We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise indeed!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kudat, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
zzll
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise indeed!”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everything that was said here is true. It is indeed a paradise on earth. We fell in love with the place the very moment we arrived. The seclusion, the quietness, the sound of the wave, the starry sky, the white sandy beach ... The chalet is not exactly luxurious but who needs it when you have the best of the nature? Anyway, we were well taken care of too. We'll be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigitte...
Chur, Graubunden, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Little paradise found!”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were staying 7 nights in the clifftop and three nights in the treetops chalet, and we had a wonderful time! The secluded beach, clear water, riff just a couple of meters away from shore and the splendid view on the sea and sunset are unique! We have seen many nice places all aroun the world but this was something special. We also liked the chalets: rustic but comfy, we found everything we needed there. Jetol, the general manager, went out of his way to make us feel at home. He is a very gentle and kind guy and beside a top service, he gave us some quite interesting information about the area, culture, Rungus tribe, etc.
When returning to Borneo, we will definitively consider a trip to Hibiscus in the future and can highly recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
I'm really pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and most certainly hope you will visit us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashalina
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Romantic Hideaway at the Tip of Borneo”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a one night stay in Treetops as a family of four. It was the most beautiful jungle setting with sea views and sounds. No wifi is a blessing and meant we could really relax. Board games, books and plenty of films are provided. Treetops is not designed to be child friendly but we managed with our four and two year old for one night. The accommodation comes with a small bathroom (shower only) and a small kitchen. A breakfast of cereal, fruit, toast and jams is provided which was delicious and such a treat to be able to eat it on the balcony amongst the trees and the roar of the sea as our background music. This is a very special place and we would love to explore this area more and make the most of the kayaks, paddleboards and mountain bikes that are available to hire - next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate in Luxury Relaxation”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perched directly above the beach with some 100m of jungle between it and the nearest road, staying at the Hibiscus Beach Retreat feels like you're on your own private island. In this part of Sabah the sea is pristine and warm, and we spent the days alternating between the water and the deck chairs at the cabin, allowing relaxation to take precedence over the more energetic kayaking and longboarding that the Beach Retreat offers.

"Luxury" is a term used generously in Malaysia, but the Hibiscus Beach Retreat definitely deserves this adjective. The comfort and cleanliness of the bed and bathroom is better than any 5* hotel in Borneo, and the only neighbours are the retreat's discreet security guards.

Take meat for a sunset BBQ or order take out from the staff, and you never need to leave the oasis that is the Hibiscus Beach Retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVESydney...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply gorgeous ”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

With a breathtaking 180 degree view over the beach and ocean, it is impossible not to feel relaxed here. Not a single other building to be seen, and a perfect mix of comfort and rustic charm. Staff are very helpful and attentive. Great to walk along the beach to Secret Place Cafe. Less than 10 min drive to Tip of Borneo. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Mrs_Ri...
Norrtalje, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise found!”
Reviewed March 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is truly heaven on earth, both the location, the cabin, the staff and the owner, whom we meet in person.
Leave all your fancy clothes, your high-tech stuff and just go to this place!
Give yourself a once-in-a-lifetime-experience !!!!

Our sincer thank you to James the owner and all off the lovely staff.

Mr & Mrs Ritzén, Sweden

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, and for the great tips to other guests! It was a pleasure to meet you. Kind regards, James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilJackie...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this directly with James and it was easy to make the payment to him and I always had timely and helpful email responses to any questions asked.
Stayed for 3 nights in the beach chalet by myself and this area was one of my favourite parts of Borneo.
Tried to hire a car but flying into Kudat options are limited. If you don't have your own transport there are bikes and also a few moped rental places although I didn't do this. Was given a 10 minute lift up to the tip of borneo beach twice on the motorbike which was great and it made a real difference that that was offered to me. When I arrived at the airport there were others staying in places nearby so 4 of us joined together to get a taxi - 20 each. Loved our local taxi driver - his taxi is held together with tape!
For eating I ordered some food for delivery to the chalet but as I was on my own the cost of the delivery wasn't being split by several people - the charge for delivery it's not expensive though. I walked along the beach to Secret Place for dinner late on the first afternoon - 10 to 15 mins - but decided not to walk back from there in the dark as one part is over some rockier ground and it was torrential rain. The owner of Secret Place took pity on me I think when I asked how to walk back by road and gave me a lift back - very nice of him. My favourite place to eat though was Tip Top restaurant and I went there for lunch on my second and third day - lovely food and they have wifi!
The chalet is fantastic and very comfortable - it is so peaceful and you just feel that you have your own beautiful, private beach. All the staff there are just great and very helpful and friendly. Loved watching sunset and listening to the sounds at night and the wonderful evening skies. Spent my time at the Tip of Borneo point and beach and on the beach in front of the chalet. Read some books, watched some DVDs in the evening and really had a very lovely relaxing time.
Can't recommend enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing