We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent price / quality relation”
Review of Zur Burgschanke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zur Burgschanke
Ranked #1 of 1 Aremberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Before booking this hotel for a group of cyclists (17 elderly men) I have checked Tripadvisor. We have been there form 1 - 5 June 2011 and I don't understand anything of the former judgement of oktober 2010. It looks like an anonymous judgement becuase a name is not given.

I want to recommend this hotel, specially for cyclist, because at the end of the day you can ascent 300 meters in 4 km. The service of the personnel was good and friendly, the breakfast with different kinds of bread, many cereals, cheese and meat, eggs etc.

The rooms were good, bathroom, toilet clean. The view from the breakfast room and the restaurant was very very beautiful, you could oversee the hills and vallys of the Eifel.

Before booking I have checked too: www.holidaycheck.de . On that site the judgements were also good.

Our group has decided to come back in Aremberg, the next time we make a trip becuase the landscape is very inspiring for cyclists (and wanderers too) and we were very content about the Burgschaenke in Aremberg.


Maarten Schellekens
Zaandam Netherlands.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maarten1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Zur Burgschanke
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 18 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2010

Me my partner and several of our friends went to this hotel during May,it is a beautiful area and we were going their for the nurburgrin which was not to far away. On arrival even though we had paid in advance online the hotel tried to say we had not paid luckily we had brought our email confirmation otherwise we would of had to pay again.The rooms were dirty and very out of date.We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis however we were never told where the breakfast was we stayed for 3 nights on the 3rd morning we discovered where breakfast was and we weren't missing anything, their was absoloutly no choice cereal or cereal and their were flys hovering around.When we went to the pub for dinner we arrived back most evenings about 7ish and it felt like even though we were paying for the food we were giving them the biggest inconvienience asking for food. Personally I did not feel safe their either probably due to the cold and very unwelcoming atmosphere. After coming home several months later the hotel had the cheek to take money from our bank account as we apparently did not return one of the keys .We returned allour room keys for the rooms we stayed in . From the day we arrived they tried to get extra money from us. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone!! Its dirty,unfriendly and money grabbing.And their was no wifi

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xclare15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulie2, Owner at Zur Burgschanke, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2010

This group of 4 arrived one day sooner as the rooms were booked in our hotel, with no information upfront. We managed to get accomodation for them in a **** appartment (the other hotels in the area were fully booked, so it took a while to get this place) which the owners usually do not rent out for one night. Next day they checked in with our hotel and got the newest rooms we have, not more than 2 months on service, brandnew. Equipped with antiques which represent the style of our country hotel. They stayed with no complaints. On the departure day it turned out that they had left their car key in the car. Again we helped out and asked a technician to pop by and get the key out. The group honoured this service by paying this guy only 5,00 Euro (we didn´t want any payment anyway)! Then they mixed up the credit card information required for a guaranteed reservation after 6 PM with an in advance payment and claimed a double payment. Departing they said they had left the keys on the room doors but there was only one. Later we tried to get the key back as it is part of our central locking system and not just a key. We tried phone, email and mail but they refused any contact. Unfortunately it looks as if we had to take legal steps now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank eifelelch63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 1. Etage mit tollem Blick ins Tal.........
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nerven behalten beim Service
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rolando1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir waren im Haupthaus untergebracht und haben dort sehr schön renovierte Zimmer vorgefunden
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wellenreiter0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zur Burgschanke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Burgschanke

Address: Burgstr. 23, 53533 Aremberg, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Aremberg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aremberg
Price Range: $94 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Burgschanke 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Zur Burgschanke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing