We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant with local food at a reasonable price”

Trattoria Antico Forno
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with local food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This restaurant is located just off the main Square, access is up quite a steep set of stairs. The staff are very pleasant and there is a good menu choice, the house wine is good. The food was excellent. Our bill for two courses (excellent fresh meat antipasto and a main with vegetables) water and wine was 52€.

The village is well worth a visit and this was the icing on the cake.

They also do B£B

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    131
    87
    35
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“First Review by an American!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I can’t believe I’m the first American to write a review of this trattoria. I’m surprised because Rick Steves profiled this place in his TV program and in his book on Tuscan hill towns.

We had lunch here and it was very good. We both had pasta dishes. I think I had the one featured at the top of this listing. It was particularly thick spaghetti. I know we split a dessert, but we can't remember what it was, only that is was good or we would have remembered if we didn't like it.

The place is small. It probably only seats 20 or so people. The real attraction is the quaintness of the place and the cordial waitresses and the owner/chef Franco. Being there on December 22nd it was not busy. There were only two other tourists in the place. So Franco delighted us with stories about the amazing village of Civita di Bagnoregio.

We recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Gems!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Coming to Civita di Bagnoregio in the middle of October, I found this trattoria is one of few dining place open. The red wine della casa is just awesome. Other food also taste good.
Will come back on summer to stay at the bed and breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phonemic_chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The smell of garlic will scare all vampires in the region”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The owner Franco is a very nice person, he'll come out of his kitchen and talk to you in English/French/Spanish or Italian, his food is pretty good. The quality/price is decent. The only problem was the smell: it smells so much of garlic that it was killing us, the little fan in the corner cannot do the job of a kitchen fan (it was a very hot day and there isn't any air conditioning). We just had a little bite to eat because we were famished but had to run out because of the smell. But apart from that the meal was enjoyable because of Franco's presence..... I would still recommand it and would go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2012Ck2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great food in Civita di Bagnoregio!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The owner and operator of the restaurant, Franco, is also the owner of the only place to rent rooms in the town. We booked a room at Civita B&B (floor above the restaurant), not planning where we'd be eating. When my daughter and I arrived early for our reservation, Franco's daughter Nina invited us to sit in the restaurant and have some cold water. We hadn't eaten lunch, so we order pasta. The piciarelli with truffle sauce was amazing. The noodles were homemade, very dense, and wonderful (as was the sauce). We decided that we'd eat dinner there too. We ordered the full course "tourist" meal. The Penne was excellent, as was the pork chop and sausage. This was the only place in which we ate while in Civita, and we are glad we did - excellent!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Antico Forno also viewed

Civita di Bagnoregio, Province of Viterbo
Civita di Bagnoregio, Province of Viterbo
 
Civita di Bagnoregio, Province of Viterbo
Civita di Bagnoregio, Province of Viterbo
 
Civita di Bagnoregio, Province of Viterbo
 

Been to Trattoria Antico Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing