We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total Relaxation”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Christmas at Pear Tree Cottages.
Sheep moving to their winter grazing.
Wells Cathedral
Somerset Levels
Roses by the entrance to the cottages.
Cattle on the farm.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wedmore, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavidMars...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Having sampled the delights of this beautiful cottage in September we just knew we had to come back and so we went overboard a booked two weeks to cover both Christmas and New Year. Spoke with Penny before our arrival to confirm our arrival arrangements and as before it is still like walking into a brand new cottage and you are the very first guests.
Every thing you need for a comfortable stay is included, towels, welcome pack, plenty of utensils, pots and pans, nice comfortable bed that you don't want to get out of, armchair settee and the ambience is excellent.
A five star + rating is not enough and should be more and is well worth the gold star award that has been bestowed upon this delightful cottage.
Your hosts, Penny and David will certainly look after you during you stay as will also Penny's Man Saturday.
If you want a relaxing time, take the key out of your back, do as you like in delightful countryside with plenty of places to visit and explore at your leisure then this is the place to be!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: No clock but who wants one anyway!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2014
Thank you once again for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to welcome back our guests. We have so many places to visit locally including the beautiful Somerset Levels and the Mendip Hills which are an area of outstanding natural beauty.They are both ideal for cycling and walking and it is well worth visiting the nature reserves to see the wildlife. There are also plenty of towns and cities close by including Wells, Glastonbury, Bristol and Bath. Lots to do for everyone.Thank you once again for your support and we look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMars...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5* Luxury Barn Conversion”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

From the moment you enter into Cherry Plum cottage you would think that it had just been completed the day before and that you are the first guests to sample this delightful barn conversion. In fact in was completed in 2008 but still looks, feels and smells brand new. The facilities on offer are well appointed and a lot of thought and effort have gone into ensuring that your comfort is paramount and that your stay in this delightful cottage is one that you will not forget and will cause you to begrudge departing.
Situated only 1.5 miles from Wedmore village this is a property well worth coming back to year after year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace, the bed
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2013
Thank you Dave and Sue for this super review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your break with us. We do try to keep everything in a pristine condition and have the cottage regularly decorated. We look forward to seeing you both again over Christmas and New Year. I hope you like the Christmas decorations that will be in the cottage. Penny.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitanote
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed at Pear Tree Cottage in May 2012, The cottage provides everything possible you could need for a relaxing holiday. cleanliness was first class, the size of the shower room was excellent, the lounge and dining area was of a good size, and ample outdoor space, although adjacent to a working farm, we personally had no problems with noise. On visiting somerset again we would certainly consider stopping at Pear Tree Cottages again, as they are extremmely central for local attraction, ie Cheddar, Bath Wells etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2013
Thank you for giving us such a positive review. We really try hard to maintain our 100% cleanliness record when we are inspected and are glad that you appreciated it. As you said, we are very central for lots of local attractions and people come to enjoy the towns and cities as well as the Mendip Hills and Somerset Levels. There really is something for everyone here. Thank you once again for your kind words.
Penny.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2013
Wow. What a review. Thank you so much. I'm so glad that you had a good time when you were in the UK and that you were happy with your accommodation. Thanks again.
Penny.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
USA
Reviewed June 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Check in / front desk
Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the UK and your time on the farm. We feel privileged to live here and really enjoy sharing it with our guests. Thanks again.
Penny.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing