We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and excellent service”
Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #2 of 6 Wedmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and excellent service”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at the Swan twice this year and overall our stays have been excellent.

We did have an incident during our first stay, which resulted in us spending a (very) chilly few hours in our car overnight. However, the response of the pub management and subsequent service were faultless and more than made up for the inconvenience and discomfort.

Food in the pub: Great steak. Good burgers. Everything you want from posh british pub grub.

Rooms: Big, freshly decorated and huge beds. One of the rooms we stayed in didn't have any where to stash your underwear, but apart from that, it was lovely. Our second stay we had a fab room with a freestanding bath in the window.

Be warned, it *is* noisy in the evenings. Remember this is a pub.

I'd definitely recommend the Swan to anyone looking for a reasonably priced place to stay, with delicious food and a very lively bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
114
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed last Friday. Loved the uncluttered but comfortable atmosphere. The bed was extremely comfortable, the breakfast was fab, the bath deep, the beer and cider nice and pleasantly served. Woke up and walked into Wedmore - a delightful 'postman pat' type village of stone houses and green hills. It was, all in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten at the Swan several times both in the restaurant with family and friends and more informally in the bar. The Chef uses local british produce creatively and we have never been disappointed. The wine, beer and cider selections are good and the ambience of bar and dining room is right up there with anything on offer in the locality. The Sunday lunch menu offers good traditional fare which will not disappoint. If you are into good food in a great environment then give the Swan a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JDFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just back from a wedding at the Swan this weekend, what a fantastic place. The rooms were perfect, staff were friendly, attentive and great at what they do. Food was great and breakfast was fantastic. Can't fault it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Especially those with Superking beds, which were most of the ones I saw!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesPaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We were staying with Beryl in a holiday cottage in Wedmore. After a lovely walk arrived at The Swan. We had an excellent meal in the garden and dessert followed in the pub. Cannot ask for more - made to feel really welcome by the locals, great food and dogs welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Get-out-with-Beryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We got married in Wedmore (village church followed by village hall) last Saturday. The Swan provided us with their private function room for the "survivors" and a buffet lunch the next day. It was the perfect setting, with french doors opening onto their lovely garden. Great spread. Many people commented on the quality of the roast beef sandwiches, the lovely roast ham, and the exceptional sausage rolls - more meat than pastry, and with fennel seeds, which created a sensational flavour. The atmosphere in the Swan is always great, and we had a brilliant afternoon. A special "thank you" to Richard the manager.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitecottage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for one night in room six, which was clean, stylish and well-appointed. There was, however, no shower, so that meant baths which, while certainly a break from the norm, are time-consuming and wasteful. I guess if you're into relaxing in the bath, then it may be more up your street. We spent a lazy afternoon in the beer garden and ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was excellent, and the bar well stocked with good local ales.

Room Tip: Be sure to pick a room with a shower, if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wedmore
4.1 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
128 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
5.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The White Hart Somerton
The White Hart Somerton
#1 of 11 in Somerton
209 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#2 of 11 in Cheddar
182 reviews
4.4 mi away
Old Manor House B&B
Old Manor House B&B
#1 of 1 in Cross
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: Cheddar Road, Wedmore BS28 4EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wedmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wedmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has six individually designed and supremely comfortable en-suite guest bedrooms. At the heart of our bustling village pub is an outstanding kitchen led by Tom Blake from River Cottage. We're open all day for a quick drink, a snack or a delicious meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Wedmore, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing