We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique place in the jungle...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kudat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A unique place in the jungle...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

First of all, hats off to Howard for being an excellent host and for creating a unique and very impressive establishment. His work at the Tip of Borneo is unparalleled and inspirational!

We came to the Tip of Borneo, hoping for a place to relax, enjoy the beaches and jungle. There are only a handful of places to stay at the Tip (at the moment - it's only a matter of time before the Tip is seriously developed). The description of Tampat (as well as the definition) is that it's a place of peace and quiet. And this would certainly be true had it not been for the two Australian school-groups who were at the camp at the same time as us. This negatively affected our experience, and meant our time in the jungle was not as peaceful as we would've liked.

In all fairness, Howard apologised for not warning us in advance. However, prior to booking this place we recommend that you confirm with Howard that he doesn't have a school group booked - Tampat is a very popular place with school groups and volunteers throughout the year.

If you're lucky enough to get Tampat to yourself, or share it with a few quiet others, then you're in for a very unique and memorable experience. The camp is basic but it serves its purpose and is done in a tasteful and authentic way. We recommend the longhouse rooms, as the small 'private' huts don't have the same ventilation or headroom. Mosquito repellant is a must for the evenings, but all the longhouse rooms do have quality mosquito nets and fans. If you get the chance, take a walk out to the rice paddy in the early morning and watch the sun rise over the coconut palms.

Howard's Tip Top restaurant is the most popular place to eat, but there are other restaurants further up towards the Tip. The food isn't the cheapest, but the portions are large, the quality is good, and the menu is varied. Howard has plans to expand the camp and we wonder how that will impact the overall environment, where resources (water can be a real issue, and staff seem to be in short supply) are already strained. Howard is already burning both ends of the candle, more isn't always better...

all the best Howard!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main longhouse - try to get one as far away from the common area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravFamFour-TF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    61
    17
    17
    5
See reviews for
25
112
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The owner Howard runs a great place, the food is fantastic... Highly recommend this spot... We were staying at tommy's place which was perfectly fine but spent all our time at Howard's restaurant.. They will tell you all about the local Rungus people, even built a museum..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayno_and_Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

A great place to meet other travellers and exchange stories and tips, great food, beautiful place to stay and it allows you to experience some of the local culture without straining the environment. You are well looked after here and there are boats, kayaks, snorkels and a jungle tour if you feel like being active, or good books and a lovely quiet beach if you don't. This place will be a lovely surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maeve_dorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We visited TDA in October 2012 and it was one of the highlights of a visit to Sabah. Howard is one of a kind, good fun but also genuinely passionate about his world, environment and visitors' enjoyment. He makes the place. Incredible deserted beaches and an authentic feel are in contrast to more touristy parts. We hope he manages to preserve his piece of paradise as development increases. Cinnamon and pineapple smoothies are a must. Also great fun getting shuttled to and from beach in the back of his 4x4. You can't help relax and adjust to Tip of Borneo time. Thanks Howard, Niall & Laura.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutraubling, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have been at Howard's place in April 2012...sorry Howard, it took some time till we could manage to give the review of our stay, but we have promised and there we are ;-)

We have come to know about Howard's place by coincidence when we were in KK - we did not regret the long trip to Kudat. We have been at Howard's place for 4 days. The jungle camp itself was a very nice experience with its open air shower, ducks and compost toilet. Even though the camp is very puristic, we felt convenient and it was very impressing to see how Howard has built up this place with all his enthusiasm and spirit. Being in a camp which was built according to ecological principles is a nice side effect and feels quite good.

We can recommend the jungle trip with Howard, because it is very impressing to see how much he knows about the local wildlife. Watch out the Mozzies ;-)

The tip top restaurant was the place where we hung out the most time. Food and beverages were delicious and the "Full Monty" is a must (at least for men)!
The staff is very friendly and helpful and the beach is also quite nice and relaxed.

This brings us to our one and only criticism:
The tip top restaurant and beach area is missing something like a lounge, where you can sit conveniently, lie in a hammock, etc.
The place is very nice and invites for staying, but due to the lack of suitable seating, it is a bit tricky to find comfortable place for the whole day. I am sure Howard will also find a solution for this soon.

To sum it up, this place is definitely worth to stay a few days. Howard is the man there and he does really everything to make his guests a comfortable stay.

Simone and Karl

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karl-Manuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Tampat Do Aman is a nice balance between local Rungus style longhouse accommodation and an environmentally friendly jungle camp. The owner, Howard, is one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet. He's super helpful and does a massive amount for the local community. Food at the Tip Top cafe is cheap and tasty and it's a great place to hang out between surfing, swimming or kayaking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munnsy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

After a 5 hour motorbike ride from KK we arrived in Kudat, Sabah. First we checked in at a crappy hotel in town. Once arrived in our room with wifi we found out that this Jungle Camp existed. We found the phone number of Howard and called him. We decided to check out in our current hotel and spent the night in Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp. What a lovely place. Howard and his crew are very friendly, helpfull people that do absolutely everything to make your stay there a once in a lifetime experience. Initially we were planning to stay only 1 night, but we liked it so much that we booked another night. This is an absolutely must-go when go to near to Tip of Borneo. You definitely won't regret it!

Thanks Howard and crew!!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the Longhouse, those have a little more space than in the 'tents'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hidmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kudat
0.0 mi away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
6.3 mi away
North Borneo Biostation
1.9 mi away
Tommy's Place, Tip of Borneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Serendipity Villa
Serendipity Villa
#5 of 6 in Kudat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
10.9 mi away
Kudat Golf and Marina Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morning Glory
Hotel Morning Glory
#6 of 10 in Kudat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp

Property: Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp
Address: Marang Parang | Tip of Borneo, Kudat, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kudat
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kudat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome friends. At the Tip of Borneo lies an Eco resort and jungle camp called Tampat Do Aman. In the local Rungus language this means "a place of friends".We are located by the only road that leads to this phenomenally beautiful coastline that stretches from the Tip of Borneo 10km to the south, incorporating eight of the best beaches Sabah has to offer. The area really is a jewel in the crown of Sabah. In Tampat Do Aman Tip of Borneo you will find : A Jungle camp (Traditional Rungus long House), A beach front restaurant and Bar (“Tip Top”) and an activities center. If you are a nature lover like us then there is lots to do here in Tip of Borneo. Our activities center offers bicycles and snorkeling gear for rent. There are different trekking and night tours happening and you can even take a course in Jungle Survival. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp Kudat, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing