We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor lunchtime experience”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Wedmore B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Poor lunchtime experience”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We arrived for a weekend lunch following hearing some good things about The George. However, when we arrived many chairs were still up on tables and many tables looked like they hadn't been cleaned from the previous evening. There were a bizarre number of empty picture frames on the wall and the place seemed like it could have done with a good spring clean. Our food was served by a young man in grubby clothes and the food was mediocre at best. We'd hoped The George had once and for all got its act together but we won't be bothering to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jethroxUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
We are sorry that your visit did not live up to your expectations. Had you bought any of the issues to our attention at the time of your visit we would have done our best to address them to your satisfaction.
With regard to the issues you raise I feel it fair to make a number of points. Sometimes guests come in to The George prior to our opening at mid day. When this happens, we tell them we are not in fact open yet but none the less do our best to make them welcome. It appears that was the case in this instance, and the member of staff present was going through the process of opening and wiping down a couple of tables that had been used for breakfast.

The empty picture frames are part of the "quirky" design mentioned and appreciated in other reviews on this site. The cleanliness of The George has also been credited on this site by other reviewers.

I am not aware that we have a member of staff matching the description you have given, but have reinforced to all our staff the importance of maintaining a good appearance.

It is a great shame that we were not given the opportunity to respond to the problems you found with your food as we would have done all we could, both in terms of service, and fiscally to try to satisfy your complaint. We very rarely have any issues bought to our attention regarding the quality of food as can be seen again from other reviews and busy dining rooms.

If you would like to contact us directly to arrange a return visit we will endeavour to ensure you are satisfied and fully take account of the previous meals you did not enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stumbled on this place and was very pleasantly surprised. This large building has a great, quirky, clean interior and friendly staff which make a great atmosphere. It's definately in my list for taking a business client for an informal business lunch. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter1234186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for your generous review, and also to all others giving us encouraging feedback. Its great to see that people like and appreciate what we are trying to achieve. We frequently get great feed back from people in person but seeing it in print is wonderful, and hopefully a help to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for dinner and spent the night at the George's!! We had a great time lovely dinner and we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We dined with friends at The George on Saturday evening (5th November).
This is our second visit since moving to Wedmore in April.
On both occasions the service , food and ambience has been first class. The dining room is a real feature of the whole experience.
It was especially nice to meet Gordon the owner, a really nice gentleman.
We'll be back for sure !

Ian Wedmore

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianp1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I have just moved to Somerset after 12 years in London. We have now visited the George on 5 occasions, 3 of those with visiting friends from London.
The food is fantastic, fresh and interesting. It has a wonderful feel of celebration for the local food available. The atmosphere is fantastic and we were treated to our own room in front of the fire for our guests most recently from London. We feel very smug having found such a wonderful place that rivals the overpriced big names of the big city. We have tried the swan but have to say nothing special as menu is very bland but ok if you want a quick hot sandwich or some nice cake

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bessborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We use this establishment frequently and always get excellent and friendly service.
The food is amazing, very fresh, varied and delicious. The landlord and landlady run a very tight ship and we have always found that any issues are dealt with an empathetic and constructive attitude. They always strive to please. I think its a shame tho, that sometimes you get the occasional customer who likes to complain just for the sake of argument, they should just stay at home!!

The George is brilliant and me and my family think it is wonderful and so the highlly professional staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

A friend from London said she wanted to take us out to lunch, so we went to the George in Wedmore. A huge amount of work has gone into restoring this 16th Century coaching inn (they are opening a pizza and pasta restaurant any minute now) and it really has a lovely atmosphere.

Two of us had the cold seafood platter which was seriously delicious; generous helpings of silky smoked salmon, lovely crab, prawns with and without their shells and smoked mackerel on a fresh and colourful salad, with their really scrummy lemon mayonnaise, filled us to the brim. Chris had beer-battered haddock and chips and for a non-fish lover, he was making lots of loving noises.

They were very busy and the waitress, although rushed off her feet, looked after us really beautifully.

We have a personal affiliation with this pub (I have to tick the box at the bottom to say Ihaven't), because it has become a favourite watering hole and we've become friends with the owners but they certainly haven't paid me to write this review.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wedmore
4.0 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 6 in Wedmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cheddar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wedmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wedmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beautiful ' George Inn Wedmore', is a stunning 16Th-century coaching Inn, sitting in the heart of the historic village of Wedmore. The interior is a fusion of both old and new but with an overall contemporary feel.Drive into the car park though our historic archway. As you enter the bars you will be greeted with open fires,local ales straight from the cask and an amazing selection of continental lagers and wines.Our Chef sources local and sustainable products and offers a culinary delight fit for any pallet. Our rooms offer affordable luxury and are all en suite.Our ethos is to make every trip to the George a relaxing experience, Drink,Eat,Sleep,Enjoy ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Cheddar
The George Hotel Wedmore, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing