We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kudat, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
HuiSin_Ta...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are 5 Terengganu girls who celebrated our nearly 3 decades friendship at Hibiscus Retreat last October. It was the perfect place! The beauty of hisbiscus retreat can't be captured in a photo, you have to be there personally to experience it!!!! Really appreciate all the detail in the chalet itself to make the stay such a wonderful one!
100% would recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We now have a new and larger chalet so I hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee59C
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, stunning hideaway”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Hibiscus Beach Retreat is a true paradise. The view when you walk round the corner to the villa takes your breath away. It's a stunning, remote location. Then you enter the villa and it also takes your breath away. It's perfect. Comfortable and well equipped...Lying in that bed listening to the waves outside was the most amazing experience.

The beach is beautiful. The sea is like a wonderful warm bath. I stayed in there for hours watching the sun rise and set.

There are plenty of places to eat locally - we were lucky enough to have a car (I'd say you need one). Or Jetol will deliver the food to you.

Jetol is a fabulous, courteous, wonderful host. He pops up several times a day to chat and find out if he can do anything for you. It's very hard to say we'd change anything at all, but if we did, it would be that perhaps you could have a little 'do not disturb' flag to suggest that you wanted some privacy.

Breakfast is yummy. Take some snacks though....there's little in the way of shops although we did drive to one of the many fruit stalls by the side of the road and pick up the most delicious corn on the cob I'd ever tasted.

I wish we'd stayed longer (we stayed 3 nights). We are always daydreaming about going back to Borneo just to return to Hibiscus. I'm sure we will one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2016
Many thanks for your review, what a great idea about the flag... I'll look into it. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa474
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best place to stay around tip of Borneo”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Loved the remote location, we really felt in a lost world. The beach is superb, good snorkelling (my daughter saw a small turtle!). Good breakfast, everything we need. Best moment ever: sunset on the deck with music and drink :) Thank you James for making one of my dreams come true.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the perfect location
Liked least: No place to hang clothes/no sink for dirty dishes
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
I'm really glad you had such an enjoyable time - great that your daughter saw a turtle! I look forward to be able to accommodate you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASteve123
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden jem!”
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a unique and magical place! There is little to add to previous reviews. The chalet possesses the perfect balance of simplicity and understated luxury to make it a true hidden gem. We feel privileged to have been able to stay here. James, Jetol and staff have been the perfect hosts and have all gone out of their way to ensure that we have experienced the perfect holiday.
There are two restaurants in close proximity to the chalet, The Tip Top restaurant and Secret Place cafe, which both serve good food at very reasonable prices.
One thing. We would definitely recommend hiring a car as it makes touring the area much easier.
A sincere thank you from us both.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnieB120...
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
“Another wonderful stay!”
Reviewed December 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Having enjoyed our last stay so much, we looked forward eagerly this time to a four night stay at Hibiscus Beach Retreat. We were not disappointed. The beauty of the location cannot be over-stated: a stunning, tree-fringed, sandy bay with a turquoise sea and not another soul in sight. We enjoyed excellent snorkelling directly from the beach and generally had a very lazy time as we couldn't motivate ourselves to leave such a gorgeous spot. Even occasional rain couldn't dampen our spirits as the chalet is such a lovely place to hunker down. The staff, as always, were friendly and helpful. If you're looking for peace and solitude in beautiful surroundings in a romantic setting, this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and solitude in a stunning location.
Liked least: We have no complaints at all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JandJFarn...
farnham common
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“The Hibiscus Swallow's Nest”
Reviewed December 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

An urban man’s Eutopia. Somewhere between Castaway, Desert Island Discs and Robinson Crusoe! We agree with all that has been said before and, like them, how lucky we were to be guided to 4 days of bliss perched-upon the swallows nest of this beautiful bay. Not the quietest of idyllic hideaways, the crashing waves, cicada, crickets and insect and bird noises galore but ‘jungle-esque’ and romantic in every way.

Relatively expensive (in excess of the Le Meridien in KK), it is worth the experience. Yes, it does have minor criticisms – the music centre didn’t work; no-one was available when we left to help us with our 2 heavy suitcases from the bungalow through the jungle (100m) to the car; one of the staff might have been a little intrusive at times etc. but, overall it really was worth the drive from KK to the Tip of Borneo and an opportunity we wouldn’t have missed – don’t you if you get the opportunity.
Our only postscript is that one of us came away with over 100 bites to ones back and advice from both the chemist and a local hotel operator was that they were not caused by mosquitos but more probably by bed bugs; possibly James could carry out the appropriate fumigation to deter future problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The position and access to the beach and sea.
Liked least: Suitcase carrying
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2015
Hi Jackie, thank you for your review. I'm pleased you had an enjoyable stay and it was great to meet up with you along the Kinabatangan River of all places! I just wanted to give you some feedback on some of your comments...1).I've checked the music player and it's the CD function which is not working. I've placed a temporary iPod there until I can get a replacement music player. 2). I'm sorry there was no staff there to help you with your bags upon check out. I always try to ensure there is a member of staff present most of the time and it's very unfortunate that they were not there when you needed them. 3). As discussed, you no longer think the bed had bed bugs seeing that it was only yourself (not your husband) who was bitten and you think possibly it was the sun lounger. We have the chalet fumigated against jungle insects on a regular basis and so I was very surprised to learn of your bed bug incident. All soft furnishings have anti-microbial protection (protection against dust mites, bacteria and fungus). Furthermore, we regularly air all mattresses and cushions and the covers, duvets etc. are regularly washed. Yesterday I arranged for a professional pest company to inspect the mattress, duvet, pillows, sofa, cushions and sun loungers and no sign of bugs were present. Since your stay, we have had 3 more groups of guests stay and none reported any incident. Therefore, I can only think that your bites were either caused by sand flies (they can affect people in different ways and many people they do not bite), some jungle insects which you were particularly prone to be affected by or your previous accommodation provider. I wish you a very enjoyable remaining stay in Sabah. Kind regards, James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk W
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Wonderful place felt very special.James and the guys (Peter, mimi,celestine) special thanks to Jetol, friend for life, I should be so lucky

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing