We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach”

Parque Nacional Morrocoy
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Tucacas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The water was blue and clear and the temperature was divine. It was a little crowded and they needed someone to help pick up the trash but otherwise we had a great time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lcasanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    85
    22
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An escape from the usual tourist traps”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not being a beach person I was introduced to this hidden gem b my fiancee' and her family on a Sunday excursion. As it was put to me, "this is a place few tourists go to or know about". And by all accounts it was indeed a gem.
The beaches were clean, the sand white and the water warm and inviting. The boat ride over was a fun experience as well, we were fortunate that our boat was manned by a very accommodating fellow who stop in a shallow area to allow us to pick up, hold, and photographs a starfish. It was an interesting an enjoyable experience and served as a great appetizer for the beach itself.
Once on the beach you can pick a location and have mini tents set up and from there enjoy the view, the water, family and friends or just relax and enjoy the sun. But a caution to sun and non-sun worshipers alike. Bring and apply generous amounts of sun screen, because even when you spend a good deal of your time covered the sun takes no prisoners and you can get sunburned.
But by all means, take a walk along the beaches and if given the opportunity visit and stay at the resorts near to the Park. They offer spectacular views and water taxis to and from the beach. All-in-all, despite being a non-beach enthusiast I for one thoroughly enjoyed the time spent there and think you will too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is paradise!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful places in the world. You get to relax in an island with great seafood, you can rent chairs, have cocadas(awesome coconut shake), get a massage, the sand is white and soft and the water is like a pool, you can even see your feet. Definitely take your snorkels and enjoy the wonders of the ocean.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chevere99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drachten
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Parque Nacional Morrocoy y sus cayos”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

That is not a river! It is a National Park located between Tucacas and Chichiriviche, in Falcón State. It includes shoreline, mangrove swamps, coral reefs and little islands called “Cayos”. To visit the white sanded islands (Cayos) you can take a whole boat for 400 Bs (till 8 people) that would ride you through the park, one hour stop in Los Juanes (a sort of pool in the middle of the sea) and take you to the Cayo (Cayo Sombrero, Cayo Sal, Cayo Azul, etc) of your choice. Round 5pm they pick you up and bring you back. This boat services are offered by almost all the Hotels and "Posadas" or you can go direct to the docks. We stayed in a very clean and cheap in Chichiriviche "Posada luz del Sol" but you need a car to get there.

I can only recommended it 100%.

Accurate and more detailed info is given in the forum:Venezuela north coast

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank valensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
204 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Morrocoy islands”
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Here , to those who dare visiting a tropical country backwarded to a rulling dictatorship , I purpose a drive of 2 hours , through Panamericana road , from Caracas , to Morrocoy .

On the shore , the accomodations and hotels offer to anyone very low standards and lack of the quality these islands deserve . But the experience is worth it ...

You may rent a boat in the morning , choose the island of your preference (the ones I enjoied most were Peraza and Boca Seca) , been taken there , advi´sing your pilot on the hour to collect you back , and meanwhile ...

Meanwhile you may rest in almost solitude in your own "Antillean" private island !

Waters are blue , and most of the islands are surrounded by a ring of coral , prohibiting the approach of sharks to the shores .

Try the experience .

Helpful?
Thank GaiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Morrocoy also viewed

Tucacas, Central-Western Region
Chichiriviche, Morrocoy National Park
 
Tucacas, Central-Western Region
 

Been to Parque Nacional Morrocoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing