel the week after Easter and had a wonderful experience. Our family of seven (grandparents, parents, three children) thoroughly enjoyed our stay, from the friendly bar staff to the delicious dinner and breakfast. We would recommend The George as the perfect place to stay and daytrip to Bath, Cheddar, Glastonbury and others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for such a kind (and accurate!) review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and have you here. Best wishes for the remainder of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Drove past on way to a near by pub and noticed a sign saying real fires ! That was enough on a cold night for me ! What a place ! just as a country pub should be, clean,tidy warm with a maze of rooms, all with fires roaring away. The candles made us feel mellow and relaxed. It was very busy when we went on a Tuesday night so had to wait a short time for a table. But the wait was worth it as the food was amazing. I had dory and my partner had the steak , it was beautiful. The staff were friendly,polite and helpful in a non intrusive way ,that suits me fine as i cannot stand being fussed over. Just wish i lived in Somerset as I have visited a couple of places in the Bristol area and never been let down on food.....Somerset Rocks, and i will return one day soon. Next time I shall book a room as they look amazing on their website.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thanks Martha, I am glad you enjoyed it. Please let me know personally if you would like to stay and I will happily make the arrangements for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I live only a few miles from this pub and am very fond of it. It's decor is quirky and individual and, I think, suits the age of this ancient historic place with just a hint of a friendly ghost! The staff are smiling, good fun and friendly. The food is always great tasting with a contemporary, gastro-ey style and terrific value. Lovely garden to sit in during the summer too. I've also eaten at the 1760 pizza restaurant attached, which was very good and great for an event or celebration, but mostly end up at the pub for the cosy atmosphere and grub, especially the hand-cut chips!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for such nice comments. We need to know when we are wrong, but its always great to be told when we get it right too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We visited the George recently and enjoyed a delicious meal in wonderful surroundings, this place is a fine example of how a country pub should be. The waiter and waitress were very polite and made sure we had everything we needed. Unfortunately our evening was let down by the chef's wife, who obviously takes issue when women speak to her husband. It's a shame an otherwise pleasant evening was ruined.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finedineandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Hi,

Firstly I apologise for any upset caused to you from any member of staff. I am not currently aware of any problem occuring that you describe but would very much like to make contact to discuss it with you. If you wish, you could mail me at gordon@thegeorgewedmore.co.uk and it will come directly to me.

Secondly thank you for your otherwise positive review and the honesty you have displayed by not simply being negative about everything as sadly in the circumstances some people may. I am very glad you found things otherwise to your liking and only sorry that all did not end entirely well.

I very much look forward to having the opportunity to discuss this further with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

They've recently reopened the 1760 Pizza and Pasta restaurant that's attached to this delicious 16th Century pub. It's always quite difficult to decide which place to eat because the food from the restaurant's chef Richard Sampson is absolutely delicious. We had my sister from France staying over the New Year and I found I had invited 16 people to lunch on New Year's Day. I didn't particularly want to cook masses of food and I'm sure none of them wanted a huge meal, so we ordered takeaway pizzas - three different kinds; the 1760 was really scrummy with hot chillis, chicken and meatballs, the Mexican had a delicious bbq sauce and the vegetarian was full of scrummy vegetables. I ordered far too many but my sister took a few up to London for the kids and we had lots of re-heated pizzas the following week and they all heated up a treat.

I must declare an interest because these guys have become friends (see below).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

just returned from our first visit to The George, very disappointed with service, only one member of staff serving the meals, lighting the fire and serving in the bar. My husband went to get me a second glass of wine from the bar but returned later to say there was no one to serve him and another customer had given up and walked out. The first course and starter took so long to arrive, the main meals were not hot, although i cant fault the steak, my husband had a trio of lamb but only found two lamb dishes on his plate and when he questioned the young girl serving she said, well it is there its small, I saw the chef put it on, well all three of us eating couldnt see it! The setting is gorgeous, the building so pretty and loved the decor, but lacked atmosphere, we had to ask for the dessert menu after the waitress walked past us a number of times, she then proceeded the clear the tables and move the furniture rather thnan cming back to take our order, leaving us to make the decision we would give dessert a miss and find a coffee elsewhere in the village! Payed the bill and left , wasnt asked once if we were happy with our meal. Its the first time I have written on one of these sites and I am not a "complainer" by any means, but its such a shame that the food was on the whole good and the setting lovely but employing just one member of staff has just made the whole experience disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

We are very disappointed to hear that the level of service you received fell short of the standard we would both expect. I am very sorry that these problems occurred ,and if the matter had been bought to our attention at the time we would have done our best to rectify things.

Whilst I realise it does not change your experience, we were very short staffed on a couple of days in December and this was one of them. We normally have at least two people during weekday lunch service, so would not expect this to be an ongoing problem.

I have also taken note of your comments that at no time were you asked if all was well and have reinforced the importance of this to our staff, together with the importance of constantly maintaining the high level of service our customers deserve.

I have also discussed your review with our head chef. We do not serve trio of lamb lunchtimes so perhaps some misunderstanding occurred in relation to this.

We take the feedback we receive from our customers very seriously whether good, as thankfully it normally is, or more negative, as in this instance.

As you also kindly raise a number of positive points I hope that we may see you again in the future and that these negative points will no longer be part of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wedmore
0.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 6 in Wedmore
202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Poplar Farm
Poplar Farm
#5 of 6 in Wedmore
24 reviews
205.9 mi away
No photo provided
The Wheatsheaf
#21 of 28 in Holt
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wedmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wedmore
Price Range: $117 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beautiful ' George Inn Wedmore', is a stunning 16Th-century coaching Inn, sitting in the heart of the historic village of Wedmore. The interior is a fusion of both old and new but with an overall contemporary feel.Drive into the car park though our historic archway. As you enter the bars you will be greeted with open fires,local ales straight from the cask and an amazing selection of continental lagers and wines.Our Chef sources local and sustainable products and offers a culinary delight fit for any pallet. Our rooms offer affordable luxury and are all en suite.Our ethos is to make every trip to the George a relaxing experience, Drink,Eat,Sleep,Enjoy ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Cheddar
The George Hotel Wedmore, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing