We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but you need a table outside”
Review of Cin Cin by the Sea

Cin Cin by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Prospect
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: cin cin [chin-chin] 1. a cheers or toast to good health. 2. a refreshingly contemporary, elegant new restaurant that offers 'alfresco dining' with sweeping views of the west coast of Barbados. A trendy new hot spot that features an air-conditioned lounge bar with an expansive glass wall allowing uninterrupted views across the water, serving quintessentially Mediterranean-style cuisine with a Caribbean twist.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food but you need a table outside”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We returned to Cin Cin in October 2012 and due to a late booking we had to sit inside. On a night when 90% of diners are seated outside the inside tables feel distinctly second class. However, the food was delicious, although the service was very slow. We were at our table for approx. 1 hour before our starters arrived. Stir Fried Shrimp Penne as a starter was great followed by an equally good Bouillabaisse as a main.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,131
    429
    210
    64
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What can I say.....”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wow...
Great ambience,discrete staff & absolutely fabulous food.
Advance reservation is a must & request a rail seating for that unique outdoor experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bmw335tdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“staff issues”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Once again the food is great. The aircon section appreciated. The staff disinterested. Our waiter introduced himself and was never seen again. the juniors pleasant and well meaning but i dont expect to chase for the wine witht he starters sitting in front. Talking to friends and guests this is a bigger issue than the owners may realise - a friend had noticed the same thing but after the owner sat and chatted (they know one another) staff suddenly took notice. Why is Maestro such an issue on this island. I expect a resturant of this quality to accept it when smaller ones do.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb, magnificent and a true gem!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I truly had an amazing experience at Cin CIn! First we were greeted by the most delightful and and friendliest host/waitress Alvina who gave us great recommendations on what to order. The ambiance itself is breathtaking; the view and the decor is blissful.

I had the catch of the day which was the snapper and I requested it blackened. Wow!!! It was perfect…it literally melted in my mouth and my husband who doesn't eat fish tried some and loved it!

My husband ordered the pan baked chicken breast in pecan crumb with mustard leek noodles and he though this was amazing! He indicated the texture of the pecan crumb crust was perfect and it was an excellent combination with the mustard leek noodles.


Compliments to the Chef!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corporatehippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very very special place”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been to Cin Cin seven or eight times since it opened a little over a year ago and it just gets better and better.
While the menu is 'international' and therefore, pretty similar to the other top class restaurants on the west coast of Barbados, the food is carefully prepared and consistently good and consistency is a rare virtue.
The wait staff are efficient but above all friendly and relaxed and seem genuinely pleased to see you.
It's not cheap but is no more expensive than the other half dozen best restaurants on the island.
Try the Steak Frites or the Bouliabase and you won't be disappointed and prepare to put on the pounds if you go anywhere near their superb Bread & Butter Pudding.
Unusually, the restaurant, which is situated in the open air on the edge of a cliff adjacent to and overlooking the sea, they have an air conditiooned inside section as well as a lively fun bar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B G G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cin Cin by the Sea also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Cin Cin by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing