We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Marske-by-the-Sea

“Great dog friendly deli! ”
Review of Rose & Potter

Rose & Potter
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Quality local and imported delicatessen and patisserie both to eat in and to take away. Enjoy a coffee and cake, or a small dish, cheeseboard/sharing platter accompanied by wine, beer, premium gin or soft drink. Open from 11am Tuesday through to Saturday, with late night (11:30pm) closing at the weekend. Modern yet quirky. Also available for private bookings on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings or all day/evening on Sunday. We are also suitable to hold business meetings during the day with high speed broadband and numerous charging points. We look forward to welcoming you.
Restaurant details
Description: Quality local and imported delicatessen and patisserie both to eat in and to take away. Enjoy a coffee and cake, or a small dish, cheeseboard/sharing platter accompanied by wine, beer, premium gin or soft drink. Open from 11am Tuesday through to Saturday, with late night (11:30pm) closing at the weekend. Modern yet quirky. Also available for private bookings on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings or all day/evening on Sunday. We are also suitable to hold business meetings during the day with high speed broadband and numerous charging points. We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

On both occasions visiting here the ambience, food & drinks have been lovely. Every member of staff including Amanda the owner is so welcoming and always give our girls a fuss!

The caramac shortbread is amazing!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Wags-Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 67 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

My husband and I called in for a drink after a particularly challenging week.

Not only were we greeted very warmly by the charming owner, but the ladies at the table nearest us as we decided where to sit welcomed us to join their table!

We decided to leave them in peace and opted for the sofa.

Menus were quickly brought over and explained.

We didn't eat, but the food being served smelled gorgeous.

The wine was gorgeous, the room is gorgeous, and the atmosphere is... guess what, gorgeous.

This is a really lovely wine bar/deli/gin lover's heaven. Really lucky to have it on our doorstep.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Amy_and_Jami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandvanwyk, Owner at Rose & Potter, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

That is such a wonderful review, thank you! We love it- and love it when people like you two come in and really appreciate us x happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

At the risk of sounding like a stuck record I can only say that what I have just experienced with my wife was nothing short of food heaven - but it was also so much more. We just loved the ambience, the staff, the drink and food, and the owners Amanda (who pulled up a chair and had a chat with us) and Ian who explained all the finer details of what was on our amazing mixed platter of cold meat and cheese including a horse radish flavoured cheese (it’s an amazing thing). And the scotch egg! Now I like a scotch egg but nothing else will ever come close again. Wow!! So - if you are ever in the area of Redcar, Saltburn-by-the-Sea, Middlesbrough do yourself a favour and get yourself to this truly special deli-restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2020
4  Thank Jonnyragster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandvanwyk, Owner at Rose & Potter, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Thank you so much for this lovely review! It was so nice to meet you both on your weekend escape. I have shared this on our Facebook- it means a lot to us that we provide a good experience and loved meeting you x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019 via mobile

Eventually visited after receiving many recommendations from family and friends - were not disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Drinks and food came with a full explanation and we chose the home made mackerel pate starter followed by the mixed platter for two.

Everything we had was excellent value for money and there was a good range of items in the delicatessen.

Thank you to all the knowledgeable and helpful staff and we will certainly be back soon.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Ian991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019

Absolutely gorgeous, went along for dinner with friends, thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Potter also viewed

Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Rose & Potter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing