We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven”
Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #2 of 6 Wedmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Top marks all around - rooms to make your heart sing - a bath that looks up the high st (room no 1), and a bar and restaurant with something for everyone. Great grub, friendly staff, and easy to find. Excellent for a weekend away.

Room Tip: No 1 is great (maybe a little noisy from deliveries)....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydbinding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    49
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
22
112
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Wedmore is a beautiful village and the Swan is centrally located within the village. Parking is available behind the pub which is great as the narrow village streets get quite busy.
We were booked into room 4 which was very tastefully decorated, exceptionally clean and very cosy. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom didn't have a shower but did have a large roll top bath with a hand held shower attachment. The room had a flat screen TV, DAB radio/ipod docking system, free WiFi, a selection of books and a welcome tray with teas & fresh coffee (fresh milk rather than UHT would have been be a bonus).
We ate in the restaurant and had a lovely evening - the atmosphere was buzzing without being too busy & noisy. The food was delicious and very well presented. Breakfast the next morning (served in the bar area) was equally delicious - all produce is local and of a high quality. The only slight negative to the stay was the noise from the bar within the room - however all was quiet by 11.30 and the bed was so large and comfortable that a good nights sleep is guaranteed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Positioning of this pub in the idyllic village of Wedmore is perfect. This place is spot on for couples. Rooms have comfy beds you don't want to get out of and the two rooms with baths in the living room, one of which we had, offer something special and a bit different. High quality toiletries supplied make bathtime even more appealing. Breakfast offers a fine range and parking is a real plus. Would say however that downstairs has more of a gastropub/restaurant feel than an old worldy pub but this didn't put us off at all. DAB digital radio's and ipod docks also a fun added extra. Would recommend to friends for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAAuty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We have eaten here many times and find the food and staff excellent and the atmosphere buzzing. Well done.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise310756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We used to live in Wedmore and returned over the Christmas period to go to a friend's party. We were delighted to see how the Swan has been transformed. Our bed was wonderfully comfy; the bedroom was stylishly decorated with a lovely bathroom (no shower, but a great standalone bath). The heating was too high for us and we were a bit confused by the heating controls - there was a thermostat on the wall but also a radiator with a rad stat? - but that was pretty much the only criticism of the bedroom that I can muster.

Breakfast was delicious, and we liked the idea of offering set dishes (e.g. scrambled egg and mushrooms on toast - yum) rather than the usual full English pick 'n' mix. Nice coffee, too.

We didn't take an evening meal, but can hardly wait for an excuse to return to Wedmore and try it out.

The staff were all young and helpful and efficient, although there was noticeable absence of anyone who obviously owned or managed the place: it somehow seemed a bit impersonal.

Overall, very highly recommended indeed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot et Garonne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Wedmore is a small, pretty, Somerset village, not really the type of place you would expect to find such an excellent gastro pub. The Swan is set in the heart of the village with good parking at the rear, which is important because parking is difficult in the town. The building had been empty for quite a while but has now been completely refurbished in the fashionable 'shabby chic' style. They have kept a traditional local pub format for the front of house and have made a large dining area behind the bar. The atmosphere is cosy but lively at the same time. We stayed two nights over the Christmas period, so perhaps it was not a typical time to be there because there were a lot of groups, making a bit more noise than usual. Our room was large, King size bed, large shower room and a claw foot bath tub in the bedroom if you wanted to soak, good quality, locally sourced, natural shower products were supplied in generous quantities. Two things I would change in the rooms were, there was no shaver point and the lighting was too dim to be able to apply make up. The bedside DAB radio was also a bit of a mystery when it came to setting the alarm. For dinner we chose from the Christmas menu which was traditional but very imaginative which seems to be the theme for all the menus, eg. the starter was a carpaccio of beef (locally sourced) with slices of raw beetroot and horseradish cream, elegant and tasty. Breakfast is generous with a good choice. The River Cottage cooking team, aim to source the freshest, best, locally produced products and this shows in the quality of the food. The bread is baked fresh daily on the premises. The staff are young, they may need a bit of polishing around the edges but we found them friendly and helpful and are proud to be part of the success of the pub. If you are staying, you need to remember that this is a pub and there will be noise when people leave the pub at night, the windows would benefit from double glazing.

Room Tip: The large rooms at the front are quieter than the smaller rooms at the back that overlook the car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I have visited this venue on three occasions recently. the food was excellent and it had a busy. vibrant, trendy atmosphere.
Loved the lampshade chandelier in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubymaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wedmore
5.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
7.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
12.6 mi away
The White Hart Somerton
The White Hart Somerton
#1 of 11 in Somerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cheddar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
4.4 mi away
Old Manor House B&B
Old Manor House B&B
#1 of 1 in Cross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: Cheddar Road, Wedmore BS28 4EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wedmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wedmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has six individually designed and supremely comfortable en-suite guest bedrooms. At the heart of our bustling village pub is an outstanding kitchen led by Tom Blake from River Cottage. We're open all day for a quick drink, a snack or a delicious meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Wedmore, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing